evo 3 0r 4 or 5

satria xli

i bought satria 1.6XLI (A) about two years ago..now im thinking of swapping the engine to evo 3/4/5 because i encountered some problems with the original engine..

can some1 tell me...

1.which of the evo engines fit into my car...

2.another problem is that i dont know anything about the engine and the type of transmission that i need to use.. please help...

evo 1, 2, 3 fits. 1.8 GSR also fits.

Please get a full half cut swap instead of buying parts by parts. Halfcut includes everything except the chassis, which means everything inside the engine bay, the brakes, and if you're lucky, dashboard and absorbers.

dude,
u cant fit an evo 4-9 into ur engine bay, unless if u do a full mods. coz it has transverse mountings..
i saw a wira last time with an evo6 engine, but i think its not worth it..

4g63 vr4, evo 1,2,3 should be juz nice..

soggie said:
evo 1, 2, 3 fits. 1.8 GSR also fits.

Please get a full half cut swap instead of buying parts by parts. Halfcut includes everything except the chassis, which means everything inside the engine bay, the brakes, and if you're lucky, dashboard and absorbers.

good input, soggie :_:

since u r live at brunei,why swap?car are so damn cheap over there!u can get cheap evos for 40k brunei dollar only!!!convert to malaysia ringgit baru jer 80k huhuhu:X-: jz got back fr brunei recently for job interview,damn car over there are so damn cheap.i wish i'll got kerja over there hehe :angel_smile:

if u want to convert u can choose Evo1,2,3.no major mounting mods needed.and also vr-4.GSR 4G93T can also.buy skyline la bro.cheap la brunei hehehe jz my 2cents :_:

wira chassis cannot put E4 above engine..... gsr,E1,2,3 u can put...

E4,5,6 can put waja..gen2

DewA_LavaU said:
since u r live at brunei,why swap?car are so damn cheap over there!u can get cheap evos for 40k brunei dollar only!!!convert to malaysia ringgit baru jer 80k huhuhu:X-: jz got back fr brunei recently for job interview,damn car over there are so damn cheap.i wish i'll got kerja over there hehe :angel_smile:

Brunei government rich....tat y many nice car...tax r cheap i guess

DewA_LavaU said:

ya la car damn cheap but roads damn short wei nowhere to run the car hehe =) unless u the sultan of brunei la - they close the fuckin highway down for him 2 run his bloody ferrari hehehe!

waaa... it's like a dream to me..
wonder if u cud drive ur car here if u liv in brunei and bot it there..
like dewa_lawau, if he gets a job there.. and he buys a car there..
wud he be able to drive his car back here..let's say.. every weekend?
i neva see a brunei plated car here b4.. @.@

thanx guys..im thinking of swapping to evo 3..its true that all the new cars here are quite cheap but im only an undergraduate, cant afford to buy new cars, and thinking of the interest rate and monthly installment are also a headache to me hehe.. btw i have few more questions ..

1.is it easy to find the engine (particularly in Miri)?

2.how about fuel consumption?

3.how much hp and torque would i expect from this engine?

4.will the frame of the car be twisted(i dont know about this actually) in conjunction to the acceleration produced by the engine? if yes, how to overcome this problem?

5.what's the optimum size of rims and tyres do u all advise me to use?

6.is there any problem that i would expect(such as leaking/ overheating)?

7.how about the size of the exhaust piping?

thanx once again for sharing your ideas guys :)

1 - if there's chop shops there..u surely can find it.

2- not as good as a kancil's.u shud ask evo3 owners.:_:

3- i think its about 250 or above.try to google the engine specs to get a better answer.

4- that shud not happen if the convertion is done properly.u can try getting an engine damper.

5- i dont think there's such a thing:_:

6- with any turbo engine..overheating..boost leaks..spikes..are surely to happen if u do not care for ur engine.monitor them.

