improve road handling

kurt_629

hello guys, been a while since i posted something.

finally finish my wedding in ipoh, now moving to a new stage of life.

the upsetting part is my car got rear hit by vellfire at seremban while the way back to JB..
now, car is in workshop, a week has gone and yet to repair..
as still pending the report before they could proceed further.
hopefully, i can get it before CNY.. otherwise, going back ipoh, will be a headache..

perdana is my beloved car and probably the retirement car if i were to retire in malaysia..

i love the car except its terrible road handling.. till date, i still can't find anything suitable or improvise the handling.

i can't go for adjustable as need to ferry my in law.

using and my review:
performax spring and coil (not bad, a good choice apart from adjustable)
new tire (but feel its not that good too, will probably change to a better tire like ATR sport 2)
stiff ring (pretty crappy to me)
3 point front strut bar (well, ok.. nothing special)

am i missing anything else?

- Uprated front and rear anti roll bar
- Lightweight rims and grippy tyres

hello guys, been a while since i posted something.

finally finish my wedding in ipoh, now moving to a new stage of life.

the upsetting part is my car got rear hit by vellfire at seremban while the way back to JB..
now, car is in workshop, a week has gone and yet to repair..
as still pending the report before they could proceed further.
hopefully, i can get it before CNY.. otherwise, going back ipoh, will be a headache..

perdana is my beloved car and probably the retirement car if i were to retire in malaysia..

i love the car except its terrible road handling.. till date, i still can't find anything suitable or improvise the handling.

i can't go for adjustable as need to ferry my in law.

using and my review:
performax spring and coil (not bad, a good choice apart from adjustable)
new tire (but feel its not that good too, will probably change to a better tire like ATR sport 2)
stiff ring (pretty crappy to me)
3 point front strut bar (well, ok.. nothing special)

am i missing anything else?

Firstly congrats on your wedding......:driver:

If you are going to change to ATR Sports 2, current tyres must be pretty low performance ones. Get something better like PS3

noted, i saw someone in mudah selling this eibach anti roll bar for perdana for rm499
didn't mention about the size though..

Anti-Roll bar to reduce body roll. One of the way to improve handling without compromising comfort too much.
For me, the front 4 point strut improves my car stability on high speed straights. Fender bar, cars feels more rigid over bumps.

For me la

Firstly congrats on your wedding......:driver:

If you are going to change to ATR Sports 2, current tyres must be pretty low performance ones. Get something better like PS3

PS3 is kinda out of my usage, afterall, i only get to use the car a few times a year.
most of the time, it will be sitting in the garage collecting dust.

hence something mid range yet grippy.

initially was looking at KU31, but read the good reviews about ATR sports 2..
is there any other types to consider?
neutron nt series??

definitely gonna change as during the accident, the rear tires were pierced.

---------- Post added at 09:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:02 AM ----------

Anti-Roll bar to reduce body roll. One of the way to improve handling without compromising comfort too much.
For me, the front 4 point strut improves my car stability on high speed straights. Fender bar, cars feels more rigid over bumps.

For me la

don't say that, thanks for sharing.

if i read your message correctly, anti roll bar is a good investment for road handling?

i don't need so many bars at this moment.. more towards comfort :D

PS3 is kinda out of my usage, afterall, i only get to use the car a few times a year.

neutron nt series??

don't say that, thanks for sharing.

if i read your message correctly, anti roll bar is a good investment for road handling?

i don't need so many bars at this moment.. more towards comfort :D

Then nothing much can be done to handling other than getting a comfortable tyre. ATR Sports 2 seems to be good according to the specs if compare to ATR Sports.

Actually what kind of comfort u looking for? Not so stiff ride? Quiet and comfortable?
If want comfort then handling cannot do much :biggrin:

For me the performax sports absorber and springs combo very stiff actually.

Then nothing much can be done to handling other than getting a comfortable tyre. ATR Sports 2 seems to be good according to the specs if compare to ATR Sports.

Actually what kind of comfort u looking for? Not so stiff ride? Quiet and comfortable?
If want comfort then handling cannot do much :biggrin:

For me the performax sports absorber and springs combo very stiff actually.

ok, my bad.

let me take back my word, looking at handling only.

so things to consider:
ATR sports 2 tires x 2
Eibach anti roll bar, front and rear

others to consider for handling improvement:
rear low arm, useful
superpro bush.

ok, my bad.

let me take back my word, looking at handling only.

so things to consider:
ATR sports 2 tires x 2

rear low arm, useful
superpro bush.

If u need to use it to ferry your in laws...superpro bush, feedback is like driving a tank wor...handling improve but stiff like tank. I never tried. But friends told me that :rofl:

The rest k la. Maybe minus super pro bush.

so things to consider:
ATR sports 2 tires x 2

rear low arm, useful
superpro bush.

Just try changing tires and add anti-roll bars first coz those are the things that gives the most improvement apart from changing springs & dampers.
For tires if want the better performance, then look for those with traction rating AA and tread wear <360, but depends on what size are you using though, coz it might not be available.

Not sure if this suggestion is useful or not, but how about sourcing certain parts like anti roll bar, strut bars, lower arm, etc from E84A Galant VR-4?

This is because there are many times that people suggested Wira owners to use parts from CE9A Lancer Evolution III if they want to improve the handling of Wira. So I was thinking, can't the same be done with Perdana as well?

neutron nt series??

