Economical Cars

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

fUnc

Hello guys,

First of all, I did try to search but couldn't find topics related to this so I'm starting one. :idea: :idea: :idea:

Currently I'm looking for the most economical vehicle to move around town.
Well, my requirements are simple.
First and the most important point, has got to be fuel savvy.
The car has got to be automatic transmission and can fit 4 adults comfortably.
Cost no more than RM50,000 for a brand new car and RM25,000 for a used and less than 2 years old car.
No need for large luggage compartment. Just enough to bring stuff back from shopping :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Power wise, just moderate.
I hope you guys could reply me in this form.

Car make/model :-
Engine Capacity :-
Fuel Consumption :-
(please state in RMxx/XXXkm term)
Type of driving :- Slow/Normal/Fast/Madcow

Please be reminded that the car has got to be automatic transmission.
Don't need information on manual ones cos definitely won't be getting it.

Cars that came accross my mind are Myvi, Viva, Savvy (yeah I know it looks fugly), Proton Persona, Naza Sutera and Kelisa.
Please do list down other makes if there are any.

Thanks in advance guys :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

:hmmmm: I think Myvi or Savvy would be a good choice. I drove Myvi before with 5 adults and i found out that it is a perfect family car but lack of power. A good choice :biggrin:

Viva will be a lil too small for 5 adults. And with a RM50K budget, I would say you're just a little amount away from getting a long-term reliable car. Personally, my cousin drives a Myvi and It costs around RM50/RM60 for 400km++ drive. Proton Persona..it's still new.. I dont know if I should recommend you this or not.

Myvi would be an ideal choice I believe depending on your budget. It actually has much wider sitting capacity from looking at it from the outside.

RM25K for a used and less than 2 years car would be most likely difficult in my opinion. Unless its not accidental free :D

However, since you're from KL, i'll just recommend you Myvi :D If you think it's still lack of power go do overhaul :D.

You could consider Toyota Ipsum as well.. Although I dont know how much it costs. I heard its around RM50K+ to RM60K+ but I'm not so sure about this.

Or Toyota Avanza if you can fork out some extra $$ *kaching*.

Or Mitsubishi Airtrek. Not sure the $$ though. Just my opinion :) Hope this helps.

Savvy is your choice... below 50k now..
FC superb.. town drive just 12 cent / km (max) only....
Myvi FC not as good as u think...
Viva.. not at your choice as u want 5 adult load into the car..
Persona.. no need to think as my fren have Auto version.. 1km 20cent town drive...
Avanza.. 7seater car.. still ok but new one 1.3 also more than 50k liao...
Airtrek??? second hand near to 100k le.. for turbo.. non turbo.. at range 70k...

Go for Savvy...
Full bodykit with AMT Met RM45,841.25 discount 3k for the highest spec...
cheapest manual 39,927 discount 3k...
Good luck...

Ipsum is not under RM50K. In fact no brand new toyota is under the 50K bracket at all. Whats more an Ipsum is an imported model.

Though savvy looks good on paper with cheaper price. The seating is a little smaller than Myvi ones. Physically Myvi is also bigger than Savvy. Though the AMT savvy is quite fun and the car is suprisingly fast and manuverable. But AMT gearbox on savvy is fairly new. I wonder how it would hold up.

From your requests, Myvi is the only way to go. It is quite easy to get cheap parts for Myvi too. But in this case, if maintenance is not much of a concern, A savvy would be a good choice.

Hello again,
Thanks a lot for the input but I think I need to straighten some info.
It's for 4 adults. Not 5.
Not looking for a huge car/mpv guys. Don't need to suggest bigger cars like Avanza, Ipsum, Airtrek etc.
Just an economical car with good fuel consumption and moderate power.
Myvi brand new car is around RM46,XXX OTR so that falls within my budget.
But I will need the fuel consumption information on this car.

QuickRide,
What "long term and more reliable" do you have in mind?
Also the Myvi driven by your cousin is auto or manual?
As far as I know, RM50 could hit 400km for a manual Myvi.
But I need info on the auto ones

mag9556,
Savvy eh? Will look into it but dont really have trust in the gearbox though. And the looks, some how :puke: :puke: :puke: :biggrin:

Guys,
Please do give some information on the fuel consumption of the cars you guys have in mind. Thats the most important point. Please feed the info in this form

Car make/model :-
Engine Capacity :-
Fuel Consumption :-
(please state in RMxx/XXXkm term)
Type of driving :- Slow/Normal/Fast/Madcow

Thanks again guys.

Savvy is your choice... below 50k now..
FC superb.. town drive just 12 cent / km (max) only....

Please never quote FC in cent/km.
The fuel price is increasing everyday. You don't know which year it was measured.

Please quote in Litre/Km as a standard

last time top gear or what name i forget they review the most economical car is hyundai getz. still below 50k brand new. monthly 4xx only. saw at motortrader.

Buy a Wira Diesel and run it with used frying oil from KFC. The more lemak the better. :biggrin:

Please never quote FC in cent/km.
The fuel price is increasing everyday. You don't know which year it was measured.

