.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

hi, wanted to ask some advice. i hardly to find 2" branded muffler. but if choosing 2.3" muffler for 1.5L NA engine, will it suitable?

changed to 2" extractor(4-2-1), removed catcon. mid pipe/resonator still original.

dats wat my mech said to me...
i guess last weekend those shop already haf cust and dun want to entertain me.
coz i know its a hard job...need to remove my bumper, remove the header...

how much does it cost?
really they are willing to do it?

coz jian hang is quite far from my place...huhuhu!

if im not mistaken, he charged rm60 for 2 cracks meaning rm30 per crack. yeah they are willing to do it if there isnt lot of cars to do. at jian hang, they give what u want, of course they will offer u new header but if u insist on fixing it, they will do it

---------- Post added at 11:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:42 PM ----------

guys, i have just installed a hotbits 4-2-1 extractor and had to cut and make a new flange fitting on the original stock piping.

My question is, is it suppose to sound so raspy?its raspy around 2200-2600rpm but before or after that its ok.

Or is it possibly leaking.

its raspy due to resonant of the waves and usually accompanied by drone in the cabin, so its normal. u can get rid of it by custom a side branch resonator

---------- Post added at 11:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:53 PM ----------

hi, wanted to ask some advice. i hardly to find 2" branded muffler. but if choosing 2.3" muffler for 1.5L NA engine, will it suitable?

changed to 2" extractor(4-2-1), removed catcon. mid pipe/resonator still original.

can custom muffler to ur spec need at supercircuit sunway, quality is assured. im using one myself and very satisfied. price wise is reasonable

Japan made exhaust vs Malaysian made exhaust

I know the local made exhaust is definitely is not the same in terms of quality, build, material used and others. But by how much? Let's say a brand new exhaust from Japan is RM3000++. Could cost a lot more. Local made exhaust is below RM500. It's quite a big difference in terms of price. But is the differences in quality, build and others are as big as that?

And how about the comparison between those two exhausts in terms of performance which is my main concern.

I have also learned that the fibre tend to wear faster in the local made exhausts as compared to the branded original exhausts. How long can the local made exhausts last compared to expensive ones?

Would appreciate if anyone could shed some light here. Many thanks in advance.

Edit: Oh ya, i know original titanium exhausts are damn light too.

my friend has been using a local RM250 replica muffler for years.... fiber everything still intact.

even sounds like the ori

i have never used japanese imported mufflers but local quality exhausts are not bad, just need to ask them what they put as absorbing material, if u want a longer lasting muffler, look for more steel wool or ceramic packing as it does not melt easily, full fibreglass can stand less heat abuse like in those cheap yellow exhaust shops mufflers. It usually comes in ratio to save cost i.e. 30% steel wool 70% fibreglass, i have never seen a local made muffler with 100% steel wool packing, do share if u do

for a straight bullet and straight flow muffler, u can guess the packing material by observing the perforated pipe inside. u can usually see steel wool jotting out a hair or 2 from the holes indicating steel wool packing is being used, and if u see whitish sponge like at the holes then its probably a fibreglass. they usually put steel wool as 1st layer because it is the hottest at this layer, only then coat it with fibreglass to fill up the rest of the void. so if u see fibreglass on 1st layer, chances are it is a full fibreglass with no steel wool at all

performance wise on straight bullet and straight flow muffler, i dont see how japanese can be so much different because it is basically a straight pipe with holes and absorbing material covering it in a stainless steel case. given then same pipe diameter and dimension, i think both local and japanese has similar performance. if the holes on perforated pipe on local made exhaust is not well done i.e. has protruding edge and not smooth, flow is impeded so the japanese will perform better. i dont think u get this kind of manufacture defect on japanese imports and this guarantee is why we have to pay more

not to mention the import duty, market hype and consumer demand for having "original japan made" items making the price even more expensive

on a sidenote, i think we should stop this obsession over "made in japan" thing coz in a way it gives conman a path to con people by manipulating "made in japan" label, he only needs to say "this item is from japan" and we can suddenly stop hesitating on the quality

my humble opinion only, correct me if im wrong

I'm glad to know this. Thanks madman and upontheriversky. I just bought a cheap straight flow muffler yesterday. Of course it looks cheap. But that's not my concern. I was more worried about the performance and sound. Sound is a little too loud. I even tried the replica twin loop and s flow muffler. The s flow was too quiet to my likings. I've heard the original twin loop sound and i love it. but somehow i didnt like the sound the replica twin loop made. so i went with the straight flow.

