fresh stock tune up

zach

ok well i may be clueless about tuning cars but i have read numerous posts and topics in this forum before starting up my own topic. iv also asked my friends about tuning up my car. anyway i have a savvy amt which not so savvy but its the best choice for my preference.

anyway i was told that my initial tune up would be an aftermarket air filter by k&n. then i went to look at a few where as theres many different types of air filters and some even with injection kits. im more interested in torque(pickup) than getting more speed for my car. so i guess i would like to get some recommended tune up before i do something stupid :S

it would be nice if u guys could let me know what to get and what NOT to get before i heard alot of gimmick tune up parts like the compressor?

anyway thanks :cyclops:

Better stick with ori as I heard once u tuned, the FC will be superb high..
Actually this car is for fun drive only not for race..hehe hope i am not mistake on this..
Good Luck for your new car..

your not getting my point [;

im not converting my car into a racing machine. how can stock be better than aftermarket? suppose you compare a stock air filter to a aftermarket air filter; your saying the stock air filter is better? or even the ECU infact.

zach, the basic startup modding is change ur air filter to performance highflow filters (drop-in or open-port with good cold air intake induction) and tuned exhaust setup....
after that, mayb u can look into piggyback ecu, port polish, mildcams, and so on....

gimmicks such as air compressor, fuel saving devices and so on only gives vr vr minor improvement (or almost none).... not worth for the money spent....

mag9556, modding ur car doesnt mean turning it into a racing car.... even learning to mod and tuneup ur car a little gives alot of satisfaction... most important, know what u are looking for and learn more of what each aftermarket products does.... no point paying blindly for tuneup parts and start complaining if it doesnt work... modding cars is a delicate step by step process....

hehe.. roger ah boss.. but sometimes u must have a red light on moding your car..
Ur situation is just like me me last time, just got my Kancil (new). What you will do is :-

1) As mention by Sky, change air filter, change piping.. then u get bored or get cut by a Kancil L2,L5 or MYVi with piggy back..
2) Find alternative way, put air compressor or you put piggy back ECU after that can take awaya lot of car liao (haha.. very happy) but at the back come a L5 or Kenari L9.. then again u will get mad and jumping as pass away and can not chase them..
3) Find for engine racing parts (example - racing cam, then find a better piston (haha this time can rebore to bigger cc as got piggy back ma not big issue la..) aiya, problem come.. fuel not enough la, setting problem la, can not find timing belt for lovely adjustable cam pulley la.. bla bla bla..
4) Extra injector la.. this la that la.. later still can not compare.. how..

After all money wasted.. thus engine start to gave problem after long drive..change engine lor.. how much wasted..dun know thus got a lot of racing parts to sell???
This is the meaning that I ask u to stick to stock..hehe..
As u will said this in the beginning (no problem la.. just modified a bit only)but once u have wasted a lot of money with this and that then can not overtake a smaller cc car then u will start to think others..
Hope u dun mind ya that I have a lot of things to talk.. haha..

zach, the basic startup modding is change ur air filter to performance highflow filters (drop-in or open-port with good cold air intake induction) and tuned exhaust setup....
after that, mayb u can look into piggyback ecu, port polish, mildcams, and so on....

gimmicks such as air compressor, fuel saving devices and so on only gives vr vr minor improvement (or almost none).... not worth for the money spent....

mag9556, modding ur car doesnt mean turning it into a racing car.... even learning to mod and tuneup ur car a little gives alot of satisfaction... most important, know what u are looking for and learn more of what each aftermarket products does.... no point paying blindly for tuneup parts and start complaining if it doesnt work... modding cars is a delicate step by step process....

ok so we start by air filters where there is two types: drop-in and open-port in which iv read someone posted that open-port has better induction than drop-in. better yet recommened me an air filter preferrably from k&n and i'll do a little homework. when u say "tuned exhaust setup", does that have anything to do with the muffler/air cleaner? i wont be gettin into the ecu,port polish just as yet.

btw thanks for the heads up [:

hehe.. roger ah boss.. but sometimes u must have a red light on moding your car..
Ur situation is just like me me last time, just got my Kancil (new). What you will do is :-

1) As mention by Sky, change air filter, change piping.. then u get bored or get cut by a Kancil L2,L5 or MYVi with piggy back..
2) Find alternative way, put air compressor or you put piggy back ECU after that can take awaya lot of car liao (haha.. very happy) but at the back come a L5 or Kenari L9.. then again u will get mad and jumping as pass away and can not chase them..
3) Find for engine racing parts (example - racing cam, then find a better piston (haha this time can rebore to bigger cc as got piggy back ma not big issue la..) aiya, problem come.. fuel not enough la, setting problem la, can not find timing belt for lovely adjustable cam pulley la.. bla bla bla..
4) Extra injector la.. this la that la.. later still can not compare.. how..

After all money wasted.. thus engine start to gave problem after long drive..change engine lor.. how much wasted..dun know thus got a lot of racing parts to sell???
This is the meaning that I ask u to stick to stock..hehe..
As u will said this in the beginning (no problem la.. just modified a bit only)but once u have wasted a lot of money with this and that then can not overtake a smaller cc car then u will start to think others..
Hope u dun mind ya that I have a lot of things to talk.. haha..

im not really interested in overtaking cars or increasing my cc. i wouldnt want my car to be a fuel consumption truck. i dont think it makes any sense to say stock is better than the aftermarket. unless your tune up has a hefty maintenance. unless i own a luxury car which the stocks comes with a supercharger then i would stick with the stock parts [:

Hi Zach, nice to meet you here ^_^~!

