Fuel Pump Relay Help

sleepyfellow

Hi all,

I drive a corolla EE90 with a 4AGZE. I can't seem to locate a replacement for my busted fuel pump relay. Here's how it looks:

http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=yebxb6&outx=300&quality=70
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=yebxbv&outx=200&quality=70
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=yebxbw&outx=400&quality=70
It's abit hard to see from this pic but whats written is:
FUEL PUMP RELAY
TOYOTA
28381-16010
058700-2390
12V
Denso
Made in Japan

Anybody know where I can get this? I've tried spare part shops, but they say that its not available in Malaysia. Even chop shops are stumped when I ask them about it.

Anybody know where I can get this? Even have to order and ship it from overseas is cool.

From what little I understand, the purpose of this relay is to control the fuel pump to work in HI or Lo. And also to cut off power to the fuel pump whenever the engine stops. Seems rather important.

Right now, the wireman has bypassed the relay totally, and I worry.

Any electrical sifoo's out there who can mod something to replace this?

Thanks a bunch,
sleepy

Bro, about ur problems actually can be solve by replace the relay, there is 4 pin shown in ur picture, which is connected to EARTH, ACC, SIGNAL, and OUTPUT. Just ask ur electrical sifooo check which one is earth, acc or signal....replace it than is ok liao larr.... the fuel pump relay working hi or low is depend on the signal output from ECU itself, the relay don't know how to set hi or low itself, only ECU can. I hope this might help u up. god bless.

Hi there,
use any fuel pump relay can do, as long as the rating is same or above yours.
would recomend Celica or Camry's fuel pump relay.

Hey guys,

Thanks a bunch. I feel better now. Gonna try to fix it myself this weekend. Hope its sucessful.

BTW, for anybody who is interested to know. i read that the way this relay works is, when engine is cranking or in high speed, the fuel pump relay de-energizes so that current travels directly to the fuel pump. Basically working in high mode. But in low-speed or idle, it energizes the relay so that current travels through a resistor and then to the fuel pump. So the fuel-pump runs in low mode.

Apparently this helps reduce fuel pump wear and also reduces electrical load when the car is travelling at low rpms.

That's about how much I understand so far :P

Anyways, thanks for the help again dudes.

Some new things I've learned while trying to fix my fuel pump relay problem.

The fuel pump relay is a 5-pin relay, 12v, 30 amps (This is a guess after looking at various diagrams). Basically there is always power running through the relay. The electromagnet affects which output the current flows through.

But a new problem has sprung. There is a buzzing sound when I have the ignition at on, just before cranking. Engine will start and run fine. Just that theres that buzzing sound. Tried 2 different relays but had the same buzzing sound. Researced on the net that it may be the ecu grounding thats causing this. Anyone out there experienced this before?

Hi sleepy,
The additional resistor that attached to fuel pump relay is use to drop the fuel pump pressure at low rpm. It is nothing to do with reducing fuel pump wear or elec. load.

Where does the buzzing sound came from?
If it is from the fuel pump relay, please get the problems (poor grounding/connection) fix immediately or you will blow the relay very soon.

good luck