Civic ES Koni Rattling Sound

ryonan

Dear all,

Asked around many ppl/forums already but cannot solve la. so trying my luck here in case anyone can help me.

Driving a 1.7 civic ES. installed eibachs and koni sport. the front left absorber is giving some irritating rattling sound when going over uneven roads.

i've checked the original parts eg sway barlink, tie rod, bearings, rims etc with many Honda SC and all confirm that the original parts are OK. so i suspect it is the absorber, but the installer oso cannot figure out the problem...thats what they claim, anyway...

coincidently that particular absorber was changed with new one (coz the first one leaked after abt a month!). after replace, still ada same sound.

anyone have any thoughts? since konis require original housing to be cut, any chance tak that this yg causing the sound?

boring laa...krok krok sound nii..tensionn...

Please help. thanks

wat happened to my EJ was almost the same thing la. the culprit is the bushing. Got them replaced with superpro PU bushes and gone all those probs

amdfaisal,

thanx for your input. your EJ was fitted with koni as well? if i'm not mistaken that model has double wishbone suspension rite?

think my car is still new for the bush to kaput. but i'll check it out. where can i get that in klang valley (besides hokomoto), u know?

tq.

check the abs / shaft "sarung or condom in my lingo" heheheh .. could be the culprit also .. just add washer to it ..

brader stim,:regular_smile:

mcamana nak check for that? where to install the washer? boley elaborate sikit?
i also think its the absorber. coz before install koni, never have that sound before...
3 other absorbers OK jek...

TQ

hmm .. okay .. when yu install any absorbers, it will come together with the "sarung". these things are to cover the chrome shaft and protect it from getting dirty from dust, sand or even stone chips or whatsoever which can cause damage to the absorber ..

the "sarung" must have two washers .. one before putting the sarung and the other one after the sarung to clamp it together .. if its not ngam, it got a very small gap, yet the sarung can move freely whenever yur moves .. so, it will hit the chrome shaft thus making the sound .. try to put another washer or put thicker one ..

thats could be one of the reasons ..

OK thanks dude.
will check it out with installer. can you also recommend some shop that may able to check this for me? and maybe that can fix the problem as well. just to get second opinion. dont trust the installer's capability that much nowadays..

fletcheru,

yup rattling still there...worst in the morning. and oso discovered that it happens more frequently while going up slight gradient. so definately absorber problem.

stim,

dun think it will cost that much to fix. lazy lah...and oso have no experience to DIY absorber heheheee...
so..any reliable mekanik in klang valley u know of? pls advise.

thanx

bro ryonan,

i feel for you bro.

that's my number 1 fear...

like my dad's prado, after changing shocks... comes back with all sort of funny squeeking sound.

bring back to the installer... re-oil/grease... few days later, the sound comes back again.

diesel engine is already quite noisy... now, from far, can hear the car coming... so sad...

luckily my koni + Eibach so far so good. touchwood... only finding the appropriate setting only.

biasala fletcheru..

although frustating, but at least not the end of the world. worst case just change all the absorbers to something else. worse still, just change back to stock. koni pun not meant to last. most ppl say 2-3 years will leak.
thats y in future, i think i want to go for local brands. Titan maybe, coz cheaper to maintain. if something wrong pun, u can chase the guy yg fabricate.

the thing is, if wanna change to stock again, oso must spent money. the springs are still available but the front abs have to buy new. i asked honda already. each cost around rm500/piece.....more expensive than koni..

in that sense, it's good for you.

living in the has no advantage with local or foreign product. just hope it won't die so quickly