What tyre size?

Just try changing tires and add anti-roll bars first coz those are the things that gives the most improvement apart from changing springs & dampers.
For tires if want the better performance, then look for those with traction rating AA and tread wear quote]

thanks, that's easy to understand.

I'm using 215/45/17, thought of going 225/45/17 but notice this 225, pricing is high and not many has this size.

---------- Post added at 02:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:11 PM ----------

Not sure if this suggestion is useful or not, but how about sourcing certain parts like anti roll bar, strut bars, lower arm, etc from E84A Galant VR-4?

This is because there are many times that people suggested Wira owners to use parts from CE9A Lancer Evolution III if they want to improve the handling of Wira. So I was thinking, can't the same be done with Perdana as well?

its a good suggestion, provided if you could find the half cut parts.

so far, i only seen body parts like bonnets, bumper etc..

didn't see any anti roll bar.
Strut bars, yes.

Since u wont be driving the car much.i guess u should install:
-front upper bar
-front lower bar
-room bar

All those are not wear n tear item so u just install it and let it be.
if u want to upgrade the rear anti roll bar then i suggest u upgrade to better tire oso.

with the 3 bar u will get better steering response and high speed stability.this is even on stock suspension,provided all the bush are in good condition.

your perdana is much better in term of suspension setup compared to my blm and with few specific strut bars install i can cruise at 180kmh very2 confidently.braking oso felt more stable.the oe suspension felt a bit more firm which is good to retain the comfort.

Since u wont be driving the car much.i guess u should install:
-front upper bar
-front lower bar
-room bar

All those are not wear n tear item so u just install it and let it be.
if u want to upgrade the rear anti roll bar then i suggest u upgrade to better tire oso.

with the 3 bar u will get better steering response and high speed stability.this is even on stock suspension,provided all the bush are in good condition.

your perdana is much better in term of suspension setup compared to my blm and with few specific strut bars install i can cruise at 180kmh very2 confidently.braking oso felt more stable.the oe suspension felt a bit more firm which is good to retain the comfort.

front upper bar, i think you are referring to 2 or 3 point strut bar.
what is front lower bar? is it front anti roll bar?
what is room bar? any pictures?

I know these bars helps, just don't know which is really useful, otherwise its only dead weight to car..
plus such bars are not cheap, i know the UR anti roll bar, rear, is going for rm350...

from my experience performax spring will sag after 2 years.
quality not as good as other brand, but the price is cheap. using sport springs will worn out the bushes especially the lower arm, followed
by tie rod end, rack end & absorber/stabilizer link.

the only way is to go for adjustables, not all are as hard as u think. if u want comfy do check out TITAN brand, they will customize the spring till u are 100% satisfied with the ride. can costs up to rm3k.

alternatively go for HWL high low will do, bout less than Rm1.5k.

your in laws wont know the difference. if they do just tell them the slight stiffness do improve on the car handling

quality not as good as other brand, but the price is cheap. using sport springs will worn out the bushes especially the lower arm, followed

the only way is to go for adjustables, not all are as hard as u think. if u want comfy do check out TITAN brand, they will customize the spring till u are 100% satisfied with the ride. can costs up to rm3k.

your in laws wont know the difference. if they do just tell them the slight stiffness do improve on the car handling

Damn, means is not good choice for me to go performax...might as well invest in adjustables next round then...no more sports springs and abs

Front upper is the one with either 2 or 3 point and its in the engine bay.
front lower is the square shape bar which hold the left and right lower arm mounting point.
these 2 bar will eliminate understeer and u dont have to go for performamce tire to experience it.

the room bar hold at the front seatbelt anchor point.
this one is for very high speed stability.

if u want u cam install rear upper bar which hold the rear absorber mount together.
since yr perdana already has rear anti roll bar then u cam feel the rear left and right connected to each other.

all these bar will makes the oe suspension a tad firmer.

I'm using 215/45/17, thought of going 225/45/17 but notice this 225, pricing is high and not many has this size.

215/45R17 very common size. Since you don't drive the car much no point getting the top range tyres.
ATR Sports 2 is ok, about same is Neuton NT8000, NT5000, slightly more expensive will be Nexen N8000 and GT Radial Champiro HPY

---------- Post added at 06:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:34 PM ----------

Damn, means is not good choice for me to go performax...might as well invest in adjustables next round then...no more sports springs and abs

That is the thing, you always try to save here and there getting the mid stuff, then when it does not meet your requirement change to high end ones, so in the end you spend more....:banghead:

I'm using 215/45/17, thought of going 225/45/17 but notice this 225, pricing is high and not many has this size...

Try GT Radial HPY, UHP tire for low budget but still good.

front upper bar, i think you are referring to 2 or 3 point strut bar.
what is front lower bar? is it front anti roll bar?
what is room bar? any pictures?

I know these bars helps, just don't know which is really useful, otherwise its only dead weight to car..
plus such bars are not cheap, i know the UR anti roll bar, rear, is going for rm350...

Front upper is the one with either 2 or 3 point and its in the engine bay.
front lower is the square shape bar which hold the left and right lower arm mounting point.
these 2 bar will eliminate understeer and u dont have to go for performamce tire to experience it.

the room bar hold at the front seatbelt anchor point.
this one is for very