external wastegate which sounds more ferocious?

A turbo has 2 outlets: the turbine outlet and the wastegate.

Gasses exiting the turbine outlet spool the turbo.
Gasses exiting the wastegate bypass the turbine blades, and do not spool the turbo.

On a stock turbo, the wastegate is internal, and is placed very close to the turbine outlet. So the factory downpipe can collect gasses from both the turbine and wastegate outlets. The problem with this is that gasses from the wastegate collide with gasses from the turbine, and therefore the exhaust flow is not efficient.

An aftermarket downpipe has separate pipes collecting from the wastegate and turbine outlet individually, therefore the gasses do not collide and flow is more efficient. BTW the pipe that collects from the wastegate is called the wastepipe. When it vents to atmosphere, it is extremely loud and referred to as a screamer pipe. When it plugs back into the main exhaust it stays more or less silent.

The benefit of aftermarket downpipes therefore is faster spool up (gasses flow out of the turbine faster) and less boost creep (gasses can flow freely from the wastegate).

normally K-car wastegate open at how many .bar ?

good one but i still dun eli understand..haha..too much of pipes oredi..im confuse oredi..anyway its ok cus i dun plan to go for any of them..jus to widen up my knowledge bout turbos..

Contributing my experiences about downpipe.

I have previously driven a fren's car, also B8T stock turbo, equipped with a smoother custom-made SS downpipe. Not sure whether the actuator flap has a different pipe or not; called wastepipe perhaps as according to Battousai.

When I rev his car, I did not feel the torque or kick from the seat compared to the original restricted downpipe. It felt like the car is going with some good power but no torque feel.

I dunno whether the downpipe was too large or what that could have taken away the torque feel.

Just my experience.

Good to see another B8 kaki here. Welcome :)

The problem with locally custom made performance parts is there's often little/no R&D involved, and I don't really believe in foreman's "black magic".

Originally posted by Battousai@Aug 6 2004, 11:25 AM
The problem with locally custom made performance parts is there's often little/no R&D involved, and I don't really believe in foreman's "black magic".
I've done my downpipe at Jiang Hang Exhaust Ah Wah and came out very satisfied. Then again, my setup is entirely different.

Originally posted by B8 Turbo+Aug 6 2004, 11:47 AM-->
QUOTE (B8 Turbo @ Aug 6 2004, 11:47 AM)
--QuoteBegin-Battousai
@Aug 6 2004, 11:25 AM

I've done my downpipe at Jiang Hang Exhaust Ah Wah and came out very satisfied. Then again, my setup is entirely different. [/b][/quote]
dude..wen put downpipe/wastepipe..u said ur setup is entirely diff as in how?
more power / lesser power compare to stock..kindly put before/after making the DP/WP..hehe..and how big is the DP/WP? 2" /2.5"/3" or etcc..

Originally posted by GSR5559@Aug 6 2004, 01:05 PM
dude..wen put downpipe/wastepipe..u said ur setup is entirely diff as in how?
more power / lesser power compare to stock..kindly put before/after making the DP/WP..hehe..and how big is the DP/WP? 2" /2.5"/3" or etcc..
From totally stock, I upgraded bigger turbo, banana, ext. wastegate, custom downpipe, & compressor pipe. Then I boosted the new upgrade to 1.2bar. At first it felt like the space shuttle taking off. Now getting used to it so a bit boring liao, but still good.

Sorry I cannot tell you the before/after measurements cuz I didn't measure it. The feel wise was incredible.

So my power gain is 2 fold from stock.

first of all....does stock standard gsr has a downpipe....second of alll...me upgrading to TD05 with internall wastegate.....can i fit externall one oso with the turbine..??? all the mahaguru and sifu pls help

the external w/g will be welded to ur xhaust manifold..am i rite..?? heheh

ext W/G can weld into stock manifold.........
wastepipe is good if ur not planning to upgrade your turbo to bigger one......
the sound of wastepipe also SHHHHAAAARRRRR........Even Vtec sound also kalah oo......... :lol:
Boost will spool faster than b4 n u can feel d increasing of torque....
just fr my xperience using it on my L200 turbo........i'm using 1.5" wastepipe n 1.7" downpipe.........performance is better than b4.....throttle more light n RPM go up more quickly..........

"Son, why your exhaust sound so loud wan? I think your ehjos bocor liao" :lol:

actually wht is the diff wif DP and WP ?
im still kinda blur le..the one is shooting to the ground is wht?
now im blur agan..sori vestax.eheh..cus kschu said 1.5" WP and 1.7" DP
why is dat so? isn it WP and DP is the same but diff name oni..
ok make things clearer..
WP connected to wher?
DP connected to wher?

TQ and pls dun grrrr me..

WP is throw gas out to the air after the turbo
DP is sambung to ur piping from front until ur exhaust .................

but if oni DP sambung to the exhaust will there be any sound like those WG (wstegate) prsshhh..or u need to WP oso to produce the sound..

for eg: this car is running on stock turbine ..den need to make the WG sound ..
wht the ppl will do to make the sound..isit custom made a DP and WP and sambung it one to the exhaust and other shooting to the air...am i rite?
but if without WP oni the DP ,will there be any sound coming out from the exhaust like WG..