Civic EK D15B

BandiT

Hi all ,
Recently i saw a civic 1.5 EK model 4 drs yr 96/97 at a second car dealer and the engine is D15B but the sales person told me that it is a non vtec.
Question ... i thought all recond civic car are vtec??
I was thinking of buying that car as it's quite cheap (43K) compare to other civic .. is it worth it to buy ?
Does any sifu out there know the bhp for that car ..
Thanks for replying :)

BandiT said:
Hi all ,
Recently i saw a civic 1.5 EK model 4 drs yr 96/97 at a second car dealer and the engine is D15B but the sales person told me that it is a non vtec.
Question ... i thought all recond civic car are vtec??
I was thinking of buying that car as it's quite cheap (43K) compare to other civic .. is it worth it to buy ?
Does any sifu out there know the bhp for that car ..
Thanks for replying :)

Please refer to this link:
http://asia.vtec.net/specs/ekcivic/civic/97spec_civic.html

I believe the D15B have two type, one with vtec and one without. The one with vtec is with 130hp (refer to the link).

Have fun. :)

For an EK3 D15B without vtec and selling with a price of 43K is really really low....better be careful......

aramis,

Can we tell from outside engine that's it'a a VTEC or NON VTEC?

thanks a lot Aramis bro but i was told recond civic sure to have vtec so how can i tell ? beside looking at the Vi sticker at the back of the car

Aramis....the look of the engine like normal.Valve cover not sritten VTEC. SOunds like non VTEC to u??Any other way we can tell??

According to one the the forum here for D15b engine the word VTEC will not be written on the cover

I own a B18C DOHC vtec... :)

hhmmm.....in that case, you would need to locatethe Vtec solenoid...

http://b16a.honda-perf.org/Tech/vtecsolenoid.jpg

I'm sure even for SOHC vtec, there should be one....

better still ..refer here...

http://asia.vtec.net/article/d15b/

You can clearly see the Vtec word on the valve cover and also the vtec solenoid...

aramis....what do u think of S2K? What are good stufss we must put (mods)