Car With Insurance Claim Cant Do Conversion?

mitsufreak

to all the pros out there...
i'm new to this forum....

wana ask all...
if a car has met with an accident before n has claimed insurance cannot go for engine transplant otherwise sure fail if go for puspakom test..... jus wondering..anything like this?
will the car be towed for further investigation?
thans for all ur infos

guess its quite a stupid quest rite.... anyway if no one can enlighten me bout this then i shall delete this post 2moro.... :)

hmm.. mind giving better explanation regarding your question because i'm unable to grasp what you wanna know..

are you trying to say that for example your car crashed, claimed insurance to repair and after everything is done.. you intend to go for engine transplant?

if that's case.. why would there be any problem?
however, if i'm not mistaken any modifications done to your car and have pass through puspakom's test (hiring runner or something?) you still have to inform your insurance company regarding the changes in your car right? otherwise they could refuse to cover the insurance for your car.. (probably they have to adjust the insurance pricing and you have to pay accordingly.. this is just my assumption.. i don't really know much about it)

sorry cuz i'm not sure of the procedures, and what not.

jackie...
thans for replying...
actually my doubt is say my car crash before the front part n the rite side... the insurance claim ganti everything alreadi and i m in doubt whether they did a good job bout it... u knowla insurance claim... long time to complete n duno the quality of work reliable or not... n if my car go for inspection they cee som marks from the accident like the besi ketuk abit(sure got rite after accident) will they tarik my car for further investigation ...
n will there be a prob if i wana convert to 1.8 gsr?
ya wat u say is rite .... must inform the insurance company after conversion to adjust the diff rate olredi........

Hai mitsufreak.

With regard to ur question, it is not related directly to the car failing puspakom tests.

Ok, first things first. A car can fail its puspakom roadworthy tests when after a serious accidnet these parts are not properly cut and welded. these parts are..

1. either side of wheelhouse (or chassismember, or apron) or both sides.
2. either side of front A Pillar (or front windscreen pillars) or both sides.
3. complete roof replacement (where cutting all pillars are necessary)

Fyi, only franchise holders are allowed to do these kind of repairs without the need for puspakom inspection. Independent body and paint repairers are allowed to do but they are subject to failing these tests due to poor workmanship.

workshops used to cut complete roof when installing sunroof (from half cut) bcoz its easier. nowdays not so easy as traces of cut and weld at every pillar may have failed the tests. so, what they do is cut a portion of the roof to install sunroof. even though its legal, but u will lose the roof reinforcement (vital upon rollover crash).

Remember the intention is to protect other road users as these cars tend to break into two upon serious accident. Which is why now financiers require every used car to be inspected by Puspakom.

There has been many cases where cars lost their strengh after poor repair and broke into halves at high speed accidnet. We dont want these to happen to us or our relatives rite?

When changing engine of similar makes, i personally do not think that is against the lawl and can fail the whole car. Its only not right when new engine displacement is 30% more than its original powerplant. Other than that its either the car had been repaired with suspicious workmanship or had used engine of different makes thus requiring new location of engine mounting. And that is illegal.

thanx jackie. i am in the motor claim insurance industry. my bread and butter.

For eg, ppl usually cut a portion of the roof to install lets say a mirage sunroof on a satria. this is done, by not cutting the pillars but actually cutting the lining of the roof..thus all original chassis is not disrupted. The complete lining of the mirage roof is used to replace the oem top which is seamed by using the staple method. is this legal?

then why do jpj stop and harrass road users wif this kinda sunroofs?

just askin and hope u can enligtened me on this issue... :)

thanks in advance zan...

bro zan
1st of all thans for ur info....
1.what if the car kena tarik for further inspection by jpj(after failing the puspakom test)......
say they send it for chemistry department or whatever department is that( not too sure bout this,......actually i read this somwhere n asking it out of curiosity) what tests is the car subjected to? besides the engine n chasis no.

