If Proton ever want to bring back a hot version of Satria, it should not be other than GTi badge which was very successful during the 4G93 version. Call it S or R just doesn't sound home.
Personally, I will not use the GTi moniker, simply because it is inaccurate to begin with to describe a hot hatch. GTI stands for Gran Turismo Iniezione or in English, Grand Tourer Injection, which is traditionally used for (duh) Grand Tourer cars. Just cause the Germans got bad command of English doesn't mean we should follow suit.
Should keep it simple, the facelifted Neo with turbo engine should just be called Neo Turbo, and the balls out version Neo R3.
Problem is, the first R3 car was a really balls out car back in its day, something that was beginning to look like the equivalent of RenaultSport. Then the marketing took over and figured they can con people to buy more Satria Neo by calling it R3.. that diluted the brand of R3 and what it stood for.
Seriously? Satria Neo
R3? With 125bhp and 150nM torque?
A silly VW Golf, I'm talking about the lowest grade of the lowest, has a 1.4L turbo engine that makes 140bhp and 250nM of torque. And we haven't take the big guns out yet. So we have a young bloke, who bought a Satria Neo R3 thinking he's all that, he probably can't out accelerate an aunty out of a toll booth who is in a VW Golf TSI.
Oh-oh, provided they ever read your email in the first place! Highly probable their mailboxes are 'out of quota'... for thousands of unread emails.
The big guns probably is out playing golf and their secretaries are the one who reads their email, faxes, and do their JOB for them.
THAT, is the MAJOR PROBLEM.
The BEST car that Consumer Reports tested, 99 out of 100 !!! Is a Model Tesla S.
Motor Trend 2013 car of the year, it is a Model Tesla S
Yahoo! Car of the Year 2013
And more importantly, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in the US states the Tesla Model S is the safest car they have ever tested, in every subcategory without any exceptions. And Tesla's first car, was based on a,
Lotus. If OTHER PEOPLE can create something amazing by having Lotus as its underpinnings, just exactly what the !@#$ is Proton doing?
The Proton big shots probably at a 5 star resort having "meetings" about their big plans. Guess what? The founder and CEO of Tesla
works 80 to 100 hours a week! And he DRIVES HIS OWN CAR. I think all the big shots in Proton drives a Lotus, and they only drive Proton for appearances while a BMW or Mercedes is parked in their home.
[youtube]4Fl9LRgG3_A[/youtube]
THEN, you compare Elon Musk to this ...[I don't know how to describe]
[youtube]0gwN1_yweu0[/youtube]
Mr.Rashid Musa, COO @ Proton for Projects or something.
"Dan Proton satu-satunya negara Islam, Malaysia satu negara Islam dengan Proton yang boleh mengeluarkan kereta sendiri dengan enjin sekali"
"Di Middle East, kita very popular" - Talk shit, Proton is not among the top 5 selling brands there. I guess his definition of popular is that he is very popular, with his mother.
THEN, look at this guy, Encik Hisham Othman, COO @ Proton for Commercial
[youtube]sMq5fWcHJhQ&feature=share&t=1h49m45s[/youtube]
@1:49:00
He said "Suprima S is the BEST looking car that Proton has ever produced."
Then all I can say is.. you set your bar very low. If that's your best, please, go and close shop, cause I guarantee the concept produced by Proton, the Proton Emas looks WAY better than Suprima S.
@1:52:00
LED turn signal side mirrors, feature found premium cars... wow..now Myvi is a premium car.. See where I am going? Proton is raving over something as stupid, as useless, as common as a LED side mirror indicators. WTF
@1:53:00
"It's got rear LED lights,
I think you should applaud this one"
OMG WTF PLEASE GO DIE, the FIRST Perodua Myvi @ 2005 already had rear LED lights. Now is 2013.
"Now this is a feature you find on really expensive, or really new car"
WHERE DID THEY FIND THIS JOKER? I've got more car knowledge than this guy. Imported him over from Africa? He never seen a Myvi before?
@1:54:00
"Now this car is fully loaded"
"Basically the technology Proton has or knows have all been put into this car"
"When you buy this car you're buying the best you can buy from Proton, which is truly superb"
O really? Waja EOL units had projector XENON lamps, why Suprima S doesn't have Xenon lights? All premium cars have Xenon lights
CUKUP. I don't want to watch anymore. You guys can CLEARLY see what I am trying to say.
EDIT: AGAIN, my intention is not to bash Proton, but I don't know what to say. I am just doing research and quoting Proton themselves.