How come, People dun like Gen2???

sonictheory said:
actually i got offended by the ads in radio which say dun buy first u will regret this stuff..it's obviosly mentioning myvi in the indirectly way...

yea...the Ads is counter attack the MyV market......tat y we all wondering y protn gotta compete wit perodua since two r local car manufacturers

sonictheory said:
ermm..so sharing experience is a mistake in forum?..i tot everyone have the right to talk..? if its that so, better dun call forum...

it is not offence n u hv the right to talk here...but must related to topic n ur comments can help to suggest/advise/comment for the post

BlackSamurai said:
anyone have Gen.2 Auto? I just wonder you guys like the button on the Auto gear, for me, it's very hard to press.

MANUAL here..... becarefull with the power side mirror switch. mine one broken already, the material look like a 20 sen plastic.

hahaha... gen2.. 1st me gotta congratulate proton, for creating a defective car... 1st the whole wiring system of the car r wrong, 2nd bawah filter too low... easily pecah. then finally the CamPro, total failure of engine system...

this morning I went to Proton showroom. Just pretending to see the Savvy, when the salesman came to greet me. I ask him, izit true that the Savvy is 3x stronger ah ?? He said "Fuiyoo really strong" so fast be4 I can say a word...

Then i ask him Proton got do crash test lah....He said yes of course in "London, Italy"...notice the flaw here ??

Then I just say, thanks no need to see already....

TitanRev said:
this morning I went to Proton showroom. Just pretending to see the Savvy, when the salesman came to greet me. I ask him, izit true that the Savvy is 3x stronger ah ?? He said "Fuiyoo really strong" so fast be4 I can say a word...

Then i ask him Proton got do crash test lah....He said yes of course in "London, Italy"...notice the flaw here ??

Then I just say, thanks no need to see already....

ahaha.....u drive d classic mini cooper n bang d savvy..see which stronger....

my wife owns a gen2, not so free of problems but it would be good if we can bear this all time. It is a fact that one car has over 7,000 items put together including all the screws, bolt and nuts, and washer and grommets and if ur can has only 10 defects it is not such big deal.

10/7000 = how much?

only 0.0014 defects per car.

my wife's gen2 is an auto, acceleration is good but u wont feel it due to Drive By Wire throttle. top speed in excess of 190km/h

Stability is good but i prefer waja at anytime dua better front:rear weight distribution.
Remember why BMW stick to RWD for all its cars? It contributes to good handling with 50:50 weight distribution.

Looks? OK

Practical? NO!!

zan said:
10 defects it is not such big deal.

It is.
That's why other car manufacturers LISTEN to complains and develop the same model, refining parts/places where it might cause the slightest problem.

How to calculate defects in %?

no. defected cars/no.of total manufactured cars = ?

Cheers..

zan said:
my wife owns a gen2, not so free of problems but it would be good if we can bear this all time. It is a fact that one car has over 7,000 items put together including all the screws, bolt and nuts, and washer and grommets and if ur can has only 10 defects it is not such big deal.

then why proton car dont have that much of success overseas ?
to the extand where malaysia gotto increase imported car tax to make sure it survive

Gen.2 owner here

hi all.

for me, a 22 youngster dat haven't go to his convo yet :),

it is a mid, average and have balance in it's class.

i mean, when i look the front part, i m already fall in love with it..
when i look the back part, i feel weird a bit but still can pretend looking
to christina's back. :)

when i drove it, yeah it lacks of 1.5K - 3.5K RPM band when i tried
to spin out from traffic light..
but, once u got the 4k rpm curve you know exactly that the price you pay is
worth for smooth n agressively cruising.

when i m in it... yeah it beautiful n eye catching, but when u touch it..
like the 50 year;s old lady dat using botox to looks good.
but still... u want to drive in although "in pain" at least in your heart.

u all know what i mean here?

for a car (malaysian car) dat price range of 56-60k, yeah maybe we can buy
other 2nd or new car dat not belonged to malaysian.. but for long term, i think
i have a good car n proud of it. without the VV ( i mean variable valve system)
i should glad that i have the performance a bit coz i driven 1.3 AEROback before this n it's pathetic.... :(

overal yeah THE QUALITY CONTROL MUST IMPROVE ALOT!!!

