Handling for Satria VR4/EVO...

If u read my first post it states "what kinda setups most people run for optimized handling?" (referring to 4G63T Satrias) and followed by "Any suggestions from experienced owners?"...

To make things 'simple' enuff for u guys to understand... I just wanna know whut suspensions OWNERS of a 4G63T Satria are using previously/currently and what are their views on their setup....

Ahahah...totally went off topic huh Alvin...

Semi Off topic:
I dont have experience with super heavy front end cars, but just a thought Ive been having for some time... add a custom rear diffuser that extends all the way from infront of the fuel tank to behind the bumper? Its one of the things I plan on doing in the future... what do you think? At high speeds it should help stabilise the rear end a bit.

Of course that would mean having a funny exhaust piping setup.

u want 4g93T . use at least a 1.6 satria or SGTi .
if 1.3 or 1.5 forget about it .

don't get me wrong .source from proton engineer . 1.3 and 1.5 is from one stamping machine , 1.6-1.8 is consider on antoher machine .
floor plan looks like the same , but the rigidy is totoally different .
summore ,1.3 and 1.5 , if u put 1.6 it is totally on the edge on the engine already .

i have to repeat many many times in this forum ... 1.3 and 1.5 .. play with enigne not play with weight .

Alvin isnt talking about stock suspension setups bro... regardless of 1.6 or 1.8 or 2.4...

alvin24 said:
If u read my first post it states "what kinda setups most people run for optimized handling?" (referring to 4G63T Satrias) and followed by "Any suggestions from experienced owners?"...

To make things 'simple' enuff for u guys to understand... I just wanna know whut suspensions OWNERS of a 4G63T Satria are using previously/currently and what are their views on their setup....

hi alvin24, i'm a user of a satria vr4 for more than 2 years. although currently running at standard boost, i used to run it at 1 bar and 1.2 bar.

my set up is titan shocks n abs with titan pillowball mount. back is stiffer than front, same height. camber is about -1 degrees front tyres.
no sway bar behind ( need to get one soon)
tyres are yokohama ES100.

with this set up, it's quite alright for me, a daily car, drive it everyday to uni and back to hometown. not much oversteeer, but i tried tackling a high speed corner, nearly lost control due to slippery road surface. (can feel the back giving way)

but thank god, the car managed to pull through and exit the corner properly.

humms... thank u so much, guess u're the real 1st reply i got. =) Wahaha...

-1 degree front tires means the bottom is going inwards? I'm guessing its because u using VR4 knuckles right?

Anyways, i just trying to find new ideas and ways to experiment my handling setup... my front keeps pushing forward everytime i corner... getting very bad understeer... regret i didn't just stick wtih a GSR... getting so much better handing with that.

with - camber, the bottom will just out a bit like / \
but then since it's quite hard to get a perfect -1 degrees, if it's even about
0 degrees 40', or more or less, it's okay with me.

i think the best way is to have ur back shocks stiffer than ur front shocks. i went to
the titan shop a few times to optimize the handling. i wanted the front shocks to be
softer, but they said vr4 front end is heavy, so gotta make it firm, with back much stiffer.

yea, u gotta experience different setups and until u find a suitable set up that u like, have fun doin it man! i had lots fun experiencing different setups..

when i first got the titan shocks, i had all the shocks put at the stiffest rate. handling was superb! the car won't even go down (a lil bit) when i was fetching passengers. just like those gt cars lol. but then with that kind of set up on m'sian roads, d0n think u'll be doing more than 60kmh.

alvin24, we've met before during the AMF motorsports festival. remember u were with fugz? we talked for a while.. :)

Aiks... we met before eh? Can't really remember as i kinda met a lotta new ppl in AMF, come yum cha with us from pro-hatch lar since u oso satria... surely can recall when i see u wan ler. =)

My rear now a bit too soft... during hard cornes, surely will scrape tires wan... don't really like it being that soft... if fetch ppl at the back, slow corners oso will kena sometimes... i'm happy with my fronts though... but not too sure if i should rojak and use front and back different brands of shock and springs.

I tot bottom going out like / \ is positive chamber? hehehe...

Guess thats one thing good about using titan absorbers, can revalve... for me, I'm using koni hard/soft... and KGMM springs... not much to play wif cept change absorbers. =( Thats why now trying to get more opinions first so i don't make the wrong choice... else its money down the drain.

yeah sure do, will join u guys for tt since i've got a few frens in pro hatch.

as far as i know, negative camber is / \. can double check with stanley.
and about shocks, another good recommendation is hwl. about 3k i think, it's really good. at first i wanted to get hwl but changed my mind to get titan.

i sat before in a satria gti with hwl with full ultra racing strut bars. handling is really superb!
should get adjustables, cuz before i changed to titan, i used rojak absorbers and didn't like it.

humms,
This wednesday we got TT... meet up in projet Sri Hartamas at 9pm... we'll be heading towards Dataran Prima for TT. =) Hope to see u there lar... keke. =)

hmmm.... will consider... memang heard HWL is quite good also.. but got 3k so expensive meh? Tot it was lower? Hehehez... if i get HWL, tot most probably get hi/lo only.. soft/hard can revalve mar... its not like i'm gonna adjust the soft/hard very often also anywayz.

Anyone used tien HA before? Tot of changing to them actually... but haven't found a set yet.

alvin... titan is comfort n good cornering leh... :D
i sat in anonymous car b4... his car titan with full UR bars, very comfort, even better than stock, but in cornering its perform even better than my HWL... :D

humms said the 3k one is hi lo soft hard jo....

btw alvin, HWL's revalve if not mistaken is rm125 per piece leh.... :D

sorry but i dun have 4g63t.....

alvin,
I've tested with a few outcome base on my xperience with 4G63T on a satria body, I would say to get the best out of the chassis and engine the first thing u have to upgrade is to strengthen the chassis by
1) installing UR bars, I dun have any of those braces last time in my car, and the car feel unstable especially high speed corners (although I have adjs suspension)
2) Coilovers (my case is HWL), I have been using hwl for a few yrs now , and for the first two yrs since I have not revalve the suspension the damping and rebound rate has gone soft and this cause a lot of body roll and weight transfer movement from front to back which cause the car to be quite unpredictable of of corners, especially when the boost comes in your wheels will look for traction and is best u tune to back to be stiff but don go to stiff or esle u car will bounce up and down on the highway, I'm using evo setting on the dampers which is quite stiff with 6kg and 4kg spring rates.
3) Tyres have to look for the best with proper alignment, camber around -1 all round, toe F neutral/slight out ,toe R in to get more to understeer setting so that your tail just does not hang out suddenly
others like LSD, and stiffer anti roll bar will definately help.. but I have not try them yet.. Then I guess u will have quite a nice handling machine..