Change gearbox, need JPJ inspection??? Please Help

WackoJacko

Hi Guys:

Does anyone know if you convert from an auto gearbox to a manual gearbox, do you need to take the car for inspection. I have an H22A and want to swap the crappy auto to a manual. By the way, my grant does not state if the car is an auto or a manual. Is that normal.... I always thought it will say (A) or (M).

Any advice would be much valued.

Any thoughts on the conversion, please do advice, good or bad...

WackoJacko said:
Hi Guys:

Does anyone know if you convert from an auto gearbox to a manual gearbox, do you need to take the car for inspection. I have an H22A and want to swap the crappy auto to a manual. By the way, my grant does not state if the car is an auto or a manual. Is that normal.... I always thought it will say (A) or (M).

Any advice would be much valued.

Any thoughts on the conversion, please do advice, good or bad...

WackoJacko
No need to register with JPJ for auto to manual tranny conversion.
only engine conversion/sunroof installation etc etc need to register with JPJ

Yup........if I'm not mistaken a few EG9 Auto fellas converted to Manual and they sent their cars for inspection.

On the contrary, sunroof need not go for inspection:-

http://www.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=166&limit=1&limitstart=1

crower75 said:
Yup........if I'm not mistaken a few EG9 Auto fellas converted to Manual and they sent their cars for inspection.

http://www.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=166&limit=1&limitstart=1

crower

didnt know that.thanks for the info.i thought last time jpj did said that in order to install sunroof have to send JPj for inspection ;)

crower75 said:

by rite....u have to register, before that have 2 get letter of permission from Bhgn Teknik JPJ putrajaya....then after that have to go to Puspakom...

logicaly they wont notice if u have changed the gb...because in the grant it self dont mentioned anything about the transmission type....but not sure in their data base....now everything also computerized...:confused_smile:

Heys guys, that is true, the grant does not mention anything, but one question from you experts is that if I were to change from Auto to manual tranny, is it gonna effect the performance by a lot. According to my formen, he says that we just need to remove the auto ecu and leave the main ecu in there. the rest will fall in.

Any opinions guys. Please advice as I'm gonna change it soon. Looking for the gearbox now.

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

For "what is required for auto to manual conversion"........please do a search. There's plenty of simillar topics

I got a customer want to convert sunroof and he go and enquire JPJ from Putrajaya. What he found out is they need to know how u do the sunroof installation. U need to take pictures during the installation. What he found out is...
If u just open a hole on ur roof and install it then it's legal one. However if u cut the whole rood and weld back it's illegal. So, it depends on whether u want to take the risk or not.

yes, the same thing that i heard..
cutting a hole on the roof to install the sunroof is legal..
but cutting the whole roof structure even nothing to do with the pillar will effect the chasis rigidity according to them...

http://www.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=166&limit=1&limitstart=2

doesnt say anything about g'box also azli?

PetrolHeaD said:
http://www.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=71&Itemid=166&limit=1&limitstart=2

doesnt say anything about g'box also azli?
hmmm...nuthin in it says u have 2 get jpj's approval prior changing the box...

but in the insurance policy it does state the type of tranny dat u use - so if u dun update the policy after changing 2 manual, later car involved in crash the ins ppl can reject yer claim based on 'non-disclosure of material changes' ...aiyaaaaa

nashrey said:
hmmm...nuthin in it says u have 2 get jpj's approval prior changing the box...

but in the insurance policy it does state the type of tranny dat u use - so if u dun update the policy after changing 2 manual, later car involved in crash the ins ppl can reject yer claim based on 'non-disclosure of material changes' ...aiyaaaaa
Call customer service and ask lor. As I know don need lor.

Thanks a lot guys but looking for a manual tranny for a H22A is hell especially the parts that comes with it. The gear box alone is easy but all the rest of the "barang-barang", aiyoh, can die lah. Plus the pricing the half cut is asking is ridiculous. The gear box is cheap but the ather parts are expensive.

Looks like i'm going for another auto, 'sad', the pricing is good and not much work and hassle.

Eitherway guys, thanks for all the input.