MrNismo said:
PT,
I know having a roll-cage does not define a D1 spec vehicle, but isn't a D1 participating car suppose to have a rollcage and side impact bars installed? I'm not too sure whether Takahashi-san's Chaser is road registered, but it does have a roll-cage right? There are road legal roll-cages permitted on street vehicles in Japan right? Also, I'm a little confused about what defines a D1-spec vehicle. Is it the suspension? Is it the engine? Perhaps you may tell me more.
I'm not VERY good in drifting, in fact, i'm not good in drifting or driving at all if compared to Jap drifters, hell I'll be ashamed to compare with them, please don't put me on the table, me small potato only.
------------------------------------------------
Actually, Malaysia is already hosting an international event with top drifters from Japan if you all are aware of it. Remember Super GT? Who knows we might have D1 here in conjunction with Super GT.
Also, I would like to apologise if I mislead anybody about Takahashi-san being the 'mystery' drifter. I didn't make up the story myself, just wana make sure that's all. Gomen-nasai.
Simple....Being a D1 Spec car, you pass all the criteria in the scruteering part of any official D1 race, gets the OK stickers, viola....you have a D1 spec car. It's that simple...Many Jap companies used the word D1-Spec means their products has been used officially in D1 races and of course, it passed the scruteering. So came about the D1 Spec thingy...it's kinda of a marketing.
If you want, I can bring D1 Spec Ken Nomura Mug, D1 Spec Key Chain, D1 Spec Stickers, D1 Spec Handphone straps to PD this sat, and you can buy it too....
Basically, anyone can be D1 spec car, as long you fulfilled all the criterias of the D1 Corporation Ruling.
So, if my track car goes to run Malaysia super series or MME, I can call my track car race spec, or MSS Spec or MME Spec, etc coz my track car passed all the specifications required by the race organisers. No one will shoot me.
Second, Yes Malaysia has been hosting International events like GT Race, F1, etc.
Don't forget D1 Corporation owns D1 races and copyrights and our Blitz S15 are not allowed to have the D1 Professional Drift Series Grand Prix (Orange stickers) stick on the windscreen as it is only allowed for the car raced inside the official events as we have to seek permission from D1 Corporation.
From my understanding and talking with so many japs friends in the D1 scene, D1 GP races if want to come to S. E. Asia, it will go to Australia first, as Australian have been talking to D1 Corporation for a long time for it to host one of the series there. And Australia has a bigger drift market potentials as compared to Malaysia and they are not even getting the go-ahead sign, so Malaysia will not have any D1 race so far. Well, that's right now, Perhaps in the future, things might change.
Nothing to apologise, Forum is meant to share info and details, if not what's a forum for ? Nothing to get offended also. I thought that you are among the pro drifters as according to your postings in DCM and here plus, heard a lot abt you from others mah. I don't even know you so the forum members said so and you talked abt drifting techniques, etc, so naturally, I thought that you are some drift gurus lor.
Well, if I am wrong then shoot me ! If not let's share man, if forum no share share, then this type of forum might as well converted to website and read better...
By the way, how come did the name Takahashi came abt ? What mystery driver ? If he is coming, believe me, the whole Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand will know abt it. Good marketing strategy wah....and it will definitely makes more scene than the mystery driver thingy.... kekekeke....hmmm.... Speculation....... brings stock markets up and down.... speculation brings about suspicions...... kekekekek :p
Well... no worries...things clear....have fun and hope to see you in person one day....and bring me a ride in your S13, should be fun !