how to setting fuel regulator??

Target Design

all bro and shifu....can tell me if i install fuel regulator to my car will get what function??my car is proton wira 4g13p.And when i install,how to setting that vaccum adjustable?..and how many kpba to stay with that meter on fuel regulator for my 4g13p??thanks.... :lol:

if you have installed it.. and your car is N/A, set the fuel pressure at some where higher than 36psi but lower than 40psi at idling. Otherwise your ECU will not be able to compensate for the extra fuel.

This is due to a rough estimation that the ECU is able to compensate for the extra fuel injected (by mean of reducing the injection interval of the injector) at about +/- 15%.

Anything higher than the range will cause you a bad FC at idling and cruising.

You need the power at eccleraton but not at cruising or idling.

but be awared that, by mean of increasing the fuel pressure, every about 10% (let say) increase in power will increase the FC by about 25%.

but why my meter always jumping when at 1000rpm?(very hard to setting)

so...that means 4g13p no need to install fuel regulator??is extra one??no any function or power up for 4g13p??
thanks 4 ur answer.....

no need to install fuel regulator...

unless your 4G13P is built to race

:( but i already install...so...can u tell me how to make very simple to setting fuel pressure??because meter always jumpin...normally is like that???

Target,

If your fuel pressure is fluctuating, tat could mean your fuel pump is dying.

Before u change fuel pump, check the fuel pressure gauge first. (it could be merely a faulty gauge)

Actually, your engine already has FPR, u don't need an aftermarket FPR unless your car is suffering from fuel starvation.

The correct way to dial in FPR is using wide band A/F ratio reading at tune-up shops or tuning by butt-dyno edge of the seat feel. :D

THere is no hard and fast rule on what pressure to use because no 2 engine have the same fuel requirement athough same engine model (same mods, same injectors, everything same)

As Joeker said, it might be the gauge itself.. not neccesssarily the pump. Yes, he's correct. The pressure setting varies from car to car. But what i told you works well for me.. if you put the pressure too high. The pump initiation sound will be louder.. which i dun think is a good sign...

most of the EFi car has a stock FPR but it's just that the FPR is not adjustable..

all shifu,bro,fren.....,

so...what i should do??
remove that fuel regulator??(because its extra!!)
or stay with my 4g13p??(no power up,no effect??)

Fuel pumps have pressure relieve valves, if not 250 l/hr walboros will not be able to idle.

Originally posted by Target Design@Feb 17 2005, 01:01
all shifu,bro,fren.....,

so...what i should do??
remove that fuel regulator??(because its extra!!)
or stay with my 4g13p??(no power up,no effect??)
aiyah!! you have already got it.. just keep it for cosmetic lar.. anyway, you should get some 'effect' during ecceleration..

if i keep it on my car...will no getting any effect??like 'makan' petrol and no feel any power up.... :D

that's why you need to tune it lor.. yes, if pressure too high it will just wasting fuel as the optimum A/F ratio for power is about 12/1 only... anything lower than that will just wast your fuel and the power will decrease.

But wei brother... no power that comes without burning more fuel lar.. haha!!

Originally posted by drexchan@Feb 17 2005, 23:03
that's why you need to tune it lor.. yes, if pressure too high it will just wasting fuel as the optimum A/F ratio for power is about 12/1 only... anything lower than that will just wast your fuel and the power will decrease.

But wei brother... no power that comes without burning more fuel lar.. haha!!
so....i need ur help...Drex Chan

can u help me to setting my fuel regulator on 27 feb???

do you have a pressure gauge? if no then abit difficult... we'll just work in blind.. we need our butts for dyno ler.. haha!!! Only long term testing/usage can give you a proper setting in this case..

We'll try it out then.. anyway, it's better to do it at night (when the engine has the most power) if using our butts as dyno machine. :P