First Drive: 2006 Satria Neo

gate-crasher : i already asked at one of rim/tyre shop in sunway, for 17" can fixed 205/45

mujadid84 : if change aftermarket shocks, i guess 18" oso no prob... won't kena rear wheel arch =) neway haven't heard bout neo's aftermarket parts yet... neway u sure can fix 205/45? klang there said kenot r for 17inch, 205/40 onli can hehehe... neway i guess 17inch for a size of 215 is better la.... 205 suits for 16inch onli... *in my opinion la* cheerss

sulute Tom,

Great kick ass pictures, let me know what camera you use coz i also want to take some kick ass pictures like you.
i'm hv planned to get the 1.3 mt model. any fasto pros or cons.
i'm driving a 95' satria & could not affort an EK hatch yet.

thanks, i don't expect your reply, if you do i'll be happy.

peace out,
adr

Tom, fantastic photos. You made it look like the car was shot in Japan in autumn..

Anyway, I bought a 1.6-litre Neo. I bought it 'coz I love the chassis and styling. No other car priced anywhere below RM100k can beat the Neo's surefootedness on the road. It is stupendously good, I tell you.

It reminds me of the MINI One that I drove a few months' back. The suspension just soaks up all rough surfaces while still able to stick to corners like a leech. And to think that it has relatively skinny 195/50R16 tyres. Tell the other manufacturers to match that!

I can't wait till the CPS version (Proton's own VTEC) to arrive next year. It will have an extra 20bhp over the current 1.6 version. Hopefully, they will also sort out the gearbox to give better low end acceleration and fuel economy.

In summary:

1. It has a neat and handsome European looks. Amazing for a sub-RM60k car.

2. Exquisite suspension. Able to dispense with bad roads and dispatch corners better than the old GTi; while using skinnier tyres!.

3. Stiff bodyshell. You can feel it thru the steering. The nose just points with pin-sharp precision.

4. Dash have clues of bad quality(like the aircon vents) but overall it is more than satisfactory.

5. Seats have thicker bolsters(cushioning on thigh area) to hold you during cornering.

6. Audio system can use iPods.

Downside:

1. Gearbox. It cannot utilise available power from the Campro engine effectively.

2. Fuel consumption. Can be pretty bad if you drive hard. RM10 gets you 60kms tops.

Love live the Neo! Yee-hah!

gate-crasher said:
mujadid84 : if change aftermarket shocks, i guess 18" oso no prob... won't kena rear wheel arch =) neway haven't heard bout neo's aftermarket parts yet... neway u sure can fix 205/45? klang there said kenot r for 17inch, 205/40 onli can hehehe... neway i guess 17inch for a size of 215 is better la.... 205 suits for 16inch onli... *in my opinion la* cheerss

I've changed to 205/45/17 tyres and rims since 2nd day of owning the car. Standard shocks.
NO rubbing, no problem.
If you don't believe me, you can measure the height of standard rim & tyre versus height of 17" rims and 45 series tyres, same height.
Standard is 195/50/16, so technically a step down is 45 not 40. I had problems with getting my tyres because it is an uncommon size.

Either way, if you take 40 or 45, the car looks a hellalot better on 17's.

CarNoob said:
I've changed to 205/45/17 tyres and rims since 2nd day of owning the car. Standard shocks.
NO rubbing, no problem.
If you don't believe me, you can measure the height of standard rim & tyre versus height of 17" rims and 45 series tyres, same height.
Standard is 195/50/16, so technically a step down is 45 not 40. I had problems with getting my tyres because it is an uncommon size.

Either way, if you take 40 or 45, the car looks a hellalot better on 17's.

see.. as expected, coz i had experience with Civic ES where the tyre size is almost da same.. as for satria neo, 17" is suitable for 205/45/17, maybe 18" 215/40/18 .. :shades_smile:

hehehe... previously use 205/45/16 ma..... excellente! havent tried using 17 before, not so sure which size better ma =P i'll bear tat in mind once i get my hands on it! 205/45/17... was thinking on it earlier but the tyre/rim shop boss made me confused since he said neo can't fix 205/45 on 17", 205/40 onli can... cheerss...

yea! agree wit mujadid n ivan! carnoob, post the pic of ur rims laaaa ^_^ wanna see how it looks like...

fender gap front 2 fingers rear 3 fingers so i dont think 17 rims any problem

im maybe gonna get the 1.6 auto neo. test drove it today and it was great. the rear space is not big but it will do if youre not the person that always has passengers. the only complain i would have would be the interior, its kind of hard to reach everything and the glove compartment is so damn small. other than that, i think its a good car for 50k. the waiting period is 2 months for neo now. i think im going for the white. looks clean yet garang.

Best looking 2 door below RM60k in the market today.

Followed one, and I love the rear view.

Check this out

http://www.proton2020.com/SatriaNeo.asp

http://www.proton2020.com/showroom-3.asp#

GOOD WORK PROTON BOYS

yeah! even when the first launch the model.. the waiting is between one to two months.. cheers!