gear ratio

d1stant

Hi, to all sifus here, i wanted to ask this, my persona M-line MT at the 5th gear runs at 3000rpm @ 100km/h, when I check with my other friends car which is also a persona MT, hers runs at 2800rpm @ 100km/h, why is there a difference between our cars? can the ratio be adjusted so that my car will run at a normal rate?

Might be ur using different wheels as compared to ur friend as it do upset the speedometer a bit. BTW how do u really differs 2800rpm with 3000rpm with stock mechanical gauges?
Lastly, there is no cheap way to adjust gear ratio IMO.

most likely diffrent wheels size, but some speedo calibration not standard issue were common in proton car (:P) hence~

dont simply do adjustment for gear ratio..i'm afraid its getting worse compare to standard condition.btw better u compare ur FC with ur friend first.

do u guys know where can we change the gear ratio, bu changing the component inside gear box?

As being mentioned above, changing gear ratio is not a cheap work. It involves changing gear drives including re-tuning back your ecu, only if your ecu accepts the ratio value. If not, then you must find independant ECU and that cost more than 4k including tuning. Also, must consider any other damage caused by the conversion, you must spare around 3k, if let say the gear box kong, then u need to change the gear box and do it all over again. Seriously, changing gear ratio is meant for racing, not for normal driving. But if you intend to race, then there is no problem to proceed. Im not sure for proton, you can try ask experts for that model.