Drive Shaft lubricant leak

richardtan

Dear SiFus, :wavey:

My draft shaft seems like having some problem. I went to a workshop for maintenance and was told about this problem and the repair cost quoted me was too much for my budget. I can still drive the car without problem. I could not tell there was a problem before the servicing. So, i decided to find out more about this problem before going for repair.

I have posted some pictures of my driveshafts on Flickr as shown:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/46467342@N04/?saved=1

I was told by the workshop that both suspension also have to be changed. But they look perfectly ok from the appearance and i do not feel any problem driving the car. As i am not an expert, this is just my personal layman opinion.

Hope to get some comments from Experts here if
1. my drive shafts need to be replaced entirely or just the 'rubber' that contains the lubricants.

2. any sand could have gotten into the exposed 'joint socket' and if possible, how should the repair be done? clean up the whole joint by removing the lubricant and any debris or dirt and then replace with a new part?

Also,

what are common reasons for this kind of problem? Is it due to my driving style?

Thank you for reading.

sincerely
Richard Tan :driver:

the driveshaft boots koyak alrdy...

replace it with new driveshaft boots and regrease it asap if u don't want to replace the driveshaft joint(head) because it running on low grease now and dirt might got in there...both of it will kill the joint in no time...

good luck...

Dear Blank, :wavey:

Thanks for reading my question and for your quick response.

May i know does the process of replacing the boots include clearing the drive shaft joint and 'inner constant velocity joint' (a term i found on the net, which i assume means drive shaft joint?) when regreasing the joint ?

I mean, its likely that sand or small stones could have got stuck in the joint or lubricant. So, i have no experience in this and wonder if it is possible to see how much , if any, damage has been done to the joint areas.

Sincerely
Richard :driver:

just clean the inner of c.v joint with some petrol...rinse it with water...dry it by using air blower...squeeze certain of amount of new grease to the inner c.v joint and the driveshaft boots...clip the outer(big) & inner(small) boots the two steel circle clips...you're done!!!

:biggrin:

Dear Blank,:wavey:

Thanks for your excellent advice.
Will definitely remember to request the mechanic do the mentioned.

Thank you for reading my problem. :driver:

Sincerely
Richard Tan

no problem...:biggrin:

oh...forget to mentioned the grease just now...

use only c.v joint grease...