[DIY] Superlon + Bitumen

hello guys..

now I start the project to install the bitumen + superlon ..

but just wanna to know actually the bitumen is for what purpose??

the superlon for soundproofing rite .. then the bitumen for what??

thanks guys

talam_buruk

well bitumen is for soundproofing also :)

it's like this:

SuperLon, in it's lesser density(compared to bitumen) and thicker, blocks low-frequency sound waves (like exhaust and road drone)

bitumen, commonly used in your floor pans anyways, are great for high-frequency noise like sand hitting metal (chassis la) rain, etc..etc..

ya...if can, do the both....:)

talam_buruk, u have done ur soundproofing already.....don't forget to share the result....

i have completed 4 doors, it is much quite now, i can hear the external noise has significantly reduced. I pasted bitumen at first layer (use a lot) and superlon as second layer (10mm).

Now plan to do fender, coz i still can hear a lot of tyre noise.

Originally posted by awesome88@Nov 13 2004, 21:37
i have completed 4 doors, it is much quite now, i can hear the external noise has significantly reduced. I pasted bitumen at first layer (use a lot) and superlon as second layer (10mm).

Now plan to do fender, coz i still can hear a lot of tyre noise.
you applied to the door panel or to the door frame? and which superlon did you use?
6mm or 10mm?

sorry ksgoh, did not take pic, coz rainy and messy work. I applied bitumen to the inner door and pasted 10mm superlon on top of the plastic rainy plastic. didn't use glue, just use the door to tighten it, screw back, kau tim.

Originally posted by talam_buruk@Nov 12 2004, 23:48
hello guys..

now I start the project to install the bitumen + superlon ..

but just wanna to know actually the bitumen is for what purpose??

the superlon for soundproofing rite .. then the bitumen for what??

thanks guys
hello talam_buruk..

welcome to this thread n lets share ur soundproofing experiences here ok?
best if u can post pics here... :lol:

enjoy ur stay here... ;)

eh, khguan, me also consider newbie here leh, y nv hear u greet me like that huh??? (kidding, coz sian sian nothng new 2 post, dun get mad huh! :) peace!!)

hi khguan, i am working inside UPM, perhaps can meet up to share the soundproofing experience.

Originally posted by SuperDuper@Nov 15 2004, 03:23
eh, khguan, me also consider newbie here leh, y nv hear u greet me like that huh??? (kidding, coz sian sian nothng new 2 post, dun get mad huh! :) peace!!)
wei.. dun la cemburu.. dat time mayb i very bz mah.. i can still remember when u joined this forum.. dat time i very bz posting msgs mah... kekeke :P

nvm lar... i also treat u good wat... give u somany info on soundproofing... :P :P :P

Originally posted by awesome88@Nov 15 2004, 09:19
hi khguan, i am working inside UPM, perhaps can meet up to share the soundproofing experience.
oh really? which part of upm u working? as wat?
good to hear dat... :rolleyes:

u saw my car in UPM b4? anyway.. if u c me drive like initialD n pass by ur front n frighten u.. pls forgive me ah... :P :lol:

ksgoh, yes, i am lecturing soundproofogy in UPM, haha.

khguan, i am in UPM-MTDC.

Originally posted by khguan+Nov 15 2004, 17:34 -->
QUOTE (khguan @ Nov 15 2004, 17:34 )
--QuoteBegin-SuperDuper
@Nov 15 2004, 03:23
eh, khguan, me also , dun get mad huh! :) peace!!)

wei.. dun la cemburu.. dat time mayb i very bz mah.. i can stillon soundproofing... :P :P :P [/b][/quote]
eh, nothng woh! just kidding only mah!! still dun hav d chance 2 thank u 4 all
d advise u gav leh!! thANk U, SIfu!!! :lol:

Originally posted by awesome88@Nov 15 2004, 19:25
ksgoh, yes, i am lecturing soundproofogy in UPM, haha.

khguan, i am in UPM-MTDC.
wah.. an isolated place... i've been 3 years in UPM n i havent been there...

well mayb one day we can yamcha at tmn sri serdang.. :lol: B)