Can Mugen 4-1 extractor fit B16a?

Garage-R

Hi guys, need to ask honda sifus here about this Mugen 4-1 extractor....i'm currently using the Mugen 4-1 extractor on my B18CR....just wanna know whether can this Mugen extractor be used on other models using the B16a or B16b?

Can i also fit the 4-1 Mugen extractor on the USDM B18C??....are the Jdms and USDMs the same?...

Guys, hope that u can help me out man....thanks..

mugen manifold for b16b/b18cr is longer than the one for b16a.

eh, are u sure or not. what i know :

4 - 2 - 1 : for pickup and midrange power
4 - 1 : for top end power

correct me if i'm wrong, but i've read a lot of books and articles about this.

yeah...i've always wonder also...which is which.....but i think most ppl actually go for the 4-1 ones.......

Hey help help......can u actually bolt on the 4-1 extractor for JDM 1.8 to a USDM 1.8??

ya lah, everyone only looks for the "TOP END POWER", or "MAX BHP" etc...unless your car is on the track most of it's lifetime, maybe, I say maybe it's ok..they forget driveability etc..

i think u can lah..but do check the engine codes first..what i learn from Honda Tuning mags is that USDM Type R cars get's a wee bit lower bhp JGM Type R's...correct me if i'm wrong..noobie here also..

yeah...i'm pretty sure it's a detuned version of the JDM ones.....but it's still b18c anyway. i'm afraid that the mugen extractor could not fit the USDM bcos it's LH drive and maybe some of the parts may actually block the extractor....i'm not too sure anyway.....anyway, what other japanese or US brands make the 4-2-1 extractor for B series engines?

japan (jasma):
mugen
maxim works
tanabe
fgk
n a lot more...

US:
DC sports
mongoose
a few more also...wait i check my mag first...

Cool man....thanks alot.....wah...what magazine is it?.....which japanese brand can be said as the most popular one for their extractor.....?

xxxx said:
japan (jasma):
mugen
maxim works
tanabe
fgk
n a lot more...

US:
DC sports
mongoose
a few more also...wait i check my mag first...

most popular? who knows la bro :p unless u can get your hands to dynorun slips of the major brands, tested on the same car, on the same conditions ( temp etc.. ) mugen is an affiliate of honda..spoon oso ngam..tanabe i dunno ( extractor - wise )..sooooo many la bro..

to me, it's really up to the driver ( and his right foot ) u want pickup and midrange, go for 4-2-1..u want top end power, u go for 4-1.

i tot 4-1 for pickup n midrange n 4-2-1 for top end....
other than JDM, in term of power will slightly less coz i think they detune the permomance on the ecu...
correct me if wrong..

Yes you are correct Hattech, 4-1 is for pickup n midrange n 4-2-1 for top end.
last time mine was 4-2-1 and after changed to 4-1, the pickup n midrange increased

aiyoo...now this is getting a bit funky...mags like TPR, Honda Tuning sezs 4 - 1 is for top end, 4 - 2 - 1 for pickup and midrange..now i oso headache lah..any proper sifus can shine a light on this? Ok, I'm going to KLCC anyway so I'll go check the automotive books @ Kinokuniya to learn more about this.. :)

Mugen 4-1 for B18 is longer.. B16B and B18 share the same Mugen 4-1
As for B16A Mugen got another 4-1 for it.

So that means the longer Mugen 4-1 which is mean for B18C and B16B can be fit into B16A but it will be very close to the ground.. If you car is lowered. I think you can hardly clear any bump.

And B16A's Mugen 4-1 cannot be fit into B18 cause B18 block is longer.. (Comman sense lo)

Anyway 4-1 or 4-2-1 depends on the your engine power output and what you expect from it.. more pickup or more top end.. and things like that..

Even for drag racing everyone have their own setup. due to gearing and engine peformance power output.
Some engine is build for maximum torque. so to blend in, a 4-1 should be better as it have more top end..

I hope you got what i trying to say here.. hard to explain la.. head ache..

i think 4-1 is related more to top end power.
i've seen mags dynoing different brand n types of extractor in a same car....
will try to find it when i'm free...
i think the answer for ur question is .........
yes, mugen 4-1 can be fitted into a b16a.
but, it will become quite low n close to the ground.....

I believe this has been discussed many times. Everyone has different 'recipe'. Based on what I've been told and what I read:

4-1 = pickup
4-2-1 = top end

Its true that 4-1 give high end power, but its not top end speed like 200km/h, but instead high end rpm like 10000rpm. In theory, 4-2-1 give more top end as it keeps more pressure inside the pipes compared to a 4-1 system.

Just my 2 cents. Don't shoot me if im wrong. If you look in previous posts, you will find that his has been thoroughly discussed.

ok.....4-1 = higher rpm range rite?
but 4-2-1 = low n mid rpm range rite?

from internet reviews...

"Mugen headers are tuned to optimize specific engine power bands. With the 4 into 1 design, you will find the most horsepower and torque gains in the higher RPM range"

"These DC Sports 4-1 Headers are optimized across the mid- to top-end power range for optimum performance."

"DC Sports 4-2-1 Headers, one-piece 4-2-1 design that provides maximum ground clearance and emphasizes low- to mid-range power for street/drag applications, and a two-piece 4-2-1 design for easy installation and unmatched low- to mid-range power."

"A 4-2-1 type has also been developed, primarily for gymkhana use, and this offers excellent controllability and derivability specifications with increased power and torque in the 5,800 to 7,750 rpm range."