Evo 6-9 Owners

Stormvolution 9 said:
HanJackaL,

Hey fren, dun worry lar... Of cause not all turbo cars especially Evo r heavily modded or being too hard core!!! Mostly 'only' upgrading air intake systme, full exhuast system + ECU n mayb sport cams as well...

As for a Vtec to beat a turbo car there r lot of ways to do it... Most of de turbo cars such as Evo (1.4ton), Scooby (1.4ton), GTR (R34 1.6ton) n etc do hv heavier body than NA cars... Dun forget tht Power to weight ratio play an important role in car racing too! :biggrin:

cyilaw, Hey brader, no problem lar... B18C-R wil not hv hard feeling lar... Hahaha... He is a frenly technical guy!

wei storm9, saw an evo 7 being modded to 500hp in n1 sunway lah!!!! looks like for road use....saw last last week b4 deepavali week

new hks turbo n intercooler, oil cooler looks new also.

silver_car,

Oh yeah, lately myself oso saw quite a few Evos being done up nicely... All up to 500hp man... HKS GT3037 turbine kit is getting popular nowadays... Really wonder how they drive de car, 500hp for Evo is very very POWERFUL man... Dun play play!!! Hahaha... For street use, i guess it wil b very dificult to drive ler... :tongue: Wonder how many times on de road de turbo can b fully utilised hor? But oso heard tht with a proper tuned F-Con V Pro, de GT3037 turbo wil not face any lag at all... Dunno how true izzit?

Stormvolution 9 said:
silver_car,

Oh yeah, lately myself oso saw quite a few Evos being done up nicely... All up to 500hp man... HKS GT3037 turbine kit is getting popular nowadays... Really wonder how they drive de car, 500hp for Evo is very very POWERFUL man... Dun play play!!! Hahaha... For street use, i guess it wil b very dificult to drive ler... :tongue: Wonder how many times on de road de turbo can b fully utilised hor? But oso heard tht with a proper tuned F-Con V Pro, de GT3037 turbo wil not face any lag at all... Dunno how true izzit?

i think can loh, if properly tuned lah.

personally i would prefer the low to mid range to be turbo lag-free than when the power comes in at high rpm...ada turbo lag.

see how the tune n dyno lor. i have seen from some magazines, the torque goes up in an almost straight line to high rpm....looks very good man.

or maybe a tomei ecu? hrd tt it plug n play?

HanJackaL said:
What does "Balanced" engine mean? How can you "balance" an engine ? Also, can someone tell me what parts make the Engine Block and Head ?

To answer some of your questions, an engine can basically be divided into the head and the block. The "block" is the bottom end which includes the block, pistons, crankshaft, con rods, flywheel, oil sump, etc.

The "head" is the top part you can actually see when you look at the engine bay. It's where the cams, and valvetrain (valves,springs,pulleys, etc) live.

Balancing an engine is kinda like balancing your wheels. The object is to make sure the spinning parts of the engine spin as smoothly as possible by physically altering the weight distribution of the parts.

When balancing wheels, you add weights to the edge of the rims. But when balancing an engine, you remove bits instead. Typically the crankshaft, pistons and conrods are the parts you "balance". The crank is shaved or filed in certain places to remove excess weight, improving balance when it spins.

In the case of pistons, they are shaved or filed to ensure they have near identical weight. Of course, it's impossible to have all pistons weighing exactly the same, but you can get pretty close.

hanjackal, senzr answer liao.....

S9 & Silver, no such thing as no turbo lag lar..especialy on a GT3037 ! You can reduce it but it will definately lag even with anti lag.

Lag is basically the time when the turbo fins starts spooling and compress air into throttle and the intake systems passing through the intercooler and piping. You need time for the spooling to start compressing until the effect of the 'boost' which basically translates to the pressure you've set to boost. Naturally with larger turbo, the inertia behind the Big fins is higher (heavier fins) and that's why the lag is less
on a Titatinium fins turbo. It reduce the time to 'response' the moment you accelerate
as the fins are lighter.

Anti-lag works by keeping the turbo fins spooling even when idle but is quite difficult to eliminate turbo lag. Reduce it is of course, possible.

In a nutshell, all I can think of is to use baloon as a example. Imagine you got to blow a small baloon vs big baloon...etc.

Well as for me, whatever car a person drives and modify it properly it will be fast. Why must ppl compare n/a and turbo? And most of the time ppl like to beat turbo cars? Human nature. Its like asking a MRS to compete with a NISMO 350Z in Super GT

In my opinion, if a person want to compare, or out do each other, do it within the same class. N/A takes more time and money to really make it fast and for Turbo, at times it cost much less. The simple fact would be, if a person has more money, then that would be the fastest car be it N/A or Turbo.

We should compare with cars in same category. The experience shared would be well learned.

Thats my opinion and sorry to bother the past conversation..

500hp on street car , the car Fuel economy muzz be really good , 40 cents/km maybe ? Wonder how much he spent on the car . I remember watching the 400hp version Evo from top gear to have less than 10mpg . 500hp version ? lolz ..really drink water

the power has to come from somewhere. bigger turbo, more air, more fuel = big power:smile: ! i wonder how it drives in traffic crawl, like federal highway. i suppose you need heavy duty clutch to handle that sort of hp

oops...sorry guys, it seems tt the super evo 7 i saw in n1 is actually modding for track days. saw new intercooler n big turbo to 500hp. also saw a roll cage inside. cool man.....