For Telstar '88 Ghia

shinji

Anyone owns a Ford Telstar '88 Ghia?
Would like to hear ideas on how to fix up the car nicely.

I drive my dad's car everyday, since i don't think i am getting a car. I think i would wanna invest a little bit into this car.

Any ideas?
What mods can i do to decrease the fuel consumption and a smoother ride?

Thx

Originally posted by shinji@Jun 29 2004, 05:28
Any ideas?
What mods can i do to decrease the fuel consumption and a smoother ride?

Thx
hi,

I drive a '92 Telstar Ghia which should be the same as yours unles of course your's is a 1.8.

just put on a set of nice rims an run it.

if you want a low fuel consumption verty simple. Send the car in for a top overhaul and get the cleaned and service your carburetor. You will definitely see the improvement.

This is due to the carbon build up in your engine as this is quite an old car.

Did the same to mine. Used to run 360km for RM55. Now, i'm running 500km for RM60 - this is city driving babe.

As for smoother ride, just change all your lower arm and sway bar bushings and possibly the suspensions too.

Makes a lot of difference.

Hi, gang
I drive a Madza 626 Yr 1991, 2000cc, sohc, in line 4, carb. I think my car is the same as yours. Top overhaul, errmm. Means only piston rings, gasket, etc(wat else ah?) pistons, conrod,crankshaft not change, rt. my engine is ard 120,000km. best fuel consumption is ard rm 60=400km(highway). Sudha, ur RM60=500km is mixed driving, rt?? that's very good. but my engine is till good, overhaul ah, sayang lar

My dad used to own one b4 selling it off for a Proton Saga (Arrgghh!!!).

The car plate was WBM9391 (or something like that). Great car and it has full digital speedo n tacho).

princee...no need overhaul.

ur car is the same as my albeit mine is a ford telstar

i just did my top overhaul last year. All I did during this was, change my tappets all 12 of them and get my mechanics clean the head area. change my gaskets.

cleaned up my carb and thats abt it. 500km is for city driving..h/way i get about..well from kl to jb and back 700km++ for rm60 considering i floor the throttle on the h/way.

I used to get 360km for rm55 b4 that but now, city driving i get 500km for rm60.

The car runs smoother and i have the power when I need it.

Also another thing that affects your fuel consumption is your driving style. Go easy on the throttle when you drive in the city.

Remember, our cars are fitted with carbs - heavy foot = heavy consumption. dont rev too much in the city...do it on the h/way.

btw...any of you looking for sport rims? i got a set of enkei rims that was on my car. am selling it for rm400 w/o tyres. the rims are 14" - as per factory specs.

so if you are running on 14" standard tyre and rims, you could consider because no need to buy new tyre. BTW these are 5 holes.

I also have a service and maintenace manual for this car from Australia. If you guys need any help...just shout!

let me know if interested.

sudha

Bro Sudha,

I own a Telstar too. Jst bought 16" rims, but still not good enough. Jst want to make it a little bit lower. Can u suggest me wht type of spring/absorber that can fit in? How much it will cost?

hi pian

eh...sorry for the late reply.....havent been online for long time....heheheh!

anyway...just to get you going...

to lower....u need to find a set of eibach pro kits for mazda 626 same year as yours...you can go with the original KYB absorbers or spice it up with GAB sports series which are available for this car.

also, GAB has got a some spring and abs option for this car...

run a search in the forum for GABs ....you might find somrthing. At the moment i am planning to use the eibach and GAB option....

Originally posted by pian17@Mar 18 2005, 14:47
Bro Sudha,

I own a Telstar too. Jst bought 16" rims, but still not good enough. Jst want to make it a little bit lower. Can u suggest me wht type of spring/absorber that can fit in? How much it will cost?
[snapback]821797[/snapback]​

bro sudha,

1 question bro...wht about the adjstble gab that our fren HondaDna got?
RM1850 for 1 set-is it reasonable?
going to visit RS1, Jln Kepong soon to see wht they got.

Originally posted by sudha+Apr 4 2005, 02:32 -->
QUOTE(sudha @ Apr 4 2005, 02:32 )
hi pian

eh...sorry for the late reply.....havent been online for long time....heheheh!

anyway...just to get you going...

to lower....u need to find a set of eibach pro kits for mazda 626 same year as yours...you can go with the original KYB absorbers or spice it up with GAB sports series which are available for this car.

also, GAB has got a some spring and abs option for this car...

run a search in the forum for GABs ....you might find somrthing. At the moment i am planning to use the eibach and GAB option....

--QuoteBegin-pian17
@Mar 18 2005, 14:47
Bro Sudha,

[snapback]821797[/snapback]​
[snapback]865386[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

I think GAB's are quite good and they were reccomended to me before. I think the ones that you indicated are the coild over type. Should be okay and in terms of the same price that's pretty much the standard quote that I've got.

Its more suited for spprts handling. Check it out if its within your budget.

I am actually contemplating Eibach springs and GAB sports series shock for my car. This also cost almost the same. But I am looking for a good balance for comfort and sports handling.

ford telstar 94' 1.8cc

it,s juzt that i wanted to change my engine to a better performence 1, can any one please give me a good engine to go for. which suite this ford without any problem. and also where i can find this engine around shah alam and klang.

ila

ford telstar 94' 1.8cc

my budget is rm 4k, ive juzt spend rm 3k for the tyre + rim + some repairs. so any suggestion on what engine should i go for.

ReliArt said:
my budget is rm 4k, ive juzt spend rm 3k for the tyre + rim + some repairs. so any suggestion on what engine should i go for.

wat u love?
turbo or na?
ehehehehe

ford telstar 94' 1.8cc

na, but should b high in performence , low in consumption and also last without any problem, what half cut would u suggest to me if i wanna change all the front part. only parts not going to weld the half

Reliart....go to munlee in Puchong ask for GD FE 2.0

Its a Twin Cam Mazda 2.0 engine. 140hp with VICS. I just put in an auto version. Very powerful. Paid abt RM2.8k for h/cut with rear disc and RM1.5k for installation.

But if you want to stick to 1.8, suggest you got V&S Auto along jalan Puchong. They have a 626 FS8 1.8 engine.

Dunno how much.

cheers mate!

Currently i'm using Ford Telstar 1.8 carb 1993 model.I have fix 15 inch spotrim with 60s tyres.My future modification is i want
to replace my rear drum brake to disc brake.Anybody know what type of disc brake and how much is the cost.....
What is the price for eibach pro kit spring for mazda

dude.....check the local chop shops and ask for 626 rear disc brake. Please make sure you mention mazda GD.

Ford Telstar tx5 1984

Hey..ppl....i'm suffering with a old tx5 ....any one knows how i can booost the power...up abit....what cams go In..? its onli a Sohc... 1.8cc.
someone Helppppp....

1.8 TX5?? what year? 1984 - 1987 model? GC?

If yes, you can dump in the famous B8 turbo. if you want to go NA, look for a FS8 h/cut - 1.8 DOhc 16v or you can go after a FE3 2.0 Dohc 18v.

If not planning to change engine....do a bit of top overhaul or full overhaul. Service the carb, change your filter and plg cables. This models carb as I have experienced is very torqy compared to the GD series carb. No joke...coz I had it fitted to my GD once.

this engine is very old...dun think u can just change the cams but i could be wrong.

also...look for the 1.8 TX3 engines.

cheers!

Ford telstar tx5 1.8

Okie...the tx5 is ... a 1983 model.... 1.8sohc... GD model.... fulloverhaul done 3years back.... my butterfly in my carb is screwed... so i guess change the carb.... Filter? plug cables which are good.... u put in a GC carb into a GD... which model is this GC? i tot of puttin in a weber single..but in dat case fuel might be a bigger problem then.. please help man

Hi Escort....

Actually, '83-'87 Telstars/626 are GC models. My '88-'92 Telstar is a GD. I put in a carb from your car model into mine. Its the same except that GC model carbs have manual chokes meaning you gotta pull them from inside the car when you want to start is the morning especially.

Butterfly screwed? What are your symptoms?? Does the car die off or it jerks on acceleration?

Webber is good but finding one which is suitable is a headache. Not only that you would have to custom make the base. However, the bigger thing about webbers are the fuel consumption and the need for regular tuning.

You can do away with the standard filter box and fix an aftermarket performance one. Just visit those performace shops, I am sure they have one that fits. if not custom make the pipe la.

plug cable...get a good one la...also, some groun ding cables may help.