do u know what a dyno is for??

ae92levin

i had a conversation with my fren on msn and damn frustrating. quite a good read.

WWXWW - The art of hand and leg - How I missed it says:

really?

i would have tot that with all the mods that u did u'd expect more increase

esp from xaust n cams

insomniac says:

thats about 12% increase

insomniac says:

increase with cams alone

i tot u did xaust aso?

n pod filter?

well yeah i guess 10% is ok

10hp sounded a little small but 10% more like it

insomniac says:

as in i got the initial dyno reading after doin exhaust pod filter etc

insomniac says:

i compare the 2 readings

send ur dyno chart n see

insomniac says:

well actually the 10hp increase is the cam gears alone

u gain most where?

insomniac says:

coz initial run also had the cams in already

how much did the dyno cost u?

insomniac says:

dyno n tune $330

oh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh u tune asooooo

then u should have got more than 10% quarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

insomniac says:

my car not turbo lar

insomniac says:

but i got increase tru out the whole rev range

insomniac says:

10HP

insomniac says:

its a 1.6 NA dont forget

yeah but a tune in itself should give u somewhere around 12% increase

+ cams n xaust in tuning expect a little more?

oh well

insomniac says:

depends what u tune la

insomniac says:

if u get fully prog ecu ofcoz

insomniac says:

mine is just cam gears and safc

insomniac says:

i did the initial run after doin cam shafts n exhaust etcc

insomniac says:

he only tuned cam gears and safc

not for xaust?

y not?

insomniac says:

exhaust how to tune??

did u tell him how u wanted it tuned or he just did it for u?

tune ur settings for increased air flow mahhh

otherwise the settings all still running according to standard flow rates

insomniac says:

dude its modify for increase air flow

insomniac says:

note what TUNE means

hopefully u car won't run rich

insomniac says:

air flow depends on ur engine design dude

insomniac says:

increase air flow needs to change stuff

insomniac says:

this is purely tuning!!

insomniac says:

besides air flow is already good on my engine

yeah but u increased it whatt

guess should be ok ler

how bout torque figures for ur car?

improved a lot?

insomniac says:

how did they TUNE in increase air flow??

insomniac says:

im curious

beacuse engine combustion runs a certain amount

restricted according to how much airflow incoming and outgoing

if u have more air going means u can run more fuel in as well

so if u tune for the increase air flow u can improve performance by burning more fuel quarr

and even on outgoing if u can't output as much burnt products, ur engine won't overdo it quarrr

if got higher capacity for output u can increase if u want quarr

insomniac says:

so how did he TUNE it for that??

program ur ecu to change engine settings mahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

insomniac says:

how can ecu change air flow??

insomniac says:

HOW???

insomniac says:

go find out

insomniac says:

try getting a thermodynamics text book

insomniac says:

u will see that air flow is based on port and angle design

change ecu fuel mappppppppppppp

insomniac says:

so how can ecu change the design??

so u can run more fuel into engine

insomniac says:

a car runs on optimum at stoichometric air fuel ratio

insomniac says:

so changing ecu mapping is changing the amount of fuel goin in based one how much air

insomniac says:

the air volume remains constant

if u improve the air flow means u got more air going in rite??

insomniac says:

dont see how u can change air volume unless u change throttle body, piping, exhaust manifold, bigger valves etc...dont see how it can be done by tuning

if u have more air going in and the same amount of fuel u have going in as when u didn't improve air flow, that means the ratio changes

right?

more amount of air is going in during the same period of time now compared to when u didn't improve flow rite?

insomniac says:

so how do u get more air goin in frm tuning??

insomniac says:

ur not making any sense dude

i'm not saying change air flow by tuning

insomniac says:

yes u were

i'm saying change the fuel map by tuning to accomodate the increased aif flow

read what i typed again

insomniac says:

which part?

insomniac says:

u said increase flow frm the start

i said u have increased flow rite?

u told me u added pod filter to ur car and changed xaust rite?

brb tapau food

****half an hour later****.

u geddit now?

insomniac says:

u didnt get it

insomniac says:

u said tune for airflow first

insomniac says:

then u change ur story say fuel mapping

yeah i said tune for increased airflow by changing fuel map!!!!!

insomniac says:

changing fuel map doesnt increase air flow

insomniac says:

actually it might

insomniac says:

tuning a car is all about increasing air flow!!

i said u modded ur car to increase air flow rite???

insomniac says:

its like saying the sky is blue

so i said BECAUSE u modded it, u should TUNE for it by CHANGING fuel map

haih...................

insomniac says:

actually its like the car already has increased air flow, ur tuning the fuel now

insomniac says:

so theoratically tuning refers to the fuel!!

finally u geddit...............................

now i can go eat my supper in peace.............

ttyl stomach calling

Would really interested to know the real facts....

When the pros do the tuning what are they likely to adjust ?
Fuel mapping ? Fuel regulator pressure ? Boost level ? Ignition Timing ?
or what ??? Really wanted to know the real thing....

which one is you? one deserve a good ass whoopin and one need to improve on his explanation instead of trying to make the other person understand what is tuning :D

sound pretty much like me when i'm back in high school.. arguing with some friends over something hehehee.

im still like that... never good at explaining and very bad at agreeing with ppl's view.

