Controlling boost using fish tank valves...

Zeroed

Hey guys.
I tried using a ball bearing and spring-type boost controller, but the spike was way too high at 1.5 and the boost isnt constant. So my mechanic resorted to fish tank valves x2.

Now the boost spike is still a little high at 1.2 with some boost cut coming in, the boost then lowers down to 0.9 after sometime at full throttle.

How would I reduce boost spike? Would increasing the number of valves and having small openings for everyone help?

Thanks in advance.

how to reduce? buy a proper aftermarket boost controller. Using fishtank valves will almost confirm to have boost spike !!

By 'proper' i meant a boost controller of a familiar brand.

At first I used a Tomei-design one (but not manufactured by Tomei) but it was pretty bad...

I would love to get a branded one as well like profec but currently I have other usages of money which are a little bit more pressing, so resorted to fishtank valves lor.

Anyway I tweaked the valves a bit and its now pretty stable at 1 bar (by luck. only goes down to 0.95 slowly after a long time). Thanks for advice though. :biggrin:

fit more fishtank valves to get better acuracy :) , bt thts for wastegate user la

Hm what about for internal wastegate/actuator users?
Ill add more valves should I wish to tune it again I guess... thanks. : )

fine turbosmarts boost controller or pivot boost controller.. u can get great boosting ... no spike boost.. If boost spike so dengerous for your engine... maybe can boomm your engine if u not proper setting using tulang ikan akan fishbone valve control..

yeah, i would to agree also by getting a boost controller. i think rm300 plus can get u a decent one liao

refrain yourself from using this method. will be detrimental to the engine because it is not accurate and with higher boost and no proper fueling will lead to frustration of engine problem.

Its pretty accurate for me now actually... why would it be a deteriment to the engine?

helo every1,

is it true that we can use the AVCR from APEXi to do boost controling for turbo car?