Have anyone did reshim on their 20V?

katopunk

I've browse thru some of the old threads and club4ag forum. When It is said that reshimming helps illiminate tappet sound.

But then, what is reshim actually? :retarded: Valve clearance?

Done that before. But doesn't help much on the sound. Change the VVT pulley to an adjustable ones. You will eliminate all the sound + a little better torque....

Last time I use ZXR 250. The bike using Shim to adjust Valve clearance. U need to measure the right valve clearence to eliminate all the sound.

Done that before. But doesn't help much on the sound. Change the VVT pulley to an adjustable ones. You will eliminate all the sound + a little better torque....

care to explain how and more info pls.. and how much will it't cost?

thks..

care to explain how and more info pls.. and how much will it't cost?

thks..

Contact William in Trial Tuning... he will be able to help you. Think the pulley is about RM650, if I'm not mistaken... forgot alot liao.. coz 2 yrs back already.

done oledy. i change all shim. 2nd from btop. that sound kurang la.. b4 sound little loud la. like teksi. the old one pomen check oledy worn out. but..... not reach 5month the sound come again....what effect....

Reshim job might be take time... it not so easy like juz change to the other set.
machanic need to measure the tolerance.....

Reshim job might be take time... it not so easy like juz change to the other set.
machanic need to measure the tolerance.....

hmmm... C160, take time as in days?

btw, normally how much is the charges for reshimming?

Clean the sound will come back too lah... go for the adjustable pulley. Won't regret wan... hhehehe, the reshim work is a tough one lah... the caps and the bebola (mercury battery like) dunno what is it call lah. Must be checked for wears. Takes almost 2-3hours to do that.

so tukar pully, and no need reshim?
'the caps and the bebola (mercury battery like) dunno what is it call lah.'

"shim in the bucket". mercury is the shim, caps is bucket.

Lol, its better to do re shimming then changing pulley, no doubt its cheaper and workmanship is much cheaper. To do a good shimming job takes 2 to 3 days time. measuring all the shim height and adjust it to perfection. Plus a little setting on timming and its done. wah la. engine is smooth and quiet.

biar je la bunyi tuuu. bukan rosak pun.pernah member i cite.buat nak bagi hilang bunyi tu. buat tu buat ni. bunyi hilang tapi power lg kurang.
20v mana pakai tapet. dia pakai shim.yg i tau la.

Do both ! Shimming and pulley... :) the last time I did it was from sifu Trial Tuning. Long time never contact them liao...

aiyah.. don't want teksi sound, just transplant 3sge lah...

Ya do both, add 282 cam plus 4 trumpet into it. Wah la. Sound like Subaru already.Very responsive and powerful.

save the RE-SHIM money buy a set of trumpet...
the trumpet sound will help u cover a bit..
hahah...
gd luck

hah... the labor charges for reshim is as expensive as a set of trumpets meh?

trumpet sound

[youtube]EHC2_nZiI6w[/youtube]