DUDE! what does mine say?

SWEET! what does mind say?

DUDE!!!! now what does mine say???

SWEEET!!! now tell me what mine says!!

DUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUDEH~

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTAH~~

grrrrrr :mad:

relax. it happens. its rare that 2 ppl can understand each other perfectly (even when they dont show it). its a funny read when u're not in the conversation hahahahha

I guess there's not much else that you can actually fine tune without taking off or changing something.

I know in a carburettored car they would change the fuel needle and the throttle to do some backyard tuning. Timing might be possible if they know the cam gear/sprocket well.

In fuel injjected car, most of the fueling and ignition tuning are done by changing the mapping. The cam gears can be done the same way.

Not too sure about fuel pressure regulator. All I know is it regulates the pressure on the return line so that the pressure going to the engine remains constant. Forgot the exact working. But the pressure level depends on your application.

Boost level not familiar. I guess it goes back to the ECU again.

And sorry, I'm not a pro. Just another gatal forummer.

fuel press regulator? it regulates the amount of fuel returning to the tank from the system (hence pressure).

?? still confused?

imagine a garden hose with the gun-like trigger. if you open the tap say just a quarter, when you press the trigger say 1sec, it will squirt a small amount of water. but if you open the tap fully but still press the trigger for 1sec, it will squirt a bigger amount of water. now imagine the tap as a fuel pressure regulator and the gun-like trigger as the injector and you will get the point... i hope.

the most important is ur own feeling of the improvement performance...

some dyno chart do not measure well accurate...tats all i can say..heheh..dont shoot me...

haiz... dyno for wat lar... s long s u feel ur car is fast, then ok la... action speak louder than written mah... dyno result so high oso no use,if u dun on the run owes...

Funny la u guys, i have no friends in msn who can argue this kind of thing one..can make ur day hahaha :D

jaywat said:
Funny la u guys, i have no friends in msn who can argue this kind of thing one..can make ur day hahaha :D

it was a very dissapointing night!! i was studying for exam the next day. first this guy pops up and takes alot of energy off me, then i turned on the tv onlny to see formula 1 racing with only 6 cars, then i went for exam and copied my frens work in exam!! hahahaha

alexz said:
fuel press regulator? it regulates the amount of fuel returning to the tank from the system (hence pressure).

?? still confused?

imagine a garden hose with the gun-like trigger. if you open the tap say just a quarter, when you press the trigger say 1sec, it will squirt a small amount of water. but if you open the tap fully but still press the trigger for 1sec, it will squirt a bigger amount of water. now imagine the tap as a fuel pressure regulator and the gun-like trigger as the injector and you will get the point... i hope.

Yeah, but remember that self-correcting ECUs like Siemens will regulate the PWM signal to the injectors. If you increase the fuel pressure, you'll run a little richer. Run it too rich, the ECU will back down the PWM duty cycle and fire your injectors for a shorter duration, so your fuelling is down again. You will see improvement if you increase the fuel pressure a little. Put too much or too little, the ECU will compensate by modulating the PWM duty cycle (based on detection of too rich or too lean a mixture at the exhaust).

ae92levin said:
i dont think u can TUNE ur car for increase air flow

Haha.. yeah, that's true. You tune like hell also you can't increase air flow!

You MUST change stuff to increase airflow. Tuning can only affect how the engine generates power via combustion, for example

1) tweaking the air-fuel ratio. 12.6 for maximum power, 15.8 for maximum fuel efficiency, 14.7 for stoichometry.. AFR can be tweaked between these figures to get the desired results.

2) tweaking ignition timing - how many degrees to advance the ignition, in case the air-fuel charge is not percussive enough

3) tweaking the valve cycles - how many degrees overlap; when do the valves open and close with respect to piston position

That's all tuning.

More than that, it's modifications. e.g. forced induction or swapping throttle body/intake manifold to increase airflow, replaced fuel injectors for heavier fuelling, swap out ECU for totally different air/fuel maps, etc.

jswong said:
Haha.. yeah, that's true. You tune like hell also you can't increase air flow!

You MUST change stuff to increase airflow. Tuning can only affect how the engine generates power via combustion, for example

1) tweaking the air-fuel ratio. 12.6 for maximum power, 15.8 for maximum fuel efficiency, 14.7 for stoichometry.. AFR can be tweaked between these figures to get the desired results.

2) tweaking ignition timing - how many degrees to advance the ignition, in case the air-fuel charge is not percussive enough

3) tweaking the valve cycles - how many degrees overlap; when do the valves open and close with respect to piston position

That's all tuning.

More than that, it's modifications. e.g. forced induction or swapping throttle body/intake manifold to increase airflow, replaced fuel injectors for heavier fuelling, swap out ECU for totally different air/fuel maps, etc.

you can increase airflow with tuning maa by 3) Tweaking the valve cycle. If you make a bit of valve in/ex overlap you can increase flow :)

A/F reading depends on petrol . good petrol can run leaner with more power.:) so 12.6 is sometime too rich for power

Sweet...what does mine say? :D :D :D :D