Changing Absorber & Spring for my new Gen 2.Warranty void?

gen.2

Hi everybody~

I m a newbie here.Nice to meet u all. :)

I have a question which i think u all may give me the answer.

I m getting my Gen 2 very soon and i m thinking of changing the absorber & spring to lower the car once i get it.

But i m wondering wheter it'll void the warranty if i do so?
I wanted so much to lower the car cuz it look nice although i know after change the absorber & spring the car will be much shaking. :biggrin:

Any help will be much appreciate and thanks in advance...

wah.. so fast wanna change ar... either u use till ur ab n spring kong ur u directly change it.. em.. pronton only le, mayb ppl tell me doesnt matter abt warranty, also wat they will warranty for u? labour charge oni lo.. but dun so fast change la.. enjoy ur Gen2 ride for a while 1st lo...

it is well described in the service manual of every car the kind of warranty and guarantee that covers the car.

its some kind of agreement between manufacturer and owner. heavy sided of course.

the warranty is given for almost every part of the car within the specified period or distance travelled as of during assembled.

warranty does not cover damages caused by accident or pace setting, or act of god like flood, earthquake or landslide.

we will get limited warranty on items like tyres, auxiliary drive belts, battery, wiper blade and also wear and tear items.

to gen2 i do not see much problem when u upgrade your suspension system.
the shock absorber eg koni, monroe does have limited warranty as well as alloy wheels. in my knowledge alloy wheels made by ENKEI has a RM1,000,000 lialibility cover.

it doesnt make much difference at all. unless u convert standard spec gen2 engine to used evo8 engine...heh heh...

dun wori.

a freindly reminder though...standard car ABS functions 100% with standard specified wheels. once u change the overall diamater of the wheel, the ABS may not function effectively. normally stated in the warranty book and owner's manual.

cheers :D

@zan

Wow,wat an usefull info!Wat u said are right....
I think i now wat to do now. :)

a freindly reminder though...standard car ABS functions 100% with standard specified wheels. once u change the overall diamater of the wheel, the ABS may not function effectively. normally stated in the warranty book and owner's manual.

I din know abt this b4...now i learned something new.Wat a great forum and expert forumer like u. :) *cheers*

Thanks a lot!!

@RS.Move

haha....yeah lor...wan 2 make my gen2 look nicer mah. :P
this is wat we called "want nice dont want live" (translate in Cantonese) kekeke.... :P

i recomend u just hang on to the warranty .. proton got lot of red tape in escaping warranty and stuff .. at least let it reach 50k km .. u nvr know somthing might be defective in the car .... temptations are hard to resist .. i know i got a new proton and cat wait to change air filter .. exzos and stuff .. dnt dare not touch ..

@RPM

hmm...die ler...really duno how now...
actually i m getting the absorber and spring from my fren.He's the supplier and i got a special from him tat i can test the absorber and spring maybe for a week or two then if it's not ok i can return back to him.

So,if i change it and later i change back to the standart wun,they(Proton)will know or not?

Hmmp.....

What they don't know won't hurt.

But make sure your car is in tip top condition before you "void" your warranty. At least you know there's no claim you need to make in the near future.

Upgrade to Stage 2 constitude 'warrantee void'....?

Regards,
Uncle Mui

prozac said:
What they don't know won't hurt.

But make sure your car is in tip top condition before you "void" your warranty. At least you know there's no claim you need to make in the near future.
hmmm....some sc they really dengki ok..they'd list out one by one all the items you change/mod..
extractor changed,cable plugs changed,steering changed,coils changed,rims changed.....etc.. cannot run.. so best choice to be safe...if so afraid then dont change la

Haha. Simple solution. Service your car at an outside approved SC. If you can kamcheng with the manager even better; they will ignore the mods, or even install the parts for you. Then for warranty claims, go back to P2 SC lor.

how bout play with the car for a while on standard setup. see if any defect(s).
after 50 000km or so. can start modify.
if there any defects sure will show if push hard.

how's the new gen2? is the throttle response lag solved?
can't wait for Gen2 R3. Mean Family Car.

-just a piece of my mind-