Satria 1.3 or 1.5SE Please Guide Me!!

bro... u looking for a new one is it? if you pretty like ur SGTI y never think of a 2nd hand SGTI which also cost around ur budget now? (RM47k-RM52k) and it can fullfil ur dream~? see lor... but my suggestion is get the year 2002 which cost around RM48-49k like that
But if you're really into new satria then i suggest 1.5 as in 1.3 and 1.5 (for SE la) is different in engine, the exterior (spoiler, rims, colors, interior abit, 1.3 no rpm meter o.O (thats what i hate the most in satria 1.3!!!, even iswara and saga2 also got but this satria >"
If Wira SE ewww... actually is the same lah nothing to say much... both SE SE running same engine and accesorries also... only 1 black 1 yellow, 1 4doors 1 2doors... the decisions is on ur hand to choose hehe =X

are the NVH different in the 1.3 and 1.5 versions?
i dunno bout the SE..
but the wira 1.3 at my home sucks at it..
it's noisy..the ride is harsh..and it vibrates excessively when u ran it over potholes..
i noe it's nuttin out of ordinary bout it being proton..
but when compared to 1.5 versions of the same year..
it's really worse than the 1.5 versions..
it makes me wish we bought the 1.5 instead...
if feric, if u dunno..i suggest u go test drive both of em 1st..
then only u decide..

as per ur list of choice...

1.3 is a definite no-no. underpowered and run out of puff easily. underpowered so it will affect fuel economy too.

with a few thousands difference, i would go for 1.5 complete with tachometer as standard.

zan agree with u

last time i regret buying 1.3 should get a 1.5 instead...

if 45K is the budget, try a used Satria GTI 98/99 model. worth buying. u get, 134bhp 1.8 power, 4 disc brakes with ABS and serious dont play-play looks...

new satria 1.3 and 1.5 are sold at similar price.

I have a Satria 1.3 GLi (injection) ..

Yeah .. it sucks becoz it does not have a Tacho.. but i swap my meter with a putra's meter
so that i have TACHO! .. and up to 260km/h (which is imposible to reach with 4G13 engine).

Well overall i could say is .. it save fuel, maintainece is consider quite ChEAp. and as usual,
complaints about underpower mostly happen when there is more than 2 person in the car.
2 person is okay. No Major problem with it.

Well, 1.5 engine has better torque compare to 1.3 engine, but do remember if u getting the
1.5SE version, When u first got the car, the FC might be okay, but later on .. it will be going
higher and high.. 1st the 16" JRD rims contribute extreme weight to the car, and proton
engineered a so call 8% power performance increase.. Should drain more fuel.. im have not drive the 1.5se b4.. but my fren driving a wira 1.5se .. complaints a lot about the FC. Other than that .. both the car are almost the same.. and of coz minor problem will always occur such as Power window.. blah blah blah .. COZ ITS A PROTON! .. wat do u expect ! :P

How about this... If I'm buying a new car, I must see the Work Efficiency of the car... That means, I'm pumping RM 40 into my Proton Wira 1.6 XLi and the same amount of fuel into a, let's say some other cars like import or local assembled import. The imported can go for 150-200km more than the Proton... In long terms family or working uses, it's really worth than buying a Proton.
Contohnya:
I pump RM40+ into my car EVERY 250-300+km!!! I buy my proton from 92(that time 1.6 rocks), Price around RM60K that time... Another import, let's say Honda Civic, RM70+ Proton 300km=RM40
Civic 450km=RM40
In a few years u will be earning back ur money if u take good care of the car...

But the choice is urs... U got the money... UR the boss, not me, I'm not controlling u... LOL

Thanks Eveyone!

I finally sign the paper.. and is a Satria 1.3. My first choise is going for 1.5 but unfortunally the dealer from my place told me out of stock for 1.5 cause no more manufacturing. God is dissapointed but what ever isit.. i would like to thanks you guys for the opinion. Really learn alot on choising a car. Anyway normal proton problem i guess do extist in all cars manufactured. Haih..when do there ever learn!

What i can do now is just cross my finger and hope the new car doesn't got the major problem face by my mother when she got the Wira 1.5

Well my next concern is how to maintain the car once is out..guys what do you guys normally does with a new car?

Someone told me to push the car to the limit but it does damage the prinston due to the oil are not intact yet( opinion from my freind).

Hereby i hope you guys can guide me again... pls...

anyway thanks for all the opinion..Really a big THANKS!! expecially initial_r taking all the effort to help me!

Thanks!! "P

Hell No Way!

NO WAY.. brother.. no way!!
hard earn money.. kekeke
no ler.. what i want to ask is this..Is there any spesific step for ensure the car for future smoothness or what so ever!
First time getting new car.. don't know what to do! Newbie ma...
kekeke!!

first time get ur car just drive normally loh, make sure get the 3 services from eon on time

modern people nowadays say it is not necessary to run-in ur engine but personally i would do run in if its my own car. u dont loose anything by doing it.

other than that, drive the car normally, wash it often (at least once a week), check all fluid levels once a week (it doesnt take you more than 10 minutes to check all fluids on a sunday morning) and take it for warranty repair on whatever thing u feel abnormal.

plus...don't forget to stick ZTH sticker at the back.. he he:D

Better of getting a second hand non-proton, from my personal opinion. Perhaps a toyota or something.

:(

Zan..ZTH sticker is my first thing in my mind..
btw do have some minor thought of making this car a car! you know..speed bla..bla..bla.. but haih.. now just drive smoothly first lo. My Iswara is pretty a mess.. even the 2nd hand dealer also shock and ask me how i got it blow.
Anyway thought before of neon light for interior and other refinement onto the engine but what i scared is the cost lo. i want this car to be something..slowly develope like me.. keke
knowing bit by bit, fixed error here and there and most of all..improve the car engine performance. Long way to go therefore before i speed again i think i'll make sure this car won;t blow again.
Haih...

same here bro

Feric, I also just get a satria 1.3 SE, about 1 month now.

All I can say is, really take it slow, until you visit the shop (for 1k service) while then, try to list out engine problem, like mine is still jerking if you push out around 3k - 4k RPM, which they claim it is "engine underpower".

But I know, must be engine tuning prob,
well, anyways, just keep it slow, and build the engine up along the way, till it's all 'cooked' up, then do modification....

:)

um......

Just an idea....

Do I.C.E. first loh....
so not much to show on engine now, ...
yet got good sound to sooth your soul along the way...

hahahaha....

I also did put I.C.E. for now...
got it from Jrd_Lee....

nice sound and deal...

can call me up though for talk talk...
hahahaha

wih 50k you can get a sunny fix it alot put in new engine and get it runnin smoother better less headache than any car on market ...

IMHO leave the engine mechanicals alone except can try CAI. not much power u can extract from the 1.3 EFI engine.

u shud focus on upgrading ride and handling and ICE if you are so much a fan of sound reproduction.

i believe Feric, u wud appreciate all these as much as i do.

p/s at least, good and loud ICE will eliminate all the squeaking sound which comes as standard with Proton cars..ha ha ha