DC5 vs. Wald Golf GTI

i dunno..any variants of the MK5 golf looks awfully good to me..
but who am i to argue anyway? i'm totally biased on euros!
http://vortex3.rely.net/gallery/generated/Features/Feature%20Cars/AUTObiographies/Ville=Mk5%20TDI/010__scaled_600.jpg

http://www.awesome-gti.co.uk/images/je_mk5golf2.jpg

http://www.car.ee/wallpapers/previews/abt-sportsline-golf-gti-191.jpg

IMO compared to this, which don't rock my boat.
but it's just me, ya?
http://turbo-k-web.hp.infoseek.co.jp/mycar_images/inte_dc5-31.jpg

DC5. I just don't like hatchback cars.........Coupe is better.

i will go for DC5 cos no matter how the engine is more reliable n parts is easier to maintain.

later the GTI spoil the bill i also dunno how to calculate hehe... $$$$$$

HKS-GT2835R said:
i dunno..any variants of the MK5 golf looks awfully good to me..
but who am i to argue anyway? i'm totally biased on euros!
http://vortex3.rely.net/gallery/generated/Features/Feature%20Cars/AUTObiographies/Ville=Mk5%20TDI/010__scaled_600.jpg

http://www.awesome-gti.co.uk/images/je_mk5golf2.jpg

http://www.car.ee/wallpapers/previews/abt-sportsline-golf-gti-191.jpg

IMO compared to this, which don't rock my boat.
but it's just me, ya?
http://turbo-k-web.hp.infoseek.co.jp/mycar_images/inte_dc5-31.jpg

not bad woh, clean outlook

as for me....i will go for MK5...it is more
convenient...good enough to bring it to
the track and more practical for daily
use.....

actually, im totally biased on euros too

Coupe vs. Hatch...is a very subjective issue la. But the MK5's design beats EP3/MPV look anyday!

verticalimit said:
i will go for DC5 cos no matter how the engine is more reliable n parts is easier to maintain...
What gave you that idea? VWs are built to last lifetimes, better than BMW, better than Mercs. Know what you are talking about.

beatnik said:
gip powderful car to gf? i would think twice :biggrin:
She will be safe, got 2 extra airbags. jk jk

That car is easily drivable. Look at how many aunties on the road driving 328/325.
In any situation, I can always ask my friend to lend me his controller to limit the revs.

the GTi MK5 will outlast DC5 in time, so worthful bang for bucks if the buyer is I-Buy-N-Use-Till-Die! type. I just feel the VW GTi is for real VW-Euro enthusiasts, and not just for anyone.

Who says Golf Gti is for people 30 years +. The target market for the original golf gti's is for young working class people/yuppies. Unfortunately it is expensive in Malaysia. In terms of class, it is waaay above the dc5. No doubt the dc5 is probably faster on a drag race if you pit them both on the track. How often do you do that anyway?

To put it in Jeremy Clarkson's perspective.

When you go for dinner at a fancy restaurant with your gf/inlaws/parents etc... you'll be glad you're in the gti

When you travel around town in jams...you'll be glad you're in the comfort of the gti..and apparently the gti is extremely torquey on the lower range with max power coming in around 2k+ rpm which means it is excellant for town driving with loads of traffic light stops

When you go clubbing...you'll be equally as cool in the gti as in the dc5

When you're travelling long distance journeys on the highway... you're still able to play with the big boys with 198bhp under the hood. Get a chip and tuned it to 240ish bhp if you want. At least you don't need an earplug as opposed to the dc5 when revving to high rpm.

when you go tapow char kuey teow, the gti will still will work well without you standing out like a poser.

The Gti is also less popular a target for car thieves as opposed to the dc5. Can you also think of a better sleeper car?

in a nutshell, i think you'll have waaaay more fun with the golf as opposed to the dc5. The gti will impress more people than the dc5 unless you're only interested in hard core petrolheads. :P Not saying the dc 5 is not a good car, in fact it's a brilliant car, just that I think the gti gives a more pleasurable owner experience.

Just my 2 cents.

the mark 5 is an all rounder for me.. the DSG is great, the engine is smooth.. the pleasant interior is superb.. and most of all.. because it's a Golf that has set the standard of hatchbacks for long.. for most cases.. practicality wins

The world's motoring press haven't been raving about the Golf GTi for nothing. It is a fantastic car.

absolutely no contest ~ golf gti (esp the latest gen GTI with turbo!)

it a marvel ous kar!!

tablelamp said:
When you go for dinner at a fancy restaurant with your gf/inlaws/parents etc... you'll be glad you're in the gti

When you travel around town in jams...you'll be glad you're in the comfort of the gti..and apparently the gti is extremely torquey on the lower range with max power coming in around 2k+ rpm which means it is excellant for town driving with loads of traffic light stops

When you go clubbing...you'll be equally as cool in the gti as in the dc5

When you're travelling long distance journeys on the highway... you're still able to play with the big boys with 198bhp under the hood. Get a chip and tuned it to 240ish bhp if you want. At least you don't need an earplug as opposed to the dc5 when revving to high rpm.

when you go tapow char kuey teow, the gti will still will work well without you standing out like a poser.

The Gti is also less popular a target for car thieves as opposed to the dc5. Can you also think of a better sleeper car?

in a nutshell, i think you'll have waaaay more fun with the golf as opposed to the dc5. The gti will impress more people than the dc5 unless you're only interested in hard core petrolheads. :P Not saying the dc 5 is not a good car, in fact it's a brilliant car, just that I think the gti gives a more pleasurable owner experience.

Just my 2 cents.

1. i think my gf prefer DC5 than gti, my parents also love my current Integra... :biggrin:
2. Low torque, DC5 also no problem, i think K20 engine is with two vtec point....if not just use VAFC to tune your vtec to low rpm...
3. Go clubbing?? I think DC5 would be nicer....
4. Now the new vtec model engine won't be screaming as loud older one....
5. maybe when tapow char kuey teow, i agree gti is better...hehehe
6. Gti less targetted by thieves?? I cant really agree on that....I think no cars would be save from thieves as long as they have an eye on your car...

just my thought...peace...

In terms of ride comfort, equipment and normal drivability, the Golf GTi is already better than the Civic Type R, which actually rides better than the DC5. There is no question which is the better daily driver, the Golf GTi. It just is, don't argue.

The Golf GTi's 2.0 turbocharged FSi engine definitely has a more usable powerband than the K20A. Not to mention it has the fantastic DSG gearbox which works better than a manual and in has an auto mode, which is just as good.

The Golf GTi would attract the more mature and sophisticated crowd when you're clubbing, whereas the DC5 will attract the younger and "ah beng"er crowd.

The Golf GTi would be just at home at 5 star hotels as it would at pasar malams.

Thieves? Rather depends. The Golf is less shouty than the DC5 and quite rare, so it should stay out of the thieves radar.

Golf GTi R32 (we won't get this in M'sia. It's for Euro & US market oni. Bodykit, of course!
http://www.golfgti.co.uk/pageimages/mk5/mk5r32_2.jpg
http://www.golfgti.co.uk/pageimages/mk5/mk5r32_5.jpg
http://www.golfgti.co.uk/pageimages/mk5/mk5r32_4.jpg

then again... can't beat the monsterous K20A iVtec this DC5-R has under it's hood. But, if the DC5-R is pitted against the VW R32 for the Alps road in Switzerland, it'll have trouble catching up with the Golf. Why? The Golf has been built for WRC, which means, perfect chassis for full-around-neighbourhood racing, while the DC5 is powerful on the drag strip but lack of strength at bends compared to the MK5, which the Golf family is rallybred.

and here's DC5, the K20A menace... track proven machine
http://www.drkside.com/pics/specr/dc5mugen/img0075.jpg
http://www.drkside.com/pics/specr/dc5mugen/rsx_01.jpg

The R32 has 4WD as well.

Heard something about an R36 too.

Anyway, if you want a track car, wouldn't an Evo be better?

lol agree with silverfish

Get your gf and parents to sit in a golf gti and i'm sure they will change their mind as in which is more comfortable. If they're going for pure performance on track then yeah i'll agree it will be the dc5. Having said that, the golf gti is not far behind.

As for clubbing, I agree that the dc5 might attract more attention due to the popularity of the car.

The reason i say dc5 is more prone to being stolen it's because jap cars are waaaay more popular in malaysia compared to contis unless it's bimmers and mercs. A dc5 is waay easier to sell as opposed to a golf gti.

Anyway everybody has their preferences and both are brilliant cars. Depends also on what one is looking for. If one is looking for a car to kickass, yes i would go for the dc5. If the purpose is for daily ride, occasional speed thrills, classy lifestyle, etc..go for the golf.

Well... I'd actually prefer Golf GTI... :)

But if there are plans for modifications.. will really really have to consider hard... since it is hard to get parts.. (I am assuming it)..

But then again.. with the Golf GTI.. can't think of much things to mod.. :p Except Full Slick Tyres.. hahaha..