Please quote in Litre/Km as a standard

my fren.. indeed fuel increasing everyday but boleh-land different la..
still at the same till now but next year dun knoe la and now we are discussing about current... future? dun care la... no matter how much increase also we cant control what...

mag9556,
Savvy eh? Will look into it but dont really have trust in the gearbox though. And the looks, some how :puke: :puke: :puke: :biggrin:

Savvy Gb? heard AMT problem been solve but need to knoe much go to SAVOC for better info...
the looks arh? depends on what actually in your mind lo...
Good Luck...:biggrin:

Need more input of other cars guys.
Visited Myvi club forum and found out on average, most of the 1.3 Auto rides are giving 400km out of RM60 (at RM1.92/L). Thats acceptable to me. Some get even 400+km/RM50+ of fuel.

Now I'm going to need more input for other rides.
Savvy, Getz, Sutera, Kenari, Viva and other fuel savvy car owners please help me out.

I'm not really power-hungry for this car...just more fuel savvy than my current ride. No matter how powerful a car is, once you get stuck in jam, they are all the same :burnout: :burnout: :burnout:

Buy a Wira Diesel and run it with used frying oil from KFC. The more lemak the better. :biggrin:

Brings KFC smell throughout the neighborhood when go rounding.:rofl:

Get a Myvi and covert to NGV if you are somewhere near a natural gas station with less taxis queues. :biggrin:

Myvi is not a fuel savvy vehicle.. rm60 means about 30liters/400km is what most 1.5/1.6 injection AT/MT cars are running at.. like proton,mitsu, honda.. but difference is.. these cars hv better torque,hp,handling n more room space than most Kei-kAR mentioned here.. n myvi is 1.0 n 1.3

Myvi FC is not that good,its the car it self is an actractive package.. got looks,comfort room space,decent power,economical maintenance.. so.. most ppl fall for it...

but to compare in terms of FC/room space/daily work car or as family car.. id say Proton Waja will spank the Myvi back to school... only it doesnt hv the cool hansome mini suv look..

If you put the budget wise aside... from my experiences n comparisons.. the best FC would BE Toyota Vios, Honda City and Proton Savvy...

n i dont rate it just for its FC, but its quality n reliability as well.. while the savvy is much of a young flare to it n less room space compare to vios n city.. the vios n city are popular choice now a days for pensioners.. but it doesnt mean its an old folks car n for poor ppl.. even well of retired folks would trade in their old continentals for the vios n city.. thrust me.. these 3 models REALLY.. REALLY saves fuel... sumtime you cANT even remember the last time you top up fuel for it..

some kids/grand kids can also steal using the car at night n go 'air eating',yamcha,TT n return witout top up fuel n still dad n grand pa at home wont notice anything the next morning..

I really suggest get one of these 3 models.. save up n squeeze a bit to get the vios or city.. i know its a bit expensive.. but the good mileage it will make is not only on d roads..

if you dun mind buying a 2nd hand car, then u should consider the nissan sunny..powerful yet economical..i have a 23 years old b11 & it is still running steady till todate..the prob wif malaysian cars is the quality & engine performance..if u are lucky it will last u for 5 years tops..unlike the sunny it will last u like forever if u maintain it well..good luck in deciding

how bout satria neo ??
heard it's cutting off the owner's throat ehh......

Hi again,
Thanks for all the response. Keep them coming! :adore: :adore: :adore:

LuKa,
I know City and Vios saves fuel but budget wise, it stretched way too far. For the additional of RM30,000 (or more) I could have used that money to pump petrol for years :biggrin:
I think Myvi saves more fuel than typical 1.6Auto sedans.
Owned one 1.6A sedan and compared with a few more of other makes and I think Myvi still saves more fuel than those cars (though not by hundreds of KM, but still...)
Hows the consumption like for Waja auto? Sat on the manual one before, and yeah it saves fuel. But I'm afraid the auto ones will suck up a lot more fuel.
Another reason I'm looking for smaller car is because I'll be sharing this car with my sister and mom. So, not too huge a car should be better (yeah I know what if accident happens, they're just using it in the housing area to go to market, etc...so that should be alright)

crashb11,
In fact I have a 130Y sitting at home :biggrin:
Yeah it definitely is one of the most reliable and cheap car to own!
But the car is just too old. The interior and exterior needs major rebuilding and its gonna cost thousands. Engine has been converted to 1.5 though :biggrin: I seriously wouldnt mind driving that Sunny as my home-work-home car but the cost to rebuild the car is just not worth it.

dj_gti,
Did thought of Neo but I think the engine is the same as Gen2 right? So, I guess it just suck as much fuel as the Gen2/Wajas :biggrin:

most 1.6A efi engines saves fuel oledi.. If carb, it will consume a bit more..
y not consider a used vios/city.. other than dat.. the savvy is the best new car choice for u..

hehe.....honda city idsi.....
handling good....save fuel...boot's capacity is damn big~even bigger than my perdana...
so far my sis drive for 3 years....drive normaly and always go penang....
engine bay thr still dunhaf any problem.....

50k for new car...better drop to used honda city....hehe