engine blew!

pimpin323 said:
iyo i'm looking at around 5k la guys. basicly its gonna be a new b6t engine. basicly this is the plan.

-new pistons/rings
-overbore the block abit(engineering charges)
-new bearing set(crank,conrods,etc)
-new gaskets seals(hopefull can fix that leaky dizzy)
-new/old crank shaft(from a miata engine)
-using old conrods
-engine balancing
-same gearbox
-same c/head
-labour for taking the engine down and workman ship yada yada
-180 cold side turbo upgrade
-front mount i/c

the only problem i'm worried about is sufficient fueling and if the stock ecu can give enuff juice. a new management system is out of the question. maybe a piggyback just to fine tune. not looking for crazy hp just a reliable ride. 200hp target hopefully more torque.

What do u mean by 180 cold side upgrade? means hybrid with VJ20 cold side?
And u doing a FMIC there?
I am running hybrid VJ20...
If you planning on running at 1 bar, most probably wont get 200hp...(I dynoed before).
But its near....maybe at 1.2 bar... :)
I havent tried it cause money went to another project :)

fordb6t said:
What do u mean by 180 cold side upgrade? means hybrid with VJ20 cold side?
And u doing a FMIC there?
I am running hybrid VJ20...
If you planning on running at 1 bar, most probably wont get 200hp...(I dynoed before).
But its near....maybe at 1.2 bar... :)
I havent tried it cause money went to another project :)

yeah its gonna be a hybrid. yeah i'm trying to achive the 200hp mark. but i'm allready getting 170++ 1.0bar with my current engine. pakai elec boost controler. hopefully with the vj20+fmic+pump upgrade/regulator+balancing+some sort of fuel management can get there. i've allready got a good flowing ekzos just need to do the down pipe thoe. iyaa more money.

i know...seen your car and dyno figures...shouldn't be a problem to get 200hp with VJ20 R15 cold side...

pimpin323 said:
yeah its gonna be a hybrid. yeah i'm trying to achive the 200hp mark. but i'm allready getting 170++ 1.0bar with my current engine. pakai elec boost controler. hopefully with the vj20+fmic+pump upgrade/regulator+balancing+some sort of fuel management can get there. i've allready got a good flowing ekzos just need to do the down pipe thoe. iyaa more money.

Great to hear that.
Let me know how things goes at GT.
I once had a bad experience there.
I am sure a lot of ppl say that it is a great place there.
But I experience one time, cukup lah
:)

very technical la, their very uptodate with new management systems and engine performance stuff. maybe can arrange a mazda dyno shootout day? maybe get around 10-15 cars? will try and nego a good price.

not good seems that most of my valves need replacing too. took some pics of them.

i thought u were gona change your pistons in your initial plan too?!

the pistons, some dent marks done by the valves
http://www.socialslacker.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/2%7E22.jpg

the valves
http://www.socialslacker.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/3%7E19.jpg

http://www.socialslacker.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/4%7E17.jpg

pimpin323 said:
the pistons, some dent marks done by the valves
http://www.socialslacker.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/2%7E22.jpg

:cool: By looking at tis piston combustion condition n rings side, it shown that engine was quite seriously out of tuned.
What type of tuning gadget you adjusted d mixture n ignition with tis engine?

pretty old system, from what i heard its the 1st gen efi system. ran the car on stock ecu. no tuning gadget. i knew the car was running rich from a few dyno test. but it was safe cos the engine was stock the only thing i changed was an air filter and a full 2.5" exhaust. since i'm upgrading pump, pistons, fmic, etc, now i'm going for a powerperfect smt6 to fine tune the a/f. not going for haltech. i'm not going to waste 6k on a 12k car for management. cheers.

pimpin323...err...did u do the rebore thing?? if so, where did u do 'em?

azwan : its not really such a big rebore just a slight one. any engineering shop can do this. you gotta send them your block and pistons and the rings together. i dont know where gt auto sent my block to, but i used to send my old austin mini block to a mechine shop somewhere in segambut dalam for bore'ing, skimming, basicly any engineering to be done la. normally any industrial estate or where got alot of workshop should have 1 or 2 engineering shop.

muz : engine in allready. gotta start the bitchup. check for leaks. tuning the smt6. but cuz the engine is new so this 1st tuning wont count la. then its off to ah heng in usj to do the downpipe and front mount intercooler. i think sure sangkut 1 week. then back to gt auto for tuning with the smt6. with the fmic. after that i gotta clock at least 2000km on the bitch just to be on the safe side. after that its off to the track to clock a new time.