Help plss.. just change ecu..

wan_grunge

I just changed my Ford lynx 1.6 manual ecu.. and got a mazda ecu from chop shop.. what i noticed after changed the ecu.. timing a bit lariii.. sometime almost down to 0 ... and my car pickup also not so good... when i changed gear .. example from 4 to 5.. eventhough i already press all down the paddle.. still like cannot go to high speed... but after for a while then ok ... if not like (tersenggut-senggut)... is this the effect after changing ecu? What sholud i do...

Otaimers.. plss advise..

why did u change ecu in the first place? mine was exactly the opposite. got problem than i change. took 4 ecu to test it out. found the right one and plug it in. so far no major problem after a year. only thing is felt that the ecu is no reading correct fuel ratio as fc is higher. btw, am driving a lantis 1.8! things from chop shop cant guarante one. sometimes depends on luck. try drive to authorised ford workshop and ask them to check it out. good luck!

i changed my ecu because already kong.. my car cannot start.... so got one from chop shop and can start... do i need to test another ecu.. or can go to Ford service centre to check and retune? Or any good workshop to go?

i think recommended to go to a ford workshop cos they would have the neccesary tools...
when I got mine; got 4 sets. Asked a friend to help me loan back. 2 doesn't match the socket. 1 got 1 socket pin spoilt. Luckily the last one matches and can start....so I stuck with it.
Haven't went to C&C (authorised Mazda workshop) to re-tune yet...

i think recommended to go to a ford workshop cos they would have the neccesary tools...
when I got mine; got 4 sets. Asked a friend to help me loan back. 2 doesn't match the socket. 1 got 1 socket pin spoilt. Luckily the last one matches and can start....so I stuck with it.
Haven't went to C&C (authorised Mazda workshop) to re-tune yet...

what do you mean doesn't match the socket... do you mean the cable cannot fit? The ecu that you tested and got 1 socket pin spoilt... can you start your car with that one?

becaue mazda 1.6 and 1.8 has different ECU. 2 is for 1.6 so cannot match the socket as it's totally different.
Another 2 is for 1.8 cos has the same socket. But 1 spoilt already the pins. So never tested that 1.
Plugged in the other one; the car start...test drive can drive; so pay and took that one lor.
Cost me RM900. DAMN!.....but like I said before, FC is high after that...wonder whether or not is because of the ECU. Thinking of installing e-manage. Don't know whether or not it would help.

Thanks boon... i will try to send to Ford SC to tune the ecu...... what actually is e manage?

E-manage is an engine management product by GReddy.
It helps to tweak the ECU's fuel mapping and stuffs to give optimum A/F ratio to produce torque and BHP increase at appropriate timming.
If you search around this forums you'll find a lot regarding e-manage.

wan grunge , i doubt u can tune the ecu , is it chipable ? even can its gonna cost a bomb, emanage would be a better choice

i don't know how they're going to tweak ECU and stuffs....
but at least in "big" workshop they could do proper testing to see whether or not the ECU is working.
maybe some minor tuning or resetting. No idea.
But i never went....tooo lazy..hahaha

mostly they can reset since most of the ECU is not programmable

yes.. i gone to FORD SC.. and they reset the ecu .... but still same problem.. they suspect air flow sensor prob.. so maybe have to change i piece of that ...:confused_smile:

Like i told you, ECU can be use doesn't mean everything 100% compatible...

Good luck to you la.

anyway, didn't they run any diagnostic to spot which sensors are not right??

nop they didn't do that one... if they can detect which sensor have problem.. is it can be fix?

at least don't have to guess...
than fater u change this and that problem still persist than waste of money lor...

ermm.... yaa lor.... maybe i need to check which sensor got problem first... :confused_smile: ... will try to survey at another Ford SC...