Fender bars/braces?

- J f D -

Guys, should i install fender bars? Do they effect handling? Do they do what it is claimed to do?

I'd appreciate any input or experienced shared! :regular_smile:

no dont. its for show and a waste of money.
well there is some advantage, but very minimal. D:!

I think it does make a difference.. is the weight worth it? That's a different matter.. EK already so heavy, still mau tambah ka?

installed properly(preferbly,weld it!)...it'll make huge difference.especially whn u go track...

It depends what kind of product you sourcing la....

Regarding the weight...most are made of Aluminium.....it's light yet strong.

Of course not the made of steel one la...

just my opinion, these bars are supposedly to stiffen the chassis. i personally think it be better to just weld a beam to connect the frame together. that would be more rigid then the brace holding up by bolts. but if its a street car with a mix of fun weekend track runs, prolly it'll be good since you can uninstall.

Yeah my ride is a daily driver, hoping to join future track days. Just want to make my ride corner and handle abit better since i dont have much power to count on, for now. =p

Whatss everyone's opinion on UltraRacing's fender bars?

Once again thanks for the input guys.

Yeah my ride is a daily driver, hoping to join future track days. Just want to make my ride corner and handle abit better since i dont have much power to count on, for now. =p

AVANTECH GOT JAPAN AFTERMARKET STRUT BAR!!! COME HAVE A VISIT TO OUR SHOP!!!!

Guys, should i install fender bars? Do they effect handling? Do they do what it is claimed to do?

I'd appreciate any input or experienced shared! :regular_smile:

I just installed Ultra Racing fender and 3-point strut bars few weeks ago. They really stiffen up the body and the difference in handling is very noticeable. I can control the car better through corners and the reaction to steering input improved. Ride quality improved a bit too! Will post some pics later.

Well, after a few weeks of driving, the excitement wears of because I already got used to it, heheh..
This applies to any engine mod as well. The excitement wears off after you got used to it.. But still, it really works! :driver:

Based on my experience using standard engine at SIC..., a litte bit better handling with not much power wont help much at SIC, too many straights...Front & rear struts is enough...better to get a good set of tires or suspension or better brake pads or upgrade radiator....

I think fender bar wont help much...i already install. Installing the Rear strut bar can feel more stable for ff cars.

aalto,
sorry but i gotta beg 2 differ...in SIC,both d main straight won contribute much to ur lap time...a fren in a DC5 claim he can only hit ard 175km/h on d main straight while i can hit 186km/h...BUT,his lap time is similiar 2 mine....d trick is in all d turns...frm T4 up to T8....nothg much u can do abt T9....n thn comes d tricky combo of T12&13&14.....mastering T4 up to T8 alone saved me ard 4secs!yes,dats ALOT if u ask me....but i do agree abt d tyre + brake pads part....experiencing brake fade n lost of grip just as ur starting 2 grasp d lines in SIC is REALLY not fun,hehehehehe.....

Akuma,
I think the point your making is more about driver skill/ racing lines(which I agree), I was pointing out the "fender bar factor". Lets say 2 equally skilled drivers using same type of car but with one car added fender bar and another with 15hp extra. The extra power car will surely beat the other.:top:

My experience with a slow car was far apart from yours really, I was using a Wira Aeroback 1.3, with a pathetic top speed of 140km/h at the main straight, with literally no torque to pull out of the corners...the only advantage was I could outbreak everyone (bcoz I was slow)...haha....:proud:...

aalto,
again i gotta beg 2 differ..coz i got a REAL LIFE experience..happened just recently in SIC....2 frens...1 in a DB8 4door B18C GSR Integra on R888....1 in a DC2 2dr Integra FULL LOADED B20VTEC(clamed 2 haf 21Xwhp!)....also on R888....DC2 kena sayur by d DB8.....how now?HAHAHAHAH..not joking wei..real life story.....n it was d DB8's 1st time driving in SIC sum more.....power is good,but not almighty...
but if v r back 2 d fender bar topic,again i stress YES,they work....

(i certainly hope d DC2 owner is not reading dis!kekekekkekek)

Akuma,

I think were comparing apples and oranges...

All I'm trying to say is that don't expect with just the use of fender bars to make the car turn into a "Super SIC track killer machine".
YES, fender bars do work like you said, I never said they didn't.... but so do alot of other upgrades...:biggrin:

As for your story, you being a season SIC racer should know by now that being more experienced doesn't automatically mean being more skillful. Like the saying "an old man isn't necessarily a wise man".:hmmmm:...

...."power is good,but not almighty" (I completely agree with you)...

anyways cheers bro... :beer:

hahahah..4get abt d apples n oranges...so,whr's d beer?
anyway,since v r into fender bars....how many of u r using 2 points bars & how many of u using 3 points instead..any1 used both types b4?any significant difference?