Engine Oil Consumption

Opel,

I doubt so but what are the tell-tale signs if the cylinder gasket is kaput?

All piston rings will wear out. It is just a matter of how soon.

Mr. Franklin Reick, award-winning lubrications' scientist and Tufoil inventor ran thousands of tests using the 4-ball apparatus to determine the effect of friction in causing wear on bearings. In his findings, the least wear came in the form of a lubricant that had a 5% mixture of Tufoil added.

Luxury car owners do not use 'cheapo' oils like us yet there are many whose rings have to be changed after 4 years. Extended oil change intervals, poor quality oil filters, high engine heat and prolonged idling caused by traffic jams are the main culprits that cause rings to wear out prematurely thereby causing a loss of engine compression and horsepower.

You can read some reflections on piston rings under Tufoil Trivia in the ZTH Forums.

since when top overhaul changes your piston rings too? they only change valve seals, ur head gasket and some other oil seals. your block is untouched cos it's a TOP overhaul.

my "pomen" charged RM300 for top overhaul labor (inclusive of port & polish, valve adjustment and hours of valve grind). u need to find a new "pomen".

given 2 oil..same visco

10 - 30, but one is mineral another is syn. base.

so wats the diff?

one has less additive than the other. additives being friction reducer.

Whoaaa......RM300 is freaking cheap for port & polish leh! where's your 'pomen' located at, coldfish?

Originally posted by KevMarea@Mar 24 2005, 14:17
Dear sifus,

I really need some advice on what to do here. I'm currently driving a 1.5 Wira 2001, currently has done 86,000km. Problem is that the engine seems to be consuming engine oil. My last service is only like 3,500km and the level from the dip stick has shown a drop of half level i.e. Original=3/4 of dip stick; Now = 1/4 of Dip Stick. My exhaust doesn't show any smoke to indicate oil consumption even if the engine was revved at stationary (funny though).

My mechanic told me to do a top overhaul, suspecting the piston rings etc. is giving problem already and rough cost is like RM800!! Besides the piston rings, is there any component that I should be aware off that could contribute to this problem? Should I spend such money on this job or do a port-polish instead at the same time?

Thanks.

Kev
[snapback]836800[/snapback]​

use kerosene last longer can give u better mileage

can intro me to your foremen? in need to change my metal gasket, and do a compression test...

Originally posted by KevMarea@Apr 4 2005, 17:46
Whoaaa......RM300 is freaking cheap for port & polish leh! where's your 'pomen' located at, coldfish?
[snapback]867401[/snapback]​

KP Motor
Lot 2609-2610, Batu 10, Jln Cheras
43200 Kajang
Tel: 90762323

'Pomen' = Eric Tong

This guy is really really good. My entire family's cars go there since 1998. However, regarding the port n polish, he doesn't do it for everyone. He has been my trusty 'pomen' for the past 7 years thus he will never say no to me. If you're a first time customer, just try your luck. I recommend u go for an oil change there and see what kind of labor he charges. You'll be amazed.

One time I brought in my old FTO for top overhaul and a gearbox change and labor was only on the low 3XX (dun remember exact figure).

There is a master mechanic at Kayu Ara. He is also a Tufoil customer.

With 28 years of overhauling engines, Euthanasia, you can check him out.He is Tan Ah Lai and known to most diplomats in Kuala Lumpur for his former workshop was located in Damansara Heights.

Tel: 03 77259620

Best of luck.

Just a tip from us. Before reassembling the engine parts, brush them all with Tufoil and not some kind of cheapo oil from a sauce bottle. And once you start the engine for the first time after the overhaul is completed, you will be greatly amazed at the transformation.

Ok, thanks for the contact coldfish.

Focalpoint : Before I start to dismantle and do top overhaul, I will just try to use back the normal mineral 20W-50 grade oil + tufoil for a start. It's still a cheaper alternative for the time being for me. Btw, how is Tan's charges?

Kev, just mention my name, Focal Point the Tufoil guy, and don't you worry.

Master mechanics like Tan are now an endangered species. It is easier to find a Tapir than to find one like Tan these days.

yo, focal point, thanks for the info, he service proton or not? Mention Focal Point can edi? He knows u by Focal Point?

well, 4 year old car with 86,000 kms requiring an overhaul? That is bad. That shows the quality of Protons. making poor people like us poorer. but i am not surprised, they cannot even make power windows properly, so can't really expect them to make quality engines either. For the record, my friend's 11 month old Gen2 has had 7 power window changes....yes 7, TUJUH, 3 radiator changes and now, power steering leaking. and now i hear full overhaul at 86,000kms. Looks like getting nearer to the Guiness World of Records already.

Anyway, personally , i would go for an engine swap. a little more expensive and troublesome, but can upgrade at the same time.

Master mechanic Mr. Tan. Interesting, i would like to check him out. It is always a pleasure dealing with good, knowledgeable, skillful, enthusiast mechanics.

Focal Point, some questions

1. What is his specialty? What cars he works most on?
2. Does he speak good English? Can he read and write? Sorry if you may find this offensive, but this is one criteria that is my priorty when choosing my mechanic.
3. HAs he got the access to factory manuals on the cars he works on?

Aircooled, if Tan doesn't speak English, the diplomats would have taken out their Glock or Barettas under their armpits and shoot him in the buttocks!

There are 4 brothers in the business. They overhaul cars like nobody's business.

It is because of the chronic traffic jams that destroy engines and the unhealthy extended oil change intervals that people like the Tan Bros keep on grinding until 10.00 pm from Monday to Saturday!!

Focal Point,
Alright, thanks a lot! Nicely put on the tapir finding statement....hahahahaha....

Aircooled,
Oh well...there's nothing new about their quality anyway. I've heard of my fren's Waja, 3 of them, who always compare notes when they meet up i.e. "Your door handle has broken before?", "power window automatically dropped ah?" etc. ...those kinda stories. But I now only hope that my problem is due to the engine oil which I'm using now, could be too thin. I'm gonna do my next service, change back to thicker oil and monitor once more. If this doesn't help, then it really leaves me no choice but to do a top overhaul. Besides, mine is not the serious type where there's white smoke coming out from the exhaust. Just that the oil consumption is a little bit way too high.

Why are we even complaining about Proton QC? i thought thats a widely known fact? :P Anyway, i just needed to have my gasket check to see if its leaking. And also if a top overhaul is necessary...I've just clocked 95k km on my 4G93P on my GTi.