Car Battery Price Increase

satria_95

Taken from The Star online.

Tuesday February 14, 2006

Dearer car batteries from March 1

KUALA LUMPUR:
Car batteries will cost 15% more from March 1 due to higher lead prices.

Battery Manufacturers Association of Malaysia chairman Chow Siew Hon said: “We know the economy is not good now but with the increase in raw materials, which is beyond our control, we have no choice but to increase the price.”

Chow said the increase would affect the distributors and dealers more than consumers.

“It is up to the distributors to adjust the price as they see fit. But they cannot increase their prices by more than 15% of the recommended retail price,” he said. A car battery now retails for below RM150 on the average.

Chow said the six local manufacturers had absorbed the increase in prices of most raw materials used in the production of batteries but the incessant increase in lead prices had pushed them into the red.

i think this will affect only local made batteries.

i am using zero maintenance battery - made in korea. ha ha ha cheaper than local batteries with acid lead.

AccordRacing said:
manual car nvm if auto car need battery more stable n realiable

this is a thing im want to know for long

why izzit auto car consume more electricity

please enlighten me

TQ

fluxz

fluxz said:
this is a thing im want to know for long

why izzit auto car consume more electricity

please enlighten me

TQ

fluxz

bro, i dont think so its that true. :shades_smile:

if the wonder is about why auto cars cant push start, its becoz of the transmission running on hydraulic instead of mechanicals.

price increase of raw materials = decrease of purchase power of consumer...

when is increase of salary?

zan said:
bro, i dont think so its that true. :shades_smile:

if the wonder is about why auto cars cant push start, its becoz of the transmission running on hydraulic instead of mechanicals.

coz auto car use battery straight kick the starter,manual car use flywheel to kick the starter,which mean u push the vehicle then can start it:X-: i just share wat i know,if wrg pls correct me:regular_smile:

i think both starters are started by batts.

but push starting..i agree with zan.

flux: auto cars dont makan more lectric.both manual and auto cars are the same.