Engine bays. Let's see yours.

shiroitenshi

Since I did spend some time cleaning up my engine before plonking it in my EG engine bay.. Let's see how our engine bays look like.

My other shell....leaves a lot to be desired (i.e. didn't bother with the outer look). ROFL, so pardon the focus on the engine.

Mine... Still needs a lot of work (and money, cough! cough!)
b16.jpg

Installing those headers without leaving fingermarks was a damn chore.. had to use washed latex gloves, so no oil stains.

Friend.. All JDM, except for that GE dipstick... whoops! I like mugen parts, but I don't exactly dig the mugen cover... but some people do say it looks good, so maybe there's something wrong with me.
Mugeneng.jpg

His mugen extractor is wrapped, because he got a couple of fingermarks permanently inked on it. His fingermarks. ROFL. Don't touch those shiney pipes! they get stained for life!

More coming.. If I can get more pics.

whoaaa shiny extractor... polish ke bang?? so u said u cleaned the engine thoroughly before doing the swap rite. u did it urself or wat??

lots of people in the US (read from different honda forums) do the transplant themselves in their own backyard or garage. not really the case here i suppose

amdfaisal said:
whoaaa shiny extractor... polish ke bang?? so u said u cleaned the engine thoroughly before doing the swap rite. u did it urself or wat??

lots of people in the US (read from different honda forums) do the transplant themselves in their own backyard or garage. not really the case here i suppose

Do it myselflah!! (the polishing, took about 2weeks, did a bit, stop, did a bit, stop, etc.) you think the workshop willing to do something like that ah? Only the transplant is done by the workshop, since I don't have a lift or a jack that can lift the front end high enough... to drop it in from below. Somemore looking at the plugs and wires enough to make me pening already.

Actually can do trantsplants yourself.. if you have second car.. transplants (if you want it done properly, can take up to a week since you'll probably disassemble it. Somemore, even if you're guided by the B16manual, the wiring's a mess of plugs... errr.. so I leave it to the people who do it for a living.

Yeah.. I polished the extractor before mounting it on the car. 1200 grit sandpaper, since the original japanese owner also had itchy fingers.. touch here touch there... fingermarks all over! Ick!

I had to ketuk myself the edges of the dust shield behind the disc brakes also, since it was bent by the chop shop, they stored it improperly.. it was bent badly, had to carve a shape out of wood to base the shape on.

eater_eg6 said:
hehee...just share .. :)
ENGINE.JPG

Nice!! Very clean engine bay! Love those grounding wires.. must get oso... once I have money.. ROFL! I'm thinking at least HKS or SUN auto grounding+voltage stabilizers... What's yours?

I scored the carbon fibre cover from a DC2 (as the owner said it).. somehow.. the owner liked the standard one better.. so I got me one.. I didn't know honda made carbon stuff... (O_O)

shiroitenshi , im using the taiwan cap ayam grounding.. :) honda got oem carbon stuff ??? i dun think so wor.. :)

just sharing.. like u also!..

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/76526

h.prelude bb1.

H22A Dohc VTEC type S

crower intake valves
crower exhaust valves
crower retainer
crower springs

* others TOP SECRET

eater_eg6 said:
shiroitenshi , im using the taiwan cap ayam grounding.. :) honda got oem carbon stuff ??? i dun think so wor.. :)

Aiyah.. just a bunch of wires.. some people will go.. wah! not ori part!.. for me... whatever works, JDM, USDM, TDM (Taiwan Domestic Market! LOL!) as long as the part is well built, I'd buy it.

Actually I'm wondering if it's true or not that honda makes carbon parts.. since there's a lot of information from various sources.. pandai pandai tapis lah..

I don't think honda ever made carbon parts too.. mugen, maybelah... but seriously, I've never seen a mugen carbon part.. got ah? (did browse tru the 2006 catalogue, but didn't really remember, since mostly were K20 stuff.)