If I'm right, your main point to mod your car is more torque/pick up right? So your car is savy AMT right?

To your AMT car, I will recommand you install the voltage stablizer together with more ground wire first, why? ^_^ B'cause your car is Electronic Fuel injection engine ^_^

All action of the engine is control by the "ECU" computer (engine control unit), so the electrical circuit is very important to any of the electrical device. exp: to make a blub light, it must get the energy from battery, energy from battery's positive travel to the bulb then go back to the battery's negative, then make the bulb light.

Same thing happen to the engine, but normal factory setup to a car, there is only 1~2 wire go back to the battery's negative, so the electrical circuit suffer traffic jam. Then most of the sensor, device of the engine will work slowly, as the same time, the car re-act/pickup slowly.

The voltage stablizer and more ground wire can improve your car reaction, you think your car get more pick up or more torque just b'cause the car re-act faster ^_^

I really don't recommand to mod the exhaust system, specially your tranmission is AMT, to let the AT tranmission shift up is base on how much of the engine RPM is.

Engine low RPM torque is very important to the AT tranmission system, of course original factory setup already is the best low range RPM torque output. Mod the exhaust system will rise the range of the torque output (to higher RPM). The car become more difficult to pick up!!!

thanks cartoon [:

thanks for your advice. i will certainly look into it. iv seen a few voltage stabelizer around from cheap to expensive. care to explain between the vaious types of voltage stabelizers?

Change air filter to high flow type air filter (K&N, HKS etc) also can make your car re-act faster ^_^.

Another recommand is, every 5,000km clean the injection system once, by using the camical like "STP fuel injection cleaner", a bottle of camical, just add it in to the fuel tank, then the injection system will be clean up ^_^ but why every 5,000km to do it once?

B'cause, petrol fuel in malaysia is 10 times more dirty then other country, event the car have the fuel filter, the injector gun will get more dirty and dirty, then the car lost power. -_- ~!

hey cartoon im staying at desa aman puri which is like 10mins away from kepong =P
anyway i saw an injection kit package that comes with the air filter and some other stuff for RM300++. i wonder if those stuff are necessary. anyway i will experiment with all those advices you mentioned. thanks alot =D

eh~....... is ok lah ^_^ no big deal ^_^ ~!

About the injection kit... the best design of injection kit, the intake must very near to the front bumper area, let the air fast and directly go in to the air filter then in to the intake manifold. This design also have a little air charging effect like turbo, in certain speed, the air will force in to the engine and create some presure.

But at the same time, the air filter will get more dirty, b'cause more dust are going in -_- ~!

Zach,if you don't mind my 2 cents worth,I think so far the best advce came from Skywalker and cartoon.Your desired goal is to improve on your torque and of course not affect your consumption(fuel) too badly. A little speed is also an added bonus.
Go with what Skywalker has said but bare in mind when it comes to your exhaust,consider what cartoon has said. I know of too many sad cases of exhaust freaks who happily jump into the bigger is better thinking,only to end up frustrated with higher fuel consumption and zero improvement.

Tuning is always a step by step process,feel what's go for you,every dollar/ringgit spent MUST have some kind of returns ie- improved mileage,better pick-up,higher top speed,tighter handling,safer braking etc etc etc. Remember (Luke) the force is with you-so step by step.

Enjoy your car and have a good day.
Cheers,
Foxtrot56!!!!

:cyclops:Zach,if you don't mind my 2 cents worth,I think so far the best advce came from Skywalker and cartoon.Your desired goal is to improve on your torque and of course not affect your consumption(fuel) too badly. A little speed is also an added bonus.
Go with what Skywalker has said but bare in mind when it comes to your exhaust,consider what cartoon has said. I know of too many sad cases of exhaust freaks who happily jump into the bigger is better thinking,only to end up frustrated with higher fuel consumption and zero improvement.

Tuning is always a step by step process,feel what's go for you,every dollar/ringgit spent MUST have some kind of returns ie- improved mileage,better pick-up,higher top speed,tighter handling,safer braking etc etc etc. Remember (Luke) the force is with you-so step by step.

Enjoy your car and have a good day.
Cheers,
Foxtrot56!!!!

if add a sard fuel regulator to stock engine wif open pod air filter n customized piping system will have improvement for torque?

i mean install sard fuel regulator without piggyback ecu jz do customized piping,extractor,open pod filter plus customised air box n CAI.or any other suggestions?

Hi westcoast ^_^, The main function of fuel regulator, is boost up the fuel presure and give out more fuel. Only heavy tune engine use the fuel regulator.

Exp: like turbo engine, when the turbo engine change to bigger turbine, the engine need more fuel to burn, but normal fuel pump can't deliver this much of fuel and presure, then the fuel regulator is needed.

So that mean using fuel regulator with out heavy tune engine, the fuel regulator become useless~! it only waste the petrol fuel. Don't listen to AH Beng recommend "more power lah, got more pick up lah"

oh ya 4got to mention my car is 97 puta auto converted to manual.i oso had pivot vs,lightened aluminium crank pulley,lightened flywheel,fabricated exhaust header blah blah blah but dun have piggyback yet.hehe.jz install another sard fuel regulator will have improvement? even a little i oso satisfy d la since my car NA ma..