Diy Oil Catch Tank

servo, wanna ask you. Since the function of the OCT is to not allow oil to flow back into the intake manifold, why still connect it back there? why not just connect it to the OCT and do not connect it back to the intake manifold? And I see some ppl connect a small breather to the engine. Is it where I position it? Will that increase performance?

wait.... to answer my own question, if I set up like this, there won't be any pressure to suck the oil into the OCT also izzit?

servo, wanna ask you. Since the function of the OCT is to not allow oil to flow back into the intake manifold, why still connect it back there?
-because the vakum pressures made by intake/carb that carry over the oil vapour(venturi effect)that were not burn completely during internal combustion...try dis....pull out the hose on the rocker cover...and start the engine....u can felt a vakum pressure on it...it meant to suck anything inside the head...isn't it???

why not just connect it to the OCT and do not connect it back to the intake manifold?
-wat u gonna put there??there no venturi effect....no suck anything....your Air Fuel Ratio will be too lean....engine seem gonna die....but in normal RPM...just shacking....

And I see some ppl connect a small breather to the engine. Is it where I position it? Will that increase performance?
-it just an engine breather..coz usually went ppl change to open pod filter......the re were not connection back to the open pod..not like stock standard.........increase performance??not sure...maybe ur engine easy to breath la....same like our nose.... :D

OCT can be defined some thing like filter la.....petrol filter......

some say it will help to not 'UPSET" ur AFR...... ;) ..article bout PCV

Positive Crankcase Ventilation (PCV)

Positive Crankcase Ventilation is a system that was developed to remove harmful vapors from the engine and to prevent those vapors from being expelled into the atmosphere. The PCV system does this by using manifold vacuum to draw vapors from the crankcase into the intake manifold. Vapor is then carried with the fuel/air mixture into the combustion chambers where it is burned. The flow or circulation within the system is controlled by the PCV Valve. The PCV Valve is effective as both a crankcase ventilation system and as a pollution control device.

PCV systems have been standard equipment on all new cars since the early sixties. Prior to 1963 PCV was only used in California. There are a variety of PCV systems used on various makes and models of cars produced since 1963, but all function essentially the same.

PCV systems can be described as either open or closed. The two systems are quite similar. However, the closed system in use since 1968 is more effective at air pollution control. The systems differ in the manner in which fresh air enters the crankcase and excessive vapor is expelled.

i hav done my DIY OCT just like the one using petrol filter..
however.. i follow some by using the cooking gas pipe.

now i notice one problem.. when my car idling... the vacumm so great until the pipe is kemek.. flatten coz of the vacumm. it seem that is cant hold the vacumm pressure to keep the inner hole in shape. worry it may block the flow.

this happen most especially around the head tat connect to the PCV valve and the inlet to the intake manifold.. hot ma.. so i insert some round spring into the pipe made by myself using those wire buy from hardware shop.. but still the rest of the part still suffer the heat and pressure.

i guess we gotta use those proper vacumm pipe (Rubber or PU). where can i buy it in cheras area? help pls..

i think i need change some of the other vacumm tube too.. notice some of the rubber one start to crack and harden.

Originally posted by SagaVR4-4g63t@Aug 11 2004, 09:12 AM
Okay, we have heard of how to setup OCT. But no one talks about how to clean the OCT. So guys, how do you clean your OCT inside?
if use petrol filter... change new one... if made from metal.. use petrol cuci :P

broadica... if your budget allows.. get those silicon based hoses...(usually in blue, red or yellow in color) RM25 i think can kao tim your OCT hoses already.

yeah bro..i using petrol filter as my OCT for like 3 month liao...i using rubber hose too...yup it will kemek BUT dun worry, just the hose didn't kemek all along i think is ok coz my one it just kemek a small portion after the pcv which i didn't insulated it with the extractor thermal wrap...
oh yeah..from my exsperiences when u see ur whole fuel filter is black and got oil stain leaking out from the side FASTER CHANGE IT!! it indicate sudah full...i lazy change it and really ur engine like werid weird one...for my engine every two month change one..

for the hose either u use silicone like wat ezwong suggest or u can use the black fuel hose very cheap one u go motor shop or spare part shop ask..stronger and wont kemek.

happy DIY

ezwong: where to get those PU hose ? especially blue.. hehe

escaflowne: thx...
well.. everytime i open my bonnet and check.. it always kemek when idling.. when rev.. it will expand.. then i try put my hand on the breather tube.. the vacumm pressure become less ler.. thats why i hand made some spring from metal wire and insert into the tip where it connect to the pcv and the intake manifold.. this way it cant kemek... then after a day... further down the pipe kemek pulak...

fedup.. remove the damn thing.. worry it will make it worst. b4 reinstall.. i better get those tube first.. i buy my petrol filter for RM8 ler.. i see some say 5.90 .. where to buy? feel cheated.. i buy from my local spare part shop. sankei made in japan one.. for inswra petrol filter.

i buy also 8 bucks lerr..i know is 5.90 lazy bargain with the fellow..
i also planning to change to fuel rubber hose for my next OCT service...

broadica>>ur OCT very fast collect alot of black oil??? my one damn fast lerr..dunno my engine.

oh yeah! u use gas hose.make sure no leaking, cuz sometime the clip althought u screw tight but u still can hear the vaccum hssing sound...my safety percaution is use silicon to seal the two inlet and outlet of the fuel filter after my tube is screw on it.....

escaflowne: well... my petrol filter dun get any oil yet.... all is in the gas pipe i use.. just weeny bit on the filter inlet.

hmn.. since it been remove i just throw it in my trunk now.. haha
i think we better get proper tube.

ezwong: hmn.. thx.. any place reconmended? cheap and easy to find the location.. me in cheras.. not very familar wif all the places in KL

hi guys, i just diy a OCT to my wira.. i bought the fuel filter (iswara)for rm4.5 and usa made hose bout 1metre cost for rm 3.5... :P
thumbs up for the person who cames out this idea and save me few hundread bucks.. hapi diy..

Is there any effect if I use this OCT for my standard 2002 year 1.5i Wira? Is it good to use or no need for for my car.

thx

I will be making a very Good Looking Oil Catch tank around next week..
Gonna be large and look like BOMB..
Made out of alluminium..

Originally posted by ksgoh@Sep 6 2004, 07:14 PM
^n3mO^, can u show some pic on ur diy project?? :P
ksgoh.. sorry.. no digital cam le.. simple onli, take out original pvc hose then just plug in the two hose connect to the fuel filter.. make sure the hose not too long to the connection just slightly longer than the original hose.. really can catch oil.. gd luck..

Originally posted by johnsonlam@Sep 6 2004, 08:11 PM
I will be making a very Good Looking Oil Catch tank around next week..
Gonna be large and look like BOMB..
Made out of alluminium..
the OCT tat u made got filter inside anot.. if not oso no use le.. :huh: