engine oil

eddie368

Wanna know about the hi rev engine oil. my mech ask me to use hi rev 15w 50 semi syntectic for my wira 2000. Is it good the hi rev brand? or anyone can suggest any brand tat is good for wira car. but wanna use semi syntctic la.. tq

eddie368 said:
Wanna know about the hi rev engine oil. my mech ask me to use hi rev 15w 50 semi syntectic for my wira 2000. Is it good the hi rev brand? or anyone can suggest any brand tat is good for wira car. but wanna use semi syntctic la.. tq

15w50 is not for NA..more for Turbo engine

...use 10w40 or 5w40....

if Q8 semi 10w40 is rm89 in the market per 4litre pack

hi rev is fine.but if u have more money then go for better grade oils. :)
for a normal oil change, that brand would be sufficient.

Hi all,

I am using 5w-40 fully syntenic for V6 engine. That is more smooth at high rev. ( Tahan Panas)

Morning start is easy 5W mak.

Just sharing.....
the engine oil is depend on 5W40,10W40 ( Front is for winter , Rear is for Hot ).
So what you need to buy just follow you requirement and driving condition.
I think the quality is following the price also.
0W30,5W40,10W30,10W40,15W50,20W50
Castrol,shell,Mobil one, petronas, BP ( BHP now), Q8, Mitsubishi ori and etc.

Hope you can find one suitable for your car.:shades_smile:

I have been using hi rev engine oil for my 2 cars. Semi syn for avanza & mineral for iswara 1.3 (2001). So far engine perform quite smooth and silent. responsive during high way drive. Also it quite cheap compare to other renowal brand in the market.

Waaa, you're good, 6 years old thread dug out.
I had the reverse experience with Hi Rev. Once I filled my 4G13P with Hi Rev Semi, it was so rough. Even the engine sounded better before the oil change.

some frens using told me the same things too...waja n wira...sound rough....

but for other cars, seems ok.....

so i think it depends on car

they using hi rev semi 6340 model 15w40

use 10W40 semi syn good enough already(highly recommended for na/soft turbo)! if 15W40 semi syn usually for diesel/diesel turbo(good for gasoline cars too if stated C*/S*)

I have been using hi rev engine oil for my 2 cars. Semi syn for avanza & mineral for iswara 1.3 (2001). So far engine perform quite smooth and silent. responsive during high way drive. Also it quite cheap compare to other renowal brand in the market.

Maybe my next service will switch to eneos semi. heard a lot of good comments about tis..:wavey:

i would recommend to all that whatever version of car it is and whatever type of engine it is i always prefer to use CASTROL ENGINE OIL AND will say others to use this. the engine works absolutely smooth its life gets increased it cost a bit than other oils but its the best as its not just oil its liquid enginnering.

Click on this Get more info.

10w-40 Castrol Magnetec for your wira. U wont regret it. Im currently using it and it is smooth and easy to start

What you think of the Engine up oil ppl?, i saw this and i want to share with you and ask for your opinion.

http://motorsportnetwork.co/showthread.php?144-Engine-Up-Engine-Oil-Sucks!-Nearly-damage-my-car!!!!

Engine Up ah... look like some kind of fake blue pill, you car will get stroke any time after using it.

http://eolcs.api.org/

:rolleyes:

Newbie with 1bhp comes in and disses a brand. Brand sabotage? Either way, if it's not API certified don't use it.

The malaysia engine oil market is like rojak... to many brand, too many fake...

however, when is too good to be true... you need start wondering ...