Fans dun like Sepang F1 GP

BlackSamurai

9,000 RPM
The fans speak out

The FIA announced the results of the biggest survey Formula 1 ever made. The sport has very loyal fans the investigation pointed out. Most fans like Monaco and Spa-Francorchamps the most, but the new tracks are far from popular. The fans also would like to see more action on track.

Apart from the new tracks that fans don't like Magny-Cours (France), Sepang (Malaysia) and the Hungaroring (Hungary) are not popular at all. The most loyal Formula One fans we can find in Japan. 87% of the people that entered the survey tries to watch all races on TV.

What the fans would like to see most though is more overtaking. They also think there should be more emphasis on driver skills. Apart from that the fans would love to see more teams joining the Formula One circus.

FIA President Max Mosley commented on the results of the survey: "Fans from all over the world agree that the most important challenge to F1 in the next five years is to maintain competitive racing. Many want to place more emphasis on driver skill and less on driver aids. It is also clear that the majority of fans are unhappy with the current qualifying system.

"These and other views will be an invaluable addition to the consultation process on the future rules of Formula One, which began formally this week. For the first time, fans' opinions will form an essential part of this process."

Hmm, what do you think Sepang is lack of? Beside the sexy F1 babe and sexy grid babe?

sepang has always been the least favourite track for some reason. i guess people just don't like the lack of challenge and predictable track. i wouldn't say this track lacks overtaking coz the back and main straight has all the opportunities but lets just say this track lacks the charismatic charm of an old european track like spafrancorchamps, monza or monaco. these are tracks with historical values and drivers love the technicality of the tracks and its challenging to drive there. also one good reason i can think of is that sepang is so freaking hot!! drivers are just not used to such hot and humid conditions.

but among all tracks, i'd rate hungary and bahrain as the worst track.

hmm...i read another report, and the least favourite was Bahrain & shanghai.

But i gotta say, if you visit Sepang gp once, by taking public transport( ie:bus), you'll never gonna return again unless you're a hardcore racing fans and you really really can't sit at home when the race is here. Imagine queueing for at least 1 hour to get on a bus?
i do not understand, why the poor coordination, after so many years of experience, i think it's even worst this year.

Malaysia = World class facilities, 3rd world mentality & stone age maintainance.

maybe bcoz of the serial rapists randomly picking on tourists.. and even sodomising kids... did u all notice, last year there was a scene where M-schumacer walked with a limp...? kinda makes u wonder rite? ....... :lol:

yes i kinda agree that malaysia GP is not loved by tourists because of the heat and also less historical value unlike some european tracks.anyway if sepang do get kick out of the calendar in future,i hope it is time for the track officials to improve the tracks and also the services if they want to claw back into Formula 1 calendar.

Track wise, i think the combination are challanging enough and its first class. Drivers love the track and teams love the facilities. Facilities are all top notch...

But i dunno about the fans ler....
I had a chit chat with this German fella once at last years event, he said he's been to all the European tracks, as well as Australia and Japan (lucky bugger)... and he said, this track give s the best views for spectators... you can see a lot of the track... he liked it. And its true, it was designed so that from any spectators stand, you would be able to see more than 40% of the track. At some places you could even see much, much more.... But he said it was blurdy hot... hahaha... but thats just one guys view...

ya......too hot.....!!!and the track also looks very dirty...because too many event were organized they...

maxi CPF said:
and the track also looks very dirty...because too many event were organized they...

if your refering to the rubber markings thats been left behind by past battles, then this is good.... drivers love this cause all the laid down rubber translate into more grip... driver don't like new circuits or ones which are seldomly used because you don't get good grip...

thats why becareful on newly paved roads... :wink:

I think it has got more to do with where the Malaysian GP is located...Sepang. In the middle of nowhere.

erm.. the track is too wide to make it exciting for drivers.. hahahah.. seriously.. I can feel that Speang is TOO empty. Although its big with world class safety and etc, its just too empty

minivan said:
Facilities are all top notch...
i disagree.. toilets without locks, urinals that dont flush, suite rooms without handles, suite kitchen which smells of rotten food, pit doors that have problem closing, and the list goes on..

i'm not trying to flame but IMO if its that difficult to maintain it would have been better off and i would say cheaper to just maintain or refurbish batu tiga speedway..

having driven both tracks i still feel that batu tiga is more challenging that sepang..

SW,

yeap....i feel the same tooo..........sepang jut dun have that rush compare with the legend BT3

speedwanker & GT20V -- i have the same opinion as u both, i love bt3!!!

BUT -- we are driving sedan or maybe if u guys r more lucky driving a formula single seated race car -- i dunno...

but the point is - Sepang is a Formula 1 track, designed and built for F1, thats how it became the first track to gain the F1 trademark on its name.... the track width is not for sedan car & speed, thats why we feel like driving in a football field everytime we go to sepang, damn, u can understeer/oversteer all the way but u still find room to regain grip and control the car, the track is soooo wide. try that in BT3 and u need to pay for the track tow truck to pull u out form the sand.....

same thing, if you race a f1 car in BT3, do u think it will be challengine and fun?? i dont think so..... coming out from BT3 last corner thru the main straight to first corner in a F1 car probably use 2nd and 3rd gear only.... just my opinion....

gotcha bro but what i was trying to say is thati think the gov. has spend a great deal of money on another "white elephant" and not maintaining it.. i know that sepang has placed malaysia on the F1 map but is it all worth while taking into account the amount of money spent?
IMO all the money spent to build sepang should have been used to to instead provide a program to recruit young and talented drivers and expose them and malaysia in high level motorsports such as F1 of A1GP, then using these telented drivers to secure large sponsors as a form of profit to the gov. and the program..

KL track road for sepang

mahameru.damansara sprint..help college...moon corner.....parlimen corner...leads to bukit tunku corner...jln kuching...jln duta...5.5 track km....

kekekeke....

SpeedWanker said:
gotcha bro but what i was trying to say is thati think the gov. has spend a great deal of money on another "white elephant" and not maintaining it.. i know that sepang has placed malaysia on the F1 map but is it all worth while taking into account the amount of money spent?
IMO all the money spent to build sepang should have been used to to instead provide a program to recruit young and talented drivers and expose them and malaysia in high level motorsports such as F1 of A1GP, then using these telented drivers to secure large sponsors as a form of profit to the gov. and the program..

got wat..
alex yoong...was in f1 also in A1

hopefully someone in D1 or formula D

SpeedWanker said:
i disagree.. toilets without locks, urinals that dont flush, suite rooms without handles, suite kitchen which smells of rotten food, pit doors that have problem closing, and the list goes on..
i'm not trying to flame but IMO if its that difficult to maintain it would have been better off and i would say cheaper to just maintain or refurbish batu tiga speedway..
having driven both tracks i still feel that batu tiga is more challenging that sepang..

I was'nt referring to toilets and all that, i was refering to the pit garages and spectator stands... i do agree that toilets and stuff need better attention (its the case for all malaysian public toilets). But i has actually improved.... Back when the track only had a few events a year (F1, MME, GP), it was bad. It basically did'nt get attention. Now the track has far more events (additional : Drag, Drift, MSS, AFOS, track days, private bookings), it has gotten much better. But still room for improvement.

I also have had the opportunity to drive on both BT3 and Sepang tracks, and i'm with you on this one, BT3 was much more fun and challanging. It ate your tyres up like crazy, and in some corner, it was hard to figure out a good race line... sepang is still a welcome and has its own plus points, but if BT3 was still here, it would have provided some variety....

did u know that the UK has 19 tracks?? all having track days!!