How come, People dun like Gen2???

hey, that's just one of the few we know. Imagine about the ones we don't know.....

but to the topic, is it really true that GEN 2 just burn up like that? wah, damn scary la wei.... wonder if they'll start introducing fire extinguisher as an accessory. But maybe that one also don't work, have to go for aftermarket one...

I think it should be true, since not only me heard about that. Once i know my friend's friend's Gen-2 suddenly caught fire while cruising. When he got out from the car to make a phone call (bomba), the car exploded...after that Proton compensate him with a Waja, free. This might be rumour since i never saw it with my own eyes.

Yeah HuaKenny, i have heard that news, cant imagine $$$$$ so much. someone said every month someone have to paid him RM 20,000, dono true or not.... men that is just one of the supplier.......maybe "Tauke Balak" hehehehe.:D

NOSkill said:
Hahaha, is it really that bad??
well i hear my neighbour bro told me tat his gen2 stop for nothin on the middle of road... only few days he gots his car..... as for the gen2 on fire did hear quite lots of it... so b extra cautions when following a gen2 who knows it will a flame ball... :D

handling n ride nice..
design oso ok la.. to me.. but the THROTTLE RESPONCE was bad...
i dun no bout everybody els.. but i test drive a few month back.. if only the throttle response was good.. i would consider it as a nice car
about the other stuff.. no experince since no one in my family owned it. ^_^

fuel price go up,
tol price go up,
why does the car price still not coming down?
hish..

yea..Gen2 not get famous amongst us..how's bout Savvy? i dun like it oso....tat y we din see savvy on road yet..most of them go for MyV....any ideas?

rasco05 said:
handling n ride nice..
design oso ok la.. to me.. but the THROTTLE RESPONCE was bad...
i dun no bout everybody els.. but i test drive a few month back.. if only the throttle response was good.. i would consider it as a nice car
about the other stuff.. no experince since no one in my family owned it. ^_^

fuel price go up,
tol price go up,
why does the car price still not coming down?
hish..

i think car price will not go down.....if go down....government tak cukup untung oledi.....rite?

some more need to divide d profit to own pocket..tis take abit that take abit...no more...so not enough....

For Gen 2 owners to avoid tailgaters..

Have this phrase stick on your car rear windscreen..

"Don't come too close, I might just blow into flames - Gen 2"

No hard feelings to fellow Gen 2 owners.. aight..

savvy.. aiyah.. i think proton should not compete with perodua.. why must they compete.. how malaysia to grow? proton should concentrate on producing one GOOD car instead of a few so - so car.. iskk..
how to tell them to be mature more.. so sad la seeing whats happening..

I'm no Proton fanboy but saying the Gen.2 sux because a couple of cases where they caught fire is more of a common joke than valid argument. I'm sure we've heard (or even seen) of a BMW, Merc, even brand new Honda Accord which caught fire. Heck even Ferrari's were notorious for overheating but nobody says no to one, right? Unless 1/500 or more Gen2's catch fire then I concur.

I'd say the biggest failure of the Gen.2 is its inner compartment. Highly experimental dashboard is tolerable, but the fact that hobbits have to bend their head to sit at the rear is ridiculous. Interior designers must've been smoking weed or something. I find even the Savvy is quite limited in rear headroom; even smaller than a Kelisa. Really no excuse to allow such design deficiencies, especially when you're targetting Jeremy Clarkson sized people overseas.

don't know about you guys. i've just renewed my gen2's road tax early this month. it has a great engine and the handling is good too. other than not having a glove box, i have nothing to complain about. maybe the dashboard are SO plastic but which car doesn't use plastic on the dashboard? not many right? it's just a matter of the look of the plastic is so obvious. engine stalled in the middle of the road? never heard of it. burnt? conti car also burnt on the road. and noone say about it. how about car recall due to faulty? even bmw did it because of seat heater can cause burnt wound on people. car burnt while parking? ford in usa issue a recall because of faulty on alarm system. check this link and it is one of the biggest car maker in the world. http://www.freep.com/money/autonews/recall18e_20050518.htm

get what i mean? just because you guys can afford to buy conti or bigger cars, doesn't mean your car is trouble free and can bash anyone at your disposal.
the problem with most people is that they depends on rumours to sustain life. get facts.
cheers.

well you know what they say. There's no smoke without a fire. pun not intended.

but seriously, I'm more concern rather than just here taking the piss. 'coz my aunt and cousin sister are thinking of getting a Gen-2 as well.

My opinion is Gen2 is ok in the exterior design, at least something revolutionary to the m'sia carmaking industry... As for the engine, it is powerful enough for a car like that, but it still lack the sound and it's also too smooth, I hate the engines in recent cars coz u cant hear wat is wrong with the engine as we feel the car engine. Too smooth like not normal, sometimes I feel like havent start the engine.

I've checked the designs and specs for the Gen2. Originally they intend to make it to meet the standards with the imports, the price almost like the imports, something like Perdana, BUT after this & that with U-know-who and U-know-what-they-had-done, quality fell but the price remain the same.

I dun blame those workers at the factory as they are rushing(w/out controlling the production line) to meet the demands of the market and by the pressure from their superiors. At least control a bit the production. I dun mind if they assemble it slowly but as long as they are in flawless quality.

i think some Gen2 owners here gotta think wisely here..we r here not to sabotaj local manufactured car.juz to voice out our feeliing n thought....

we gotta gv time for malaysia to improve.....

i dunno y proton wanna competew ith perodua..u see MyV launched at d end of May n Savvy launched at the begin of June....some more Proton came out with some sorts of advertisements......tat ask ppl dun order other car 1st..hv to wait savvy...or else wil regret....u all saw tis ads b4?

Well my opinion is very much the same as tk2005takeru.

Gen2 is ok in the exterior design, but the interior design somehow is a big failure. for the most basic passenger glove compartment is not there. Engine wise is ok, at least meet the car standard but the built quality is a big offset. it doesnt give me the sense or "tough".

Basically, other thn Perdana, Waja is the most success one frm proton (not to include the QC). In terms of outlook and interior plus the road handling/comfort spec. But with Waja to compare, i think there is alot of "choice" our there. the most close one would be Spectra and Ascent. Im most impress with Ascent to compare with the 2 mentioned.

Proton compete with Perodua... It's been a long story I think but at least dun put two cars out at the same time... I hate they two competing for like nothing... I wonder will they be teaming up to make a better car someday... As I know it, Proton is well known for their good design, as for Perodua, their product is in good quality after shipping out... Rarely have a problem at first... 2xbrains and 2xassembly factory is better than 1... How they win m'sian hearts with such a louzy car... And also let us modders to mod something into a better stuff at least...

first of all... gen-2 got design problem ler... the back really really look weird to me... i know the trend nowadays like high high rear... but gen2 one is really weird... dun match with the car... and the front dont match the middle, middle dun match rear... haihz...

if proton do better R&D before launching, it may help...
gen2 looks quite ok IMHO, however too much lousy feedback from users...:rolleyes: