Next Year F1 will be boring to watch!

f1 sux boring see car, at least japan gt nicer got pretty gt queen as big car that you can see clearly with your eye

si|verfish said:
What has Rossi got to do with F1? Other than the fact that he is contemplating switching over, nothing at all.

And I can't really relate smaller engine capacity with going backwards? I think it's great in fact. Because it is a challenge to the engineers to finetune their abilities to build a small engine that produces as much power as possible. In fact, it would be moving forwards. Like the arms race during WW2 or the Coldwar. FIA sets new rule, teams find new, ingenius, technologically advance ways to overcome it. Imagine one day, F1 cars with 4 cylinder engines pushing 800+ bhp. Impossible? Who knows? Wouldn't you appreciate that technology if you could use some of that in your family saloon.

FYI, F1 used to run turbo-charged monsters and then they changed the rule for that. Is that going backwards then? Would you say todays F1 has degraded from those days then?

A lot of people remember the turbo era in Formula 1. Those 1.5 V6 turbocharged engines can reach up to 1500bhp. The fuel they were using was methanol. Yeah F1 has downgraded. The F1 cars that time were way more advance than todays F1 cars. Look at the horsepower figures on the 3.0 V10 N.A engines compared to the 1.5 V6 turbocharged engines. Nowadays the F1 cars can't hardly reach 1000bhp. Did you forget the FIA is going to supply the F1 teams with their own ECU's? If the FIA supply the teams with their ECU's, then that means the FIA they can regulate the amount of horsepower.

Horsepower isn't everything mate. I don't prefer current day F1, but the fact is the cars are much more superior technologically wise than in years gone by. That's why all the drivers are sissies nowadays. No more wheel banging, chest thumping, overtaking anymore.

if im not mistaken they are going faster than last year even with reduced aerodynamics

Want to really save costs huh ? Why dont they set a new rule for 2010, use only electric powered engines. Hahaha. No need petrol since petrol price is increasing like f*uk

No, that won't save costs. Because the cost to develop electric powered engines for racing will be astronomical. Diesel powered engines maybe? :D

Anyway, heard the new V8s have about 700+ bhp which isn't so bad. And it revs higher than the current V10s as well. Imagine the noise...

Slipknot Fanatic said:
The best thing about their rule change was the increase in engine capacity, 990cc 4-stroke engines replaced the 500cc 2-stroke engines.

MotoGP WILL reduce engine capacity from the current max of 990cc to 800cc, for 2007. Fuel capacity will also be limited to 21 litres. 2 stroke 500's will not be allowed anymore as they could out pace the 800cc 4 strokes.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
Oh well i'm looking forward to A1 GP. How about u guys? Now that will be an even level palying field......

hopefully.
Will it get aired on public TV here? I dont have astro.

Dunno, they might though considering F1 would have ended then. So they can replace one GP with another

zeroTohundred said:
err...i still find F1 is the most exciting race among all.
Moto GP, went there last year, this year maybe will go again , just to support international motosport in Malaysia.

how do you define "pushing the limits" anyway? do u mean drivers have to blow their engine in every race? or keep the max revs for the entire race which will be suicidal?
i think the drivers are pushing the limits while taking care of their machine anyway.
Btw, may i ask if you involve in F1 teams, or FIA or something close to them? coz if you're not, to hell with the politics, just watch the god damn race.

pushing limits does not mean pushing until the car gets destroyed...heck, nowadays they jus get a marinable gap...make it stay..and only push when their rivals nears them...

if you want to watch a race where the driver starts a race with a mindset of bringing their car to the finish line i think you are better off watching endurace races...F1 is not only about pushing mechanical limits...it's also about pushing grip limits and driver skills...

cyclonite said:
Well F1 is a development ground for our road cars. If they stick too much to telemetry, aero downforce, tyre warmers etc.etc. well... those technologies can't be applied to road cars the same way it's applied to F1.

first of all...if they dun monitor their cars, there'll be a danger of engines blowing up in the middle of a race and leave oil splattered on the track and increase the risk of accidents for other drivers...

then if they dun get telemetry data...what and how would they know on what to improve...there would be no evolutions on development...how would out road cars get new technologies...all this data contribute in 1 way or another to their development and the new toys we get not and then...

downforce, tyre warmers all all part of their essentials...although some we would not get to use for the rest of our lives...but their competitions tyres need to be heated up to get grip...most of our track cars do too...jus they need to manually heat it up...downforce...without development in downforce...how could F1 and our modern passenger cars get stability nowadays with the ever increasing speeds that our cars are capable of...a comparison of Ferrari'1 F50 and Enzo...both archieves more than 500KGs of downforce in total...but F50 does it with wings and spoilers...Enzo does the same by using ground effects and other new found methods...and less aero drag too...

even most european cars nowdays get tested in wind tunnels to minimize drag and decrease aero lift...this is how far this sort of development got them...and the cost and effort to convert racing technology into reliable and low cost technology for economical consumers like us is a lot...technologies like CVT was only available to us like almost 10 years after it first appeared in F1...dun think of them as useless...F1 is not all about skill, guts and bravery alone...

si|verfish said:
What has Rossi got to do with F1? Other than the fact that he is contemplating switching over, nothing at all.

And I can't really relate smaller engine capacity with going backwards? I think it's great in fact. Because it is a challenge to the engineers to finetune their abilities to build a small engine that produces as much power as possible. In fact, it would be moving forwards. Like the arms race during WW2 or the Coldwar. FIA sets new rule, teams find new, ingenius, technologically advance ways to overcome it. Imagine one day, F1 cars with 4 cylinder engines pushing 800+ bhp. Impossible? Who knows? Wouldn't you appreciate that technology if you could use some of that in your family saloon.

FYI, F1 used to run turbo-charged monsters and then they changed the rule for that. Is that going backwards then? Would you say todays F1 has degraded from those days then?

yes it would be challenging for the engineers...but small teams would need to suck up the huge costs for this change...this goes against their reason for cutting down costs...

yes last time F1 did have monster 1000++ HP monsters...they banned that because of safety reasons as drivers were blacking out in the middle of corners and the cars were uncontrollable...furthermore they do not have the aero and tyres to hold down their cars last time...they would not have don what they archieved today without computer simulations and lots of testings...nowadays they jus try to slow the sport down to increase overtaking, wheel banging to increase the competitiveness and get viewers attention...F1 is a multi billion industry today...and i dun think bernie is gonna let it go down with or without Scuderia dominating

Nice discussion going over there.

A1 was introduced as another level to captured lost fans of F1. That business tactic.

Another is F1 fans are moving away when Ferrari dominating the F1 series. Year 2003 & 2004 is a huge sucess for Ferarri in any given F1 racing history. FIA want to introduce changes becoz there ain't many spectactor left and biz is goin down. Nothing personal issue like STOPPING the ferarri. This year, tickets sales soars multiple from last year. Its a good thing for biz and worldwide television broadcast, over 700 million ppl watching F1 during race day.

being a Ferarri fan, i;m glad to see Ferarri loosing, coz then they will improve. V8 is in the house, and huge R&D budget is given, other teams (exceot BMW) is still concetrate on the current F1 cars. Ferrari team knows for sure that there's nothing much to gain, 3rd place in constructor championship is good enuf.

Way back in 60-70s, yes turbo charged and supercharged F1, but safety and reliability is the issue. Not many car running to the end of the lap. In the end, Turbocharged F1 was banned and introduced of 3L NA F1.

Next year, there'll be overtaking in F1 . This is based on F1 fans response. Means,biz is important, so change rule to accomodate the fan (or f1 suppoter who pay the tickets)

Brief history of f1 modern day:
- started in Silverstone in 1950s
- ferarri, merz, alfa n cooper was kings
FANGIO was the F1 king

60s
- cooper , ferarri , lotus & BRM (BRM engine sound still regarded the best yet of F1 car)
- Honda join F1
- tragedy stuck
- V12 used, V8 as well (reliable)
- ford join f1
- Jack Brabham written a new motorsport history, winning 2 c'ship title with his own car (builder n tuner)
- 1968 : wing introduced
- sponsor name appears on the car, thanks to MAX MOLEY
- JIM CLARK is F1 King

70s
- year started bad with driver killed
- BRM rulez
- many motorsport EVOLUTIONS introduced, 6 wheels F1 (funny izzit), Giant Turbo, Back side Huge Fan
- Lotus Turbo introduced, n later win more championship
- in total, many death of driver because of non safety
- [font=arial,] Bernie Ecclestone becomes a big name in F1. Winning Concode Agreement, he's decision was vital in F1 until today.[/font]
- NIKI LAUDA is F1 king, followed by Jakie
- Ferarri less dominating, won 2 c'ship

80s
- williams & Mc Laren (win 6)team the best
- side skirt was banned
- early 80s turbo still used
- death of many racer and many accident on tracks
- Team Arrow beat Ferarri many times
- carbon fiber introduced
- mid 80's turboed car cost skyroketing, many cars failed to finished race. more accident. many team abandon turboed engine
- late 80s, turbo engine power reduced, max 2.5 only. Senna gained recogniton
- in the decade. McLaren n williams team enjoys many championships. Ferarri is a laughing stock... Poor them. Honda was famous as well
- 1989 : TURBO banned
- SENNA & Alain Prost & Nigell regarded as F1 king

90s
- senna keep the pressure and pocked more winning in the early years
- McLaren introduce auto gearbox
- chasis improvement n wing improvement
- 1991 - the year Shumy seems negotiating with Ferarri for a place in the team
- Benneton Team rulez the mid decade seasons
- NA car
- many evolutions introduced, many technical rules introduced and withdrewn, because of safety reasons
- 1994 : Senna death left F-1 leads to many F1 safety introduction until today, inclusive of driver aids
- Late 90s, Ferarri start to pick up
- SENNA is the F1 king , followed by Shumacher

2000s
- Ferarri dominating until this year
- Shumy is F1 King - no doubt, follow

2000s
- u get to see ppl running around the straights of Hockenhime
- u get to see a fake Scotsman running around Silverstone with kilts. Fake coz he's wearing undies.....
- we get to see Alex Yoong

the engine change is becoz the speed is improving.. in monza the honda engine has 1000 bhp! well panis, toyota's test driver said dat the new v8 engine is only 3 sec slower than than the present v10. so i think the engineers can achieved the same lap time with the V8 engine within 5 years. F1 is the most advanced motor racing in the world, the cars develop very2 fast every year so don't worry 'bout F1 being slow lah...go alonso! p.s.: with reliability =)

for those still wondering how's BRM sound

click here

http://www.billzilla.org/BRM-loudpass.mp3

They should go back to slicks, wide-body, electronic control damping suspension, launch-control, 2-way telemetry systems and use back the 3.5L V12 engines.

Just imagine cars with electronic damping control. The suspension can automatically adjust rebound and compression.

Since Bernie does not want to give a certain amount of revenue to the car manufacturers. Its possible they will start their own series in 2008, whereby they can develop new technologies that can be applied to road cars.

No! The less driver aids the better.

Anyway, the new 2.5 litre V8 will produce about as much power as the first generation 3.0 litre V10. And the current 3.0 litre V10 already produces more power than the 3.5 litre V10 it replaced. This is the superlative rate at which F1 continues to improve.

Which is why I had a thought. If the world is really serious making green cars (electric, fuel cell, etc.) more feasible. All they need to jumpstart its evolution is by making Formula 1 teams race with such engines. If the FIA one day decides to ban engines that burn fossil fuel and impose the rule to run green engines, we could all be driving around in cars running on hydrogen in 10 years time, maybe even less.

What I meant 3.5L V12 with todays technology. The car manufacturers want to develop these driver aids for passenger cars and F1 seems the only way for them to develop the technology.

The best source for energy is nuclear power. If F1 cars were to run nuclear power sooner or later on we all will be driving cars that are nuclear powered. The best part about it lasts longer than petrol, hydrogen, solar and electric.