I have to say that in terms of performance, its very much better than the stock muffler i had. But i cant judge this as i've never tried a japan made muffler.

i have to agree with u that we should stop the obsession on japanese products. But i would say for many of us, its not actually about the obsession, its more about the peace of mind u get when u use good stuff. just my 2cents

I'm glad to know this. Thanks madman and upontheriversky. I just bought a cheap straight flow muffler yesterday. Of course it looks cheap. But that's not my concern. I was more worried about the performance and sound. Sound is a little too loud. I even tried the replica twin loop and s flow muffler. The s flow was too quiet to my likings. I've heard the original twin loop sound and i love it. but somehow i didnt like the sound the replica twin loop made. so i went with the straight flow.

I have to say that in terms of performance, its very much better than the stock muffler i had. But i cant judge this as i've never tried a japan made muffler.

i have to agree with u that we should stop the obsession on japanese products. But i would say for many of us, its not actually about the obsession, its more about the peace of mind u get when u use good stuff. just my 2cents

I doubt mufflers have much effect on the exhaust system as a whole, I would pay more for a Japanese extractor though, I really really wonder where our Malaysian cap ayam exhaust sifu's 'design' the extractors before sellng them :hmmmm: ...

Sigh... Same here... Plenty of cap ayam 5Zigen mufflers selling for RM 85 - 150. New and packed with fibres. But when pasang, the sound as if can drown a lambo zzZZ... Feel shamed when passing bu shops and don't feel peace whenver got jpj/police...

Here got replica twin loop also but I haven't tried. I really don't understand. Those japan on straight flow and cap ayam straight flow. But cap ayam damn bising. Even 2nd hand japan ones are quieter than new cap ayam...

it has to do with the packing material. i did what i have mentioned in previous post

inspect the packing material just behind perforated core, im done buying full fibreglass especially at cheap exhaust shops. i have used one for a month and it started deteriorating and my car does not even produce that much of a heat

Sigh... Same here... Plenty of cap ayam 5Zigen mufflers selling for RM 85 - 150. New and packed with fibres. But when pasang, the sound as if can drown a lambo zzZZ... Feel shamed when passing bu shops and don't feel peace whenver got jpj/police...

Here got replica twin loop also but I haven't tried. I really don't understand. Those japan on straight flow and cap ayam straight flow. But cap ayam damn bising. Even 2nd hand japan ones are quieter than new cap ayam...

Oh ya, no peace of mind when got blocks. That's why I tried to get the quietest muffler. But that was like no noise at all. So, I took a straight flow and to my surprise, it doesn't make that much noise even when speeding.

Nvm! Just go for the most extreme setup. When there's roadblock, just come down from the car and push.. They might even lend you a hand :idea:

Just disturbing :)

provided that the piping size and setup are choosen correctly local made exhaust also can perfom at the same level as import exhaust.....

matola is good enough wat... :biggrin:

Nvm! Just go for the most extreme setup. When there's roadblock, just come down from the car and push.. They might even lend you a hand :idea:

Just disturbing :)

use a variable exhaust... got roadblock... straight close ure exhaust...

anyway... for street driving... loudest exhaust aint the best for all... gotta keep the power band right....

You should go ben soon, he have one set of used titanium exhaust pipes for vtec.. damn light.. i think the sound should be nice too..

I did mine there. I even saw the J's racing titanium exhaust but can't fit my car. I asked him already but even if can fit I got no money to but it la. Damn expensive... :banghead::banghead: