Consumer Workshop Price Guideline...

SanTa_Clause

Guys...I just wanne get opinions/guidelines from you seniors(respected not old) coz im in the blur on workshop rates for these services based on your personal experience/knowledge.Doesnt matter for rb20/25/26...R35 maybe we can open another thread.I think it would help a lot of other skyline owners out there...

so how much does it cost to

1)Convert plus wiring say from an rb20det to an rb25det in a skyline.

2)Labour cost to overhaul top and bottom of an rb26dett engine.

3)Cost of reboring and fitting new pistons and rods and after that fully balancing the rb26dett engine

4)Lastly to port and polish the head of rb26dett.

Ya'll can either answer from 1)$$$ to 4)$$$ or a lump sum price or even if u guys wanne add anymore standard price for any other services offered by any workshop(names please) please please be happily do so as it will benefit us all(save our pockets)..maybe just me.. no no us all.

thank u my Seniors...hehe

different shop different rate lo

you got GT Auto. APD , Link or look like Pro shop sure pro price lo

Some normal shop still able to do all the rebuild and transplant with lower price
and not so calclulative to customer

But "pro" shop also no guarantee you engine won't letup on 1st dyno run either ... :rolleyes:

like this better buy bigger insurance!! hehehe... Public Indemnity (for the mechanics!)

if only i was free i would definitely do it myself. It ain't that hard to be honest.

You have all the tools and proper equipment to that?? Wow...you area good then....with those pressure calculation and indication to follow...hmmmm....I rather give up and let those with little more experience to handle it...

Bump: You have all the tools and proper equipment to that?? Wow...you area good then....with those pressure calculation and indication to follow...hmmmm....I rather give up and let those with little more experience to handle it...

Guys...I just wanne get opinions/guidelines from you seniors(respected not old) coz im in the blur on workshop rates for these services based on your personal experience/knowledge.Doesnt matter for rb20/25/26...R35 maybe we can open another thread.I think it would help a lot of other skyline owners out there...

so how much does it cost to

1)Convert plus wiring say from an rb20det to an rb25det in a skyline.

2)Labour cost to overhaul top and bottom of an rb26dett engine.

3)Cost of reboring and fitting new pistons and rods and after that fully balancing the rb26dett engine

4)Lastly to port and polish the head of rb26dett.

Ya'll can either answer from 1)$$$ to 4)$$$ or a lump sum price or even if u guys wanne add anymore standard price for any other services offered by any workshop(names please) please please be happily do so as it will benefit us all(save our pockets)..maybe just me.. no no us all.

thank u my Seniors...hehe

The HKS Pro Shop over at Brunei once quoted me S2,300.00 for the complete overhaul on the RB26 excluding parts if needed. It is only labor charge to do it...

i wouldn't think "tools" are a problem as most parts can be taken apart by tweezers, hammers,ratchets, some DIY tool that is available freely on the market. Machining and boring you could obviously send it to factories to do it only problem i see is the critical stuffs like eg, aligning your clutch precisely and proper allignment of the TDC to open/close once you touch anything on the engine bottom.oh yah and lets not forget about how to take your engine out and that annoying clutch fan nut!

oh well if they are charging 2.3k maybe they have a reason for that, probably a very nice complete workmanship etc. I believe you could tell how good they are by judging how clean their garage is and i believe HKS pro shop is a good one. Personally i wouldn't send my car to anyplace with more than 5 bolts laying un-attended on the floor and have resorted to DIY these days. At least you get to know a lot of things,If budget is a constrain you could probably try experimenting with the engine top first. Well you probably have 1 gtr, but i think i am the only person in here who has a whole fleet of GTRs from the R32 to the new GTR stashed in my garage and you know whats fun? its tearing them apart and putting them all back together(sometimes i do admit i fuck things up, really ...really...badly)that makes your life just a little bit more exciting than the normal john doe skyline owner.

i wouldn't think "tools" are a problem as most parts can be taken apart by tweezers, hammers,ratchets, some DIY tool that is available freely on the market. Machining and boring you could obviously send it to factories to do it only problem i see is the critical stuffs like eg, aligning your clutch precisely and proper allignment of the TDC to open/close once you touch anything on the engine bottom.oh yah and lets not forget about how to take your engine out and that annoying clutch fan nut!

oh well if they are charging 2.3k maybe they have a reason for that, probably a very nice complete workmanship etc. I believe you could tell how good they are by judging how clean their garage is and i believe HKS pro shop is a good one. Personally i wouldn't send my car to anyplace with more than 5 bolts laying un-attended on the floor and have resorted to DIY these days. At least you get to know a lot of things,If budget is a constrain you could probably try experimenting with the engine top first. Well you probably have 1 gtr, but i think i am the only person in here who has a whole fleet of GTRs from the R32 to the new GTR stashed in my garage and you know whats fun? its tearing them apart and putting them all back together(sometimes i do admit i fuck things up, really ...really...badly)that makes your life just a little bit more exciting than the normal john doe skyline owner.

You are here in Malaysia or Oversea? When come to "tools are freely available on the markets", it really sound like you are at Oversea to me....some of the simple tools like screw tighten pressure gauge, sparks plug death indication tools are hardly can find locally! BTW, you are 1 rich dude to own the complete line of Skyline...from grandpa till nephew!!! :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin::biggrin:

Walauweh...whole fleet....ur living my dream...i dare to ask which one is ur favourite?

ok so roughly rm4k just for labour charge to overhaul excluding parts is acceptable?Im not talking lynks here...im talking normal workshop.say onwards or andy's in kepong for example,or maybe bawah pokok chap trying to earn a living modifying RBs.

4k labour to me is a bit high...im not rich like u guys...mahal eh.whats the standard rate then?

rebore and balancing 4 sure done at machine shop.Ive been quoted 800 and 700 respectively to do each of them.

ok how bout port and polish and conversion(without major mods)...how much have u guys been charged before?

come onlah...takkan ya'll havent done any of these services before when ur sky's are mostly 800hp above..or maybe u dont even remember the $$$$$...too petty eh?

Maybe alittle out of the original question (sorry, Santa_Clause) but how much "effort" to match the RB26 to RB25 gearbox? I know it's been done, and more than many times too ... :wavey:

Anyone to share :adore:

You are here in Malaysia or Oversea? When come to "tools are freely available on the markets", it really sound like you are at Oversea to me....some of the simple tools like screw tighten pressure gauge, sparks plug death indication tools are hardly can find locally! BTW, you are 1 rich dude to own the complete line of Skyline...from grandpa till nephew!!! :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin::biggrin:

i'm in malaysia, but in a very not so popular state hahahaha. dude, tools like vernier scale, pressure gauge,angle map can be bought everywhere. at worse just go to rscomponent malaysia and order online, or ebay.i even got my consult at rm200 from china! wtf lol.

Maybe alittle out of the original question (sorry, Santa_Clause) but how much "effort" to match the RB26 to RB25 gearbox? I know it's been done, and more than many times too ... :wavey:

Anyone to share :adore:

very vague question. why would you wanna swap a rb26dett gb with a rb25det? anyways i'm assuming that its is the cost constrain of it.for it to fit,you just need the flywheel, pull type clutch and a modified propeller shaft(rb25det gearbox housing bigger than rb26, although the drive shaft match up in length but due to the housing you need to cut it shorter i think) a few fabrication work for it to be AWD but RWD should be fine. Might have troubles with the speedo but that's easilly rectified by taking off the cluster and sholdering the 7 pins at the back of the speedo scale or drive the rb25det g/b sensor feed to the back of the speedo.(1 tiny screw which feeds the gb sensor, GTRs dont have that cable coz sensors are fed through one of the 3 socket at the back cluster)

Sorry, my bad .... Coz as we know, there were som many GTT converted to RB26 ... Just wondered if they did a direct match with RB26 to 25-box, or went for the full 26 engine and box, minus the front drives ... :hmmmm:

But, thanks for the in-depth explanation of the differences between the 26 and 25 box .. :adore:

well now at least we know a bit, you want to match a rb25 neo gb to a rb26dett on a gtt(i assume the r34 rb26)The whole process is pretty straight forward than converting it to fully AWD exactly like the R34 GTR which will be better if u just go buy a year 99 R34GTR. No wonder i was wondering why u dont want a getrag g/b as i assume u have a r33 from ur sales thread.

btw why convert to gtr?the neo engine is good enuff for the money u spend on just tranfering the gtr might as well soup up the rb25 instead and max it out at 600. Unless u wanna go more than that you obviously need the 26 but who needs >600?are u going drag racing?trust me with that kinda power its no fun to drive anymore, yeah i agree turn head factors are high but imagine u just wanna drive ur car to shopping or work everyday, it'd be pain in the ass my man u wish u'd sell the car

well now at least we know a bit, you want to match a rb25 neo gb to a rb26dett on a gtt(i assume the r34 rb26)The whole process is pretty straight forward than converting it to fully AWD exactly like the R34 GTR which will be better if u just go buy a year 99 R34GTR. No wonder i was wondering why u dont want a getrag g/b as i assume u have a r33 from ur sales thread.

Actually, I am asking in-term for others. Yes, I do have the complete 33-rb26 (that was my spare engine) and people do ask me if the 33-rb26 would match to rb25, r33-gts gearbox? Well, that's why I kind of sneaked into this coz I am clueless ... Haha ... :hmmmm:

As for myself, I wouldn't mind the getrag as what taiko raptorie54 did to his 33-gtr :adore:

Actually, I am asking in-term for others. Yes, I do have the complete 33-rb26 (that was my spare engine) and people do ask me if the 33-rb26 would match to rb25, r33-gts gearbox? Well, that's why I kind of sneaked into this coz I am clueless ... Haha ... :hmmmm:

As for myself, I wouldn't mind the getrag as what taiko raptorie54 did to his 33-gtr :adore:

like that super easy lah, mostly direct bolt-on with minor mounting mods to run RWD on the R33. its a very popular setup.

Really? You mean the r33, Rb26 would match directly to an r33, Rb25 box? Hmmm ... :hmmmm:

yah i did it on my r33 tamiya model car but i havent try it on the road coz i cannot seem to get the tangki for fuel to open.

Sweet ... Least it somewhat worked on the model ... :rofl:

Haa haa haa haaa........ :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: I am waiting for more and then....end of show....haa haa haa ahaa