7- not too sure...

satria xli said:
thanx guys..im thinking of swapping to evo 3..its true that all the new cars here are quite cheap but im only an undergraduate, cant afford to buy new cars, and thinking of the interest rate and monthly installment are also a headache to me hehe.. btw i have few more questions ..

1.is it easy to find the engine (particularly in Miri)?

2.how about fuel consumption?

3.how much hp and torque would i expect from this engine?

4.will the frame of the car be twisted(i dont know about this actually) in conjunction to the acceleration produced by the engine? if yes, how to overcome this problem?

5.what's the optimum size of rims and tyres do u all advise me to use?

6.is there any problem that i would expect(such as leaking/ overheating)?

7.how about the size of the exhaust piping?

thanx once again for sharing your ideas guys :)

1. miri?ada2.try to search at halfcut shop around piasau/krokop area.quite a few there.but the price i dont sure.but in btu here around 5k(vr-4)

to answer question 2,3,4,5,6,7.dude,u will got a headache later on.summore u have to locked the 4wd to 2wd,which u'll lose power.again the halfcut condition not as what u think.u lucky la if can get the good one.if the old one?aiya headache.hey u brunei which part?i've already got my job at gadong.hehe :X-: juz survey2 car yesterday.found nice condition subaru imprezza version 8 at only BD38k.convert RM only 80K.huhuhu.cheap2.perhaps we can hang out?:angel_smile: :shades_smile:

alien said:
waaa... it's like a dream to me..
wonder if u cud drive ur car here if u liv in brunei and bot it there..
like dewa_lawau, if he gets a job there.. and he buys a car there..
wud he be able to drive his car back here..let's say.. every weekend?
i neva see a brunei plated car here b4.. @.@

of coz i can drive back to malaysia,i mean my hometown bintulu la hehe :_: me still looking2 survey2 my dream car.perhaps can find a cheap-good-looking-low mileage nissan skyline GTR(finger crossed!).a lot of GTS model at here.hmmm.

DewA_LavaU said:
1. miri?ada2.try to search at halfcut shop around piasau/krokop area.quite a few there.but the price i dont sure.but in btu here around 5k(vr-4)

to answer question 2,3,4,5,6,7.dude,u will got a headache later on.summore u have to locked the 4wd to 2wd,which u'll lose power.again the halfcut condition not as what u think.u lucky la if can get the good one.if the old one?aiya headache.hey u brunei which part?i've already got my job at gadong.hehe :X-: juz survey2 car yesterday.found nice condition subaru imprezza version 8 at only BD38k.convert RM only 80K.huhuhu.cheap2.perhaps we can hang out?:angel_smile: :shades_smile:

hey, thats cool..im staying at lumut (Blait), going to and fro UBD (not far from gadong) everyday...maybe we can meet sometime to discuss abt car mod..perhaps i cud learn more from u..

oh btw, which dashboard do u all think best suite and will look cool in my satria, my original dashboard (GTi style), evo 3 or mirage? if it happens to be not my original, will the other 2 options fit into my car w/o touching the door panel (i dont know what u call it)

satria xli said:
hey, thats cool..im staying at lumut (Blait), going to and fro UBD (not far from gadong) everyday...maybe we can meet sometime to discuss abt car mod..perhaps i cud learn more from u..

sure no prob dude.i'm also a learner/beginner in car mods.can u leave me ur contact num?:shades_smile:

to answer question 2,3,4,5,6,7.dude,u will got a headache later on.summore u have to locked the 4wd to 2wd,which u'll lose power.again the halfcut condition not as what u think.u lucky la if can get the good one.if the old one?aiya headache.hey u brunei which part?i've already got my job at gadong.hehe juz survey2 car yesterday.found nice condition subaru imprezza version 8 at only BD38k.convert RM only 80K.huhuhu.cheap2.perhaps we can hang out?

Locking to 2wd lose power? You kidding me? Less 2 wheels to drive and u tell me that's a loss of power? Its less transmission power loss lar since there's only 2 wheels to drive.