Have to check futher.. I think I kena con about it from being from a DC2 type-R. (of course, the owner was driving a DC2R, and he did take it off in front of me. I bought it because it still looked new, and it's real carbon, not those sticker knockoffs, sometimes it looks gray, sometimes look black.. My previous picture, it turned out gray, this one it turned out almost black.. strange!

shiro,

why on earth did u say that it'll leave fingermarks on the extractor?
u can always polish off the the marks with autosol......

n the plug cable cover is really from a DC2.
to be exact, it's from a 98 spec Type R DC2. n also FYI, it's not real carbon fibre. just CF look.
haha..... but i liked it very much...ps. i have one too.....

i'm still in the process of cleaning my engine bay....
what did u guys do to make it so clean? or they were cleaned during transplant?

yes, mugen full bucket seat is made of carbon fibre....

ya, i wanna know too bout which plce to go to to clean engine bays....
dun wan those tat use water n clean....haha

xxxx said:
shiro,

why on earth did u say that it'll leave fingermarks on the extractor?
u can always polish off the the marks with autosol......

n the plug cable cover is really from a DC2.
to be exact, it's from a 98 spec Type R DC2. n also FYI, it's not real carbon fibre. just CF look.
haha..... but i liked it very much...ps. i have one too.....

i'm still in the process of cleaning my engine bay....
what did u guys do to make it so clean? or they were cleaned during transplant?

Some other guy autosol'ed his... the gold tint became uneven, and on some, got bluish tint... By doing it slowly with fine grit sandpaper, Even after turning gold, still can see my face on it.. ROFL.. I'm really happy with the result, and it was definitely worth my time to do it slowly and intricately.

You can try a shot of engine degreaser to clean the engine.. the more expensive ones make the black oil come out like peeled paint (after you wait for a while, lah!). Then, you can:

a) use a high pressure spray to hose it down,
b) use a narrow scraper to scrape the stubborn stuff off, or a hard bristle brush for those slightly stained parts.

Of course these things are not plastic, rubber and gasket friendly.. best not use it on plastic, rubber parts. I took out the parts I can take out, and the rest.. I wrapped in aluminium foil and taped the edges. of course, the tape melted, and I ended up scraping some up with a penknife. Score 1 mistake for me. Oh, and I did it with the engine out of the engine bay.

Prepping the bay for painting took 2 weeks.. hired a guy to do the prepping (he scraped till bare metal) and painting. (Didn't have time!). the bill came to RM950 with paint costs. 600 for the prepping, and 450 for the paint.. or was it the other way round? (Tossed the bill, in case my family finds out what I've been doing with this some of this month's paycheck and last years bonuses.. ROFL!)

The gearbox isn't really clean, since I sent it for a rebuild (oops.. on second thought make that servicing.. didn't really change anything.. just got the innards checked and if need be replaced.. also installed the R LSD in) and it came back in time just when the engine was about to be mounted in.. so slightly dissatisfied with that, but I'll probably clean it when I'm installing a lightweight flywheel and clutch.

And thanks for the info about CF spark plug cover.. It's not real CF? Man.. honda knows how to tipu people oh! (>.<)

i go to the car wash centre in the giant car park in puchong bandar puteri... :P but he use water one wor.. :P after that they put something like wax on the engine bay.. :P

eater_eg6 said:
i go to the car wash centre in the giant car park in puchong bandar puteri... :P but he use water one wor.. :P after that they put something like wax on the engine bay.. :P

how much did it cost? The thing about using water (high pressure ones) is takut electronics 'kantoi', esp if you have a FPR (fuel pressure regulator) or other misc electronic stuff (voltage stabilizers, etc)

That aside, they did a nice job on yours!

i forgot how much d .... around rm7 or 8 like that..... they just use the plastic bungkus the dristibutor n the air filter.... i dun hav FPR n V.stabilizer... :P hehehe

mrbear said:
just sharing.. like u also!..

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/76526

h.prelude bb1.

H22A Dohc VTEC type S

crower intake valves
crower exhaust valves
crower retainer
crower springs

* others TOP SECRET
Ho! H series.. I haven't met any H22 players here in Kelantan.. at least not the ones that mod the innards of the Hseries... My first choice was the prelude too, but got discouraged after hearing about the power to weight ratio.. but regardless.. I like the sporty look of the prelude..

eater_eg6 said:
i forgot how much d .... around rm7 or 8 like that..... they just use the plastic bungkus the dristibutor n the air filter.... i dun hav FPR n V.stabilizer... :P hehehe

That's cheap! For me.. I like DIY, so hehe.. when I have to change the clutch, I'll probably do more cleaning..

The engine bay looks new on mine, but the outer shell.... KANTOI!! ROFL!

i like to DIY too....haha but if they use water then i dun wan la...haha
i knowa place that uses chemical to clean ur engine bay...but costs about rm40....
will go there if no one recommends other places....

as for the CF, it's the same as those EK's interior.....i think dunno EK9 or VIR-s version that comes with CF interior......those are CF look only also....haha....