2.will the test be failed say for poor workmanship from insurance claim.....
oh ya one more thing.... jus curious to know how does the panel workshops of insurance company repair a car with a chasis involve in accidents..... if according to u they weld or bend it bac then for sure will fail any puspakom test rite......or they dun repair it at all... instead send it bac to the manufacturer to deal with it.

3.is the franchise holders are the panel workshops appointed by the insurance company?

4. another stupid quest.... if the accident involve a bent chasis of the front portion like i hav read in the forum bout not able to fit the strut bar after an accident.. then isit after the insurance claim the car anct go for conversion...
thans in advance for all the info provided...... i m learning from all the pros out there.... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' /> https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' />

ps:actually asking out of curiosity after reading an article on the reliability of the workmanship of panel workshops of insurance claim company...

Hey Zan, I think there are lotsa ppl who wanna talk to you ;)

Like me.

Is there Agreed Value Insurance for cars in Malaysia? Otherwise, how do you buy insurance for an amount YOU specify, not the 'current market price' so called :P ?

yaya couldnt agree more with jkn...
bro zan hope u could shed som light regarding our doubts...

Fyi, only franchise holders are allowed to do these kind of repairs without the need for puspakom inspection. Independent body and paint repairers are allowed to do but they are subject to failing these tests due to poor workmanship.

wat do u mean by frainchise holders??
coz i sent to a workshpo (PIAM member) to replace my wheelhouse...
so must i go for inspection?

ha ha :lol:

Firstly, i am no 'pro' here(bear that in mind). But i found this forum a good place to share knowledges. Like myself, i do know a lot on theories but less on practical. I still learn from other forumers on things involving high tech performance.

Tombstone, i am sorry i do not have the answer to that. I will try to find out the answer from a friend at puspakom (seremban) and jpj (sandakan) about this. I came across a case where this one wira owner converted to lancer front half. Evything was ok for about 2 years, even claimed insurance once upon accident. Although converted, i closed one eye and allowed original wira parts replacement but still owner prefer lancer used parts.

Not long after i saw the car in same workshop, converting back to original wira parts. I found out that owner kena chase by JPJ's pajero and required inspection within a week after. In real life, i do not know what is exactly legal and what is not. In your case Tombstone, maybe converting sunroff itself is illegal. This is becoz a part of roof reinforcement has been cut. I think laa..

To kookoo, any workhsop can change the wheelhouse but when u change at franchise workhsop, ur car wont face difficulty to pass the test. Franchise holder for proton is EON and Proton Edar.
for Toyota is UMW Toyota.

To jkn, as far as i am concern there is no such thing as Agreed Insurance Value. This is because in about every 3 months the average market value for any car will fluctuate. Either up or down depending on demand and supply. This is something that nobody can control. Even the used car dealer oso cant do much.

But normally, insurance will refer to independent adjusters like the company i work for reference whenever they are not sure about how much to insure upon renewal. we have the guideline from our own research and aprroved by Bank Negara.

To mitsufreak,
To repair or replace wheelhouse depends on the workshop itself. If they think its repairable, they will repair. The real problem comes when they join the new wheelhouse and the present body (either at A pillar or firewall). Fyi car assemblers use high tech spot welding at factory. Such machine is expensive so normally repairers use either gas or arc welding. These is uncomparable to spot welding in term of strength. And that is why insurance require inspection after serious accident repair.

To kookoo again, if u repair the car on ur own then its not necessary to go for inspection.

Puspakom inspection in required by the insurance company upon serious accident (determine by their claim department), required by finance company upon new contract/buyer and also required by law when involving death case.

I hope this helps...

u all wrote too long..see oso eyesores oledi so i cant catch ur point out there.....

but wat i know is....u can modified ur car after accident...coz it is well repaired by those workshop coz they r certified by ur insurance companies as panel workshop and oso PIAM (Persatuan Insurans Am Malaysia)

so as fasr as ur car is not in serious accident.....it wil be ok....no problem....if go inspection fail n it is related to d accident part..then u can go back to d workshop.......tell them.....coz nowadays all insurance claim provides at least 6 months warranty to all owners..faham kah? hehe...