Headlamp adjustment - HID

Jackie Leong

I'd like to ask what are the proper procedures in adjust my headlamps which were fitted with HIDs? Let's say my car is facing a white wall, how many feet/metres should the car be away from the wall? What's the maximum height from ground level for the beam's cut-off?

If there are websites I could refer to, that would be great as well.

Thanks in advance,
Jackie

the equipment is similar as u go to puspakom. if some one flash at you, that means got glare laa...

but HID always glare one... ha ha ha... what car ur using? i know toyota service centres got such equipment to know the proper headlamp adjustment.

Wow jackie finally put up your HID... try searching the tread where there was a big arguement about hid.. there was someone who posted about the way to calibrate the lamps... good luck

zan,
i'm driving a honda city. the HID glare because there's no cap (either on headlamp or HID bulb itself) and not used on a projector lamp.

i'll try to head to my service centre tomorrow to see if they can help me out with the beam adjustments.

Dino,
yeah.. just installed the HIDs 2 days ago and found it shooting a bit high and the beams ain't too concentrated.. so sent it back to the shop for adjustments and it now shoots way too low.. :(

Jackie Leong said:
zan,
i'm driving a honda city. the HID glare because there's no cap (either on headlamp or HID bulb itself) and not used on a projector lamp.

i'll try to head to my service centre tomorrow to see if they can help me out with the beam adjustments.

Dino,
yeah.. just installed the HIDs 2 days ago and found it shooting a bit high and the beams ain't too concentrated.. so sent it back to the shop for adjustments and it now shoots way too low.. :(

Saw your lights and it was quite nice the bluish colour. :D

johnsmith,
not always :)

muheez_17,
thanks.. i think i recalled who you are now ;)

i've managed to get them leveled but i mistakenly adjusted the horizontal adjustments and somehow although the beams are leveled, there are some beams shooting higher than normal..

does anybody know where is this Elegance Auto Sdn Bhd. at Kelana Jaya? I think they have some leveling equipment as i've seen through a back issue of hypertune.

jackie, congrats on your new hid set!

as for your adjustments, maybe you could head over to JE damansara to see if they can help you out..

also, elegance auto sdn. bhd. is pretty near to brothers.. not too sure how to explain as ive only been there once.

blu3chip,
thanks for the landmark, i'll try to look for the place to get my HID adjusted if i can't get it adjusted properly myself.

cheers :)

HID = glare. he he

adjust too low and u may not see the road. :lol: kiddin'..

anyway jackie, try first laa.. congrats for being a kind and responsible malaysian driver.... like ME! :D

haha, cheers zan! :)

btw, does anybody know what does the horizontal adjustment screw on the headlamps do? does it turn the reflectors left/right or actually rotates the beam? wondering why my headlamps doesn't seem to respond to the adjustments at all..

i thought the screws are for horizontal (up n down) adjustment??... sideways also can ar??... mayb u try unscrew n screw all da way lo... or else, i think the screw got loose or what.... check with ur mech la...

there's two screws..

i think it moves left/right as well but it takes a lot of rotations to actually see the difference.. and i mean a LOT -.-

now my beams are okay but there are some light reflections hitting into the cabin..

it got 2 screws on each headlamp.
1 for vertical another 1 for horizontal. Horizontal depends on your needs, coz some1 like more brighter on right side then just adjust to right a bit.

Jackie Leong said:
there's two screws..

i think it moves left/right as well but it takes a lot of rotations to actually see the difference.. and i mean a LOT -.-

now my beams are okay but there are some light reflections hitting into the cabin..

Good to hear that your beams are alrite now........

yeap, quite satisfied with the HID now.. just the left headlamp need to adjust to the right a lil bit more and i'm all done ;)

was at ss2 murni mamak and there was this car with HID that is installed too high. shit was so glaring half the people at the mamak felt like murdering the driver.

hehe, don't make the same mistake.

yealer... normal misalligned halogen bulb also blinding enough adi lo... if HID more teruk... make sure ur HID is properly alligned when installed... if not, trouble for u and me also...

i know the feeling of being blinded by HIDs.. i've spent one whole week adjusting the beams and finally got it pretty well adjusted already (concentrating at bumper level) and i'm comfortable with it although some reflected beams (light ones) still enters the cabin of the car in front.. there's really nothing much i can do about it because no matter how i adjust it (hi/lo, left/right), it's still there due to the lights bouncing off the reflectors.. :(

just now i was driving back from melaka and thorough the whole journey, about 3 - 4 cars PURPOSELY cut out to the fast lane (which i was travelling in) and turn on their hi-beams (ignoring other road users as well) for whatever reason i have no ideas at all.. it just gives me an impression regarding these sour grapes.. sigh!

Jackie Leong said:
i know the feeling of being blinded by just now i was driving back from melaka and thorough the whole journey, about 3 - 4 cars PURPOSELY cut out to the fast lane (which i was travelling in) and turn on their hi-beams (ignoring other road users as well) for whatever reason i have no ideas at all.. it just gives me an impression regarding these sour grapes.. sigh!
jz back from AFamosa drift show??...
anyway, does those cars signalling to u that ur beam is still too high??... u might have adjusted them but from other car point of view, it might be different... try ask a friend and drive from opposite direction see if ur HID still blinding to opposite traffic...