DIY Braided Brake Hose

i think better braided it as well la... it is located along the rear arm.... last time i didnt buy enough cable ties, thats why didnt tie the rear as well... haha....

zeone, cooollll dude u own a saga too!!!! i was guessing earlier that u own a saga too , now u confirm it lol !! tnxx man :biggrin:

oh skywalker, thank u too (later u think i lanci) HAHAHAHAHA kidding bro :rofl:

zerone, that rear brake hose looks quite "stiff" rite? hehehh... is there reli any use if we braid it? our brakes also juz brake the front tires wan rite?

can we braid the rear brake hose without taking out the tires? i phobia ady sial ......

Rear brake hose

Yup, nitrus, being much shorter, rear brake hose is stiffer than front ones. Really dunno if DIY braiding here would help...only by trying it out will we know...

Correction...sorry but when we press brake pedal, braking effect is on ALL 4 wheels. Only diff is rear wheels also used for emergency/parking(hand) brake.

As for DIY w/o removing rear wheels, dun think can lo...too far inside! Feel need to jack up car rear & put on stands 2b safe...

BTW any1 has done so? Pls share yr experiences. TQ.

zeone said:
Yup, nitrus, being much shorter, rear brake hose is stiffer than front ones. Really dunno if DIY braiding here would help...only by trying it out will we know...

for mine i did front 1st, then back, it helps :) but duno abt urs,i own an iswara

"Braided" rear...

Tks a meg for yr feedback, xtorm !
Will try do "braiding" for rear hoses...as soon as me can get stock of black cable ties! Not easy to find around these parts lo... :(

Frankly, nothing to lose except a few ringgit, right? And, of course, a little sweat...hehe... ;)

zerone , actually i had more than sweat to lose... got a scratched rim and when unscrewing the nuts from the rims i scratch the inner holes of the nuts of my rims ... haih. so i think i will juz not do the rear lolz... but tnx for sharing the pics n knowledge!

Now the rear...

Hi nitrus! So sorry 2hear abt yr rim damage. Yup, plenty heartache lidat lo...

Me not remove wheels ( also cos NEW -only few weeks old- BSA alloy rims - RM580!! ) but jacked up car instead!
Actually me tried to remove 1 wheel at first but was too tight cos rim shop used hydraulic tool to tighten wheel lugs!! So me gave up!! Luckily for me lo...

DIY "braided" rear brake hoses - Update :

Today me finally managed to buy enough black cable ties to DIY braiding of my OJ's rear brake hoses!!
Had to use a hydraulic jack to raise the car rear & support with axle stands b4 can reach the hoses.

Took me abt 2hrs to complete this DIY session...from under the car!! :rolleyes:

Here is a pic of the completed "braided" LHS rear brake hose :

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/9594/braidedrearbhkx7.th.jpg Pl click on image to enlarge.

zerone , damn i dun have a hydraulic jack n wat cone stand thingy .... lol ...

can use that triangle jack ma.... do it slowly lo.... no rush.....
last time i jack up my car also use triangle jack... i dont even have the cone support whatsoever to support the car after jacking up.... i jz climb under the car, facing the risk my head being squashed if the jack fails... hahaha...

Hi Skywalker & Nitrus...

Me got those axle stands made when started tinkling wif car & DIYing few years back...safety first lo...:regular_smile:
Must get 2enjoy car after DIYing it, right?

If wanna use stock car jack, mayb use 2 jacks - 2nd one as backup?

Skywalker : TG yu came out still whole fr under yr car that time...hehe...or we would've lost a great sifu in ZTH oledi!! Be safe, bro...

Life is precious, guys! We all only got ONE life nia...TC always! So that we get to enjoy our lives... & our cars lo!!

Have a great weekend!! *cheers*

those triangle stands are called jack-stands... use them whenever necessary... it is good for ur safety....

u cant rely on jacks all the time... even if u have 2 jacks... if 1 falls.. the other one may fall together too.... dun risk ur life under the car... it is not worth it...

those jack-stands can be obtained from hardware shops... cheap ones are about RM40 per pair... can be folded... enough to support a normal car... i used it last time... then bought those stronger ones (3tonnes) which cost RM60 per pair as i always DIY stuffs on my car...

i not alwiz DIY ma.... cant afford the rm40.... hahaha... miskin here...

dun worry, next time i bring out my spare tyre and put it under the car for safety...

A little abt "braided" hoses...by experts...

Hi...
Just read June 2006 issue of Sport Compact Car.
Here's something of relevance to effects & benefits of using "braided" hoses...

In article re ProjectScion tC Part II:Bolt-on brakes for geeks by Jay Chen, there is ref2 what is known as "Pedal Squish".

Do have a read. No loss, right?

What really bothered us in the first place and started us down the road of brake engineering is the soft and squishy feel of the stock brakes.

And...

Like a balloon under pressure, the softest parts begin expanding first. In most cases it's the rubber portions of the brake lines.... It's this expansion that makes the brake pedal feel soft and unresponsive. The harder you step on the pedal, the more these components will expand...
Our solution: Stiffen the parts that are expanding and flexing.

Squish, as we so scientifically call it, causes extra pedal travel with no additional brake response.

One common misconception is that braided lines help in decreasing braking distances....They don't change the ultimate line pressure in the brake system, so peak braking torgue does not change.
What does change is the transient brake response, because pedal effort will instantaneously translate to line pressure instead of ballooning the brake lines.
It is this quicker response that will take a couple of feet off high-speed stops.

Because these lines are less prone to ballooning, the line pressure, and thus, braking force, is more directly proportional to pedal effort. This is exactly what we felt; Project tC's brakes, although still a bit on the soft side, do respond a lot better.

Well, there you have it....what braided brake lines would do...from the professionals!!

Thanx 4the read...

NB. Above article was in direct ref to using Goodridge stainless steel braided lines. However, me feel our own DIY braiding here in ZTH has a place in there, too...Agreed?
I can't speak for others, but, frankly, from my own DIY efforts & results, ZTH's own style DIY braiding works!!!

hi guys... already done the diy's on my car.....
so far cannot feel any improvement on normal braking... i think it will be more obvious on emergency braking... cheers...
brakehose.jpg

Nice work there, Tykoh!! A well-made caterpillar lo...nice pic too!! hehe...;)

Yup, effect experienced only on SUDDEN braking.
Try driving just a short distance and jam on yr brakes!
If yu'd tried doing so b4 braided DIY, yu'd notice the diff liao! A more solid feel...noticeably faster stopping, too! :)

No regrets...sure wan!

yeah.... braided brake hose wont increase the grip of ur brakes... it only helps to transfer the pressure from brake pump to calipers more constantly, especially at sudden braking....

thanks for the compliment.... last time jam break b4 and the car still like slow response... hope it can help on emergency cases...