Capacitor

Kevinlkv

Any1 can tell me wat is Capacitor for??? Im a Newbies in ICE mod...hope Pros out there can gv some infor bout this...thanks!! :D My car not very geng tht type la...oni got 2 2-channel amp...if add in capacitor got any different ah? The bass will b more powerfull??? Thanks!!

oops getting tired of this...

anyway, it do helps. u'll find ur whole system sounds
louder.

no more headlight dimming and so on...

coz it will discharge when the voltage at the battery drops.

why is everybody asking the same q everytime? after 1 thread... another will come....

calvinlky, go to the search bar, type capasitor. it will come out a lot of results. read from there. there were previous threads before stating the function, price, types of cap and all... do some homework :)

anyway, it does help alot. if u wana get 1, i advise to get a reliable wan. don go to those accesory shop and let those ah beng recommend 1 cap to u worth rm200 one. that wont help much. condemn ur battery somemore got la. get a reliable wan. got ppl selling also. fish around. read the previous threads and u will get an idea of what brand u should go for depending on ur budget

i'm the one who asked this question b4 also...
ehehehe....

i would just say go ahead and install... no regret.

read this link (especially richard clark's) and decide on youself.

http://www.carsound.com/UBB/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=022965

or you can read my question
http://www.carsound.com/UBB/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=18;t=009501

and another one
http://www.carsound.com/UBB/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=18;t=009460

so would you spend a few hundred $$$$ for something which is not helping?

boeytan... i m from melaka

not helping ah? if not helping... then y this thing exist? oh ya, i forgot appleyard using very high end stuffs that he cant feel the diff liao with a capasitor:)

cheers bro. but seriously, it helps. i m getting myself a cap for the HU and for the woofer also. find mnkh0027. he has great deal. Helix caps

Caps are used as a mini power reserve for when the bass suddenly hits and thus reduces current draw on the battery and also it is a faster source to be discahrged for your amps...

Mainly you will see ur headlights stop dimming when the bass hits, the voltage is more stable and some feel their sage is better etc...

Some say its good, some say not... for SPL, capacitors are no use as they might as well put in aextra batteries which work as a super huge capacitor each...

As for Helix caps.. if interested please let me know... RM 850 for the DPC 1F caps... really nice looking too!

Thanks guys!! One more Q...should i go for 1 farad or more?? More farad mean discharge more power?? Thanks!!

Well, depends on your system.... some forums I see over int eh US puts a rule fo thumb of 1F for 1000w... some say 1F for 500w so I also dunno.. I used to run a 1.5F cap and that was moer than enough for my 900w system...

cap act like a storage of current. the main advantage of cap over a battery is that it can discharge current faster than a battery.

dimming light has no relation to cap. Dimming lights means that you dont have enough voltage to run your car electricity. what do you need is not another battery or a cap. you need to upgrade your alternator so you will have a higher supply of current.

richard clark did a series of test on caps and he found out that cap does not actually help in your car electricity and he mention it in those link i posted.

so if you think cap helps then its good. I never use any capacitor and after what i read i will never use one.

Yeah but u guys do remember P=VI right? Assuming P is constant and if I increases, V will drop...

So if the current draw from your amps increases this does reduce your voltage... A Cap is like a mini-buffer btw ur battery and amps to help in those small peaks by smoothening it out and not requiring more current to flow from the battery...

strange... my headlight dimming solve immediately after i installed the capacitor. sometimes, the audio is not running, air cond compressor kick in... it will dim a while also. now it doesn't.

my cap comes with digital volt and some LED beside. it will blink when charging or discharging. when audio is off, it still blink.. it somehow like charging back to the battery. when on the headlight at nite or the hazard light on...

i believe it will discharge back to battery. coz the positive still connected to the battery and the grounding is still there all the while. once the voltage at battery drop, it discharge back. make sense right?