Harian Metro 6/10

Yes this is total crap ! First and for most they should have a clear cut of what is banned and not just a general statement

"Pemilik kereta yang menggunakan ‘ekzos raksasa’, ‘spoiler ampai pakaian’ dan pelbagai aksesori yang boleh menunjukkan kereta terbabit seperti kapal angkasa bakal berjalan kaki kerana kenderaan itu akan disita sebelum dirujuk kepada Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ)."

Secondly, why blame the consumers? Curb it from the root itself, we are NOT guinea pigs ! It's like punishing the Drug Addicts and letting the Drug Lords free in the market :thefinger: Although I dislike seeing this UFO's(no offence), this is ridiculous. Wonder when will our country leaders get the wisdom ?

**Sighs**

never.... proven many many times. they'd rather spend their time and money on curbing minor issues like this eksoz raksasa as compared to the real issue of snatch thieves and etc.

all they ever did abt snatch thieves was place a signboard saying "beware of snatch thieves"

and oh i love how that makes me feel safe and secured.

Yes this is total crap ! First and for most they should have a clear cut of what is banned and not just a general statement

"Pemilik kereta yang menggunakan ‘ekzos raksasa’, ‘spoiler ampai pakaian’ dan pelbagai aksesori yang boleh menunjukkan kereta terbabit seperti kapal angkasa bakal berjalan kaki kerana kenderaan itu akan disita sebelum dirujuk kepada Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan (JPJ)."

Secondly, why blame the consumers? Curb it from the root itself, we are NOT guinea pigs ! It's like punishing the Drug Addicts and letting the Drug Lords free in the market :thefinger: Although I dislike seeing this UFO's(no offence), this is ridiculous. Wonder when will our country leaders get the wisdom ?

**Sighs**

You got a point there and this have been in my mind for sometime.
And another thing in my mind,how on earth this people can get their title ship with this type of lame mentality.

Preventing road accidents?

Road Standards:
Look at the conditions of of our daily driven roads...How sad to feel that we live in a third world country. If it's a rural area still acceptable yet in our capital of Malaysia, acceptable? I think many of you are are sick and tired of the roads with pot holes, countless uneven roads, and millions of manholes. Why can't the ministry have some standards to follow? All manholes should be off the road(by the divider flangs instead of the road itself), should stop letting all these third party contractors to potong the road and tampal like their face(a new road can be appreciated only for a week then comes our plastic surgeons to ruin them) and the question is why? If we have authorities, this should not be the case yet as said with the "RM" everything is possible. The ministry should have standards like ISO to follow and enforce else it's going no where. 10cm thickness is approved, 3cm is whacked by the minister, 2cm whacked by the main contractor, 1cm by the sub-contractor and 1cm by the 3rd party road builders engaged by the sub-con, so we'll get 3cm of thickness which the initial 10cm suppose to last 10years and now it will last hardly 3years(plastic surgeons & manhole diggers) and we'll suffer for the balance 7years for another allocation and the cycle continues. Isn't this road conditions contribute big enough to fatal accident especially during downpours? but they will never look at it that way ! And adding to that, our vehicles wear tear is replaced 50% before time(sometimes I just think to stop my motorsports passion and just op for a 4x4 Truck).

RTD License:
How many of us did really go through the test genuinely and pass? This is another major contributor to road accidents as many of them got through the test bogusly or in our familiar saying “Lesen Kopi”. You would be surprise with this numbers and the bribery goes on and there is no Ops Sikap or Ops Siakap whatsoever for those issues and again this boils down to one of the root cause that the government should be looking at.

Vehicle ownership:
Malaysian cars are cheaper than the imported ones and just to boost it’s sales, you can buy 1 with “0” down-payment inclusive of road-tax & insurance and as the bonus you can get 200 cash rebate with free tinted ! WoW isn’t that so easy to buy a car these days? That makes every tom, dick and harry to own one ! This is why now even school kids get to drive their own car. The younger the age, the more you are prone to accidents and that’s why in the UK the younger you are, the more you pay for insurance and it’s not as affordable. Financial institutions are also blinded by the dealers $$$ and loans are so easy to obtain. This are factors where more vehicles equals to more traffic that leads to more accidents ! But speaking about traffic? No problem “kita buat satu lingakaran, caj RM2”, settle problem and that’s the mentality of our current government.

I think the list continues with no proper signage, awareness, maintenance, bla bla bla and all we can do is hope for a new robust government that will improve every single ministry we have. They should be shamed by coming with this kinda ideas and publishing it on national media !

Probably the only road I could appreciate besides on downpour conditions, would our infamous Federal Highway…:thefinger:

crap...that day i saw a black putra wit 3" piping and gt-wing...see see got police officer in the car...siap pakai uniform summore... :thefinger: take this la...some 35 yrs n above driving less than 100km/hr suddenly masuk fast lane n cause accident...who's fault? :mad:

ahahaha...i dun think that's even a patrol car...if it is then d car must be producing huge amount of hp since the gt wing so tall...:thefinger:

Other people made research already, our govt keeps lowering the speed limits.. but cannot blame our 'educated' menteris for not reading traffic studies of other countries which offers their study results for FREE.

Some excerpt
What's the history of speed limit laws in the United States?

Speed limit laws, which date to 1901, traditionally have been the responsibility of the states. Before 1973, when Congress responded to oil shortages by directing the US Department of Transportation to withhold highway funds from states that did not adopt a maximum speed limit of 55 mph, speed limits on rural interstates in most states ranged between 65 and 75 mph, with the majority of states setting rural interstate speed limits of 70 mph.7 In urban areas, most states maintained 55 mph speed limits before the national maximum speed limit was established.

By March 1974, all states adopted the 55 mph national maximum speed limit. As concerns about fuel availability and costs faded, however, and speeds began to gradually climb on US highways, Congress in 1987 allowed states to increase speed limits on rural interstates to 65 mph.

The National Highway System Designation Act of 1995 repealed the maximum speed limit, allowing states to set their own limits for the first time since 1974. Many states quickly moved to raise speed limits on both rural and urban interstates and limited access roads. As of September 2008, 33 states had raised speed limits to 70 mph or higher on some portion of their roadway systems.

http://www.tfhrc.gov/safety/pubs/04156/index.htm < american

http://cat.inist.fr/?aModele=afficheN&cpsidt=15402682
http://www.arrb.com.au/documents/ejournal/2007-12/ejournal-v16-4-Dec07-Paper02-Awadallah.pdf
With the ops sikaps statistiks showing that accidents in cities being the highest (where cars are the slowest), followed by federal roads and highways (where cars travel faster) You'd think they'd understand that 'too-slow driving' people tend to change lane suddenly, chat on the phone, cintan inside car, tengok awek, turn suddenly and etc are the major contributors to accidents, at least in the malaysian context.

Even in the study.. whether they increased the speed limit or not, it doesn't affect accident & crashes statistics at all...

You can't cure idiotic(brain slow, car also too slow) drivers by imposing laws to make the rest of the population as stupid/slow as them...

Drivers make up the math.. want to reduce accidents? Sell less cars, or accept the fact that not everyone has the mental or physical faculties to DRIVE.

But of course, with P1 and P2 hungering for sales of their cars... FAT CHANCE anything will change.

But then again.. when you consider the tires most people are using in Malaysia.. I'm not really thinking of advocating higher speeds, just that I'm frustrated of meeting people on the highway, or some federal roads going really slow (some at 35kmh!) and not really travelling in a straight line, making overtaking a daunting and nerve wracking affair.

ahahaha...i dun think that's even a patrol car...if it is then d car must be producing huge amount of hp since the gt wing so tall...:thefinger:

hahahahha... got huge power oso useless... when saw criminal, the GT-Wings always get stuck with Telekom phone lines... after a few hour later only can reach....