other than that... i luv my car aka Gen_x although dreaming of BMW all day n nite

cheers.

boggysv said:
It is.
That's why other car manufacturers LISTEN to complains and develop the same model, refining parts/places where it might cause the slightest problem.

so trueeee...................

which explains why Ford Focus was so good, other manufacturers dropped their jaw on the floor upon its debut. Even Volkswagen was shocked.. :D

zan said:

10/7000 = how much?

there's a saying : lies, damn lies and statistics. 10 defects out of 7000 parts is very little. But what if the screw/bolt coming loose is from the engine mount?or that most of the defect comes from the engine? I'm sure interior trimmings coming loose won't be a big deal, but not with the mechanical parts. I mean, the door won't close properly is lesser of a problem compare to the valve won't close properly.

I'm not saying that Gen 2 is anything. Just trying to illustrate the 'flaw'(if I may say so) in your reaoning aout defects in a car.

ModMaestro said:
there's a saying : lies, damn lies and statistics. 10 defects out of 7000 parts is very little. But what if the screw/bolt coming loose is from the engine mount?or that most of the defect comes from the engine? I'm sure interior trimmings coming loose won't be a big deal, but not with the mechanical parts. I mean, the door won't close properly is lesser of a problem compare to the valve won't close properly.

I'm not saying that Gen 2 is anything. Just trying to illustrate the 'flaw'(if I may say so) in your reaoning aout defects in a car.

dont fire me ok ModMaestro...

this is just my opinion.

when u assemble 200,000 cars per year involving 7,000 parts per car which equals to 14,000,000,000 items altogether is not an easy task. my cousin has a small factory supplying micro-chips to a Japanese electronic company. What he told me was... even assembling microchips was a hard thing to do. he he

btw, a loose bolt or screw should be considered as poor workmanship upon assembling and poor quality control and not a defect.

noun: a failing or deficiency (Example: "That interpretation is an unfortunate defect of our lack of information")
noun: an imperfection in a bodily system (Example: "Visual defects")
noun: an imperfection in a device or machine (Example: "If there are any defects you should send it back to the manufacturer")
noun: a mark or flaw that spoils the appearance of something (especially on a person's body)
verb: desert (a cause, a country or an army), often in order to join the opposing cause, country, or army

aiyoh, do I sound that hostile ka? Just trying to say the weightage of each component not the same. I used the word flaw because I couldn't think of any other words then.

ModMaestro said:
aiyoh, do I sound that hostile ka? Just trying to say the weightage of each component not the same. I used the word flaw because I couldn't think of any other words then.

no laa...i afraid u fire me only... come on laa..fren-fren laa.. :D :D

we all must bear in mind that forums are used to share information..

..and make friends.....

ok la, we fren-fren :p

but seriously, I'm not here to slant the Gen-2. My cousin sister was considering one as well. Didn't get it because of the steering column position and also the headroom(or lack of it) at the rear. She's going to have her 1st child, so the non-adjustable steering will prove to be a problem when she's pregnant. She als didn't really like the seating position as well.

So last time I hear, she's considering the Avanza and another Suzuki box thingy. But with the surplus of stock I hear, maybe there would be a clearout. Then my cousin can get one as his run-about. :D

gen2 steering wheel non-adjustable? he he maybe its a Tata Gen2 or Cherry Gen2 but my wife's Proton Gen2 has tilt adjustable steering wheel becoz every time i drive i will lower it and every time she drives, she will adjust it higher.

and yeahh. the seat sucks! ha ha worst than waja. actually both also bad seats..
the centre console mounted power windows switch sucks!
the grip type door handles suck!
pistol type handbrake lever sucks!
the so called unique fit ICE sucks!
the dashboard always suck my b**ls..ha ha ha

but i do enjoy driving it...becoz its a new car...:D

zan said:
It is a fact that one car has over 7,000 items put together including all the screws, bolt and nuts, and washer and grommets and if ur can has only 10 defects it is not such big deal.

10/7000 = how much?

yah, having more than 7,000 item putting together is not an easy job, but sadly the facts are

01. the quality of individual item screw up

02. sadly to tell you that other car manufacturer can do a better assembly job than Proton.