DIY My Simple CAI.

Originally posted by CK82@Mar 18 2005, 16:59
may i know where can i buy the hose :huh: ? what is the price for diameter 2 inch and length is 2 feet? thanks :lol:
i also use air con hose... buy at air con shop...

This is my friend's wira aeroback 1.3 GLI DIY CAI. B)

Replace the CAI pipe and connect to the stock air box.
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/4636/picture457fd.jpg

Wrap with Superlon, make the CAI pipe tight on with the air box.
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/2286/picture467bs.jpg

The CAI pipe going down.
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/9311/copy1ofpicture438nw.jpg

Pass by battery area.
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/748/copy1ofpicture441mc.jpg

The end of CAI pipe. (Air input)
http://img202.exs.cx/img202/3590/copy1ofpicture423yu.jpg

B) B)

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 21 2005, 22:05
ooh.. same as mine.. hehe :P B) hose diff color niah
[snapback]828642[/snapback]​
Yup, it working good with stock air filter....the sound are diff...and abit faster responce on 1st gear. Thanks. B)

but i've diy a funnel as the opening...i found that more dust n insects r stuck in my air filter wo...any advise sifus?

Originally posted by DJgErM@Mar 23 2005, 09:57
but i've diy a funnel as the opening...i found that more dust n insects r stuck in my air filter wo...any advise sifus?
[snapback]833032[/snapback]​

Normally wat i do was, do check my engine bay frequently....especially air filter area. B)

yah.. when u do CAI.. it will be like dat... so open up ur filter often n check for dirt.. blow it clean by air gun... if filter too dirty just change it..

then u can change to those washable wan.. :)

it'snot necessary to have the opening placed behind the bumper.. do like mine, in the fender area.. the air there is equally cool as the air outside..

why does urs come out from the side ah?? the lubang (where the air goes in) is heading the front one kah?? :unsure:

slk850,

how did you mount the hose to the airbox? Some superlon and double sided tape i assume?

beware of the heat.. i might drop-off when the heat melts the adhesive on the double sided tape..

well.. if u install ur CAI hose in front of bumper... then de air going in will be faster cos it is forced into it.. when ur car moves.. then it create some higher pressure in ur airbox..

am i rite?

Originally posted by drexchan@Mar 23 2005, 15:01
slk850,

how did you mount the hose to the airbox? Some superlon and double sided tape i assume?

beware of the heat.. i might drop-off when the heat melts the adhesive on the double sided tape..
[snapback]833946[/snapback]​

From the Pic i posted, you can see if without superlon wrapping the CAI pipe. There are small gabs around the pipe between the air box. So, after warpping the pipe with superlon and tigh it by cable tigh.
Then push the pipe out abit from air box so that the superlon will fit ngam ngam from the air box's hole. No double side tab needed. B)

Hope my words dun confuse u all. :P

fred,

CAI means optimised combustion because got colder air. (colder air means denser in OXYGEN!)

for those who got prob wif insects.. flowers n stuff suck in.. put netting at the mouth of the pipe...

can lower down de percentage of water tryin to enter also.. ehehe.. but there is still posibilities of water goin in la..so when rain drive slowly.. = safe for ur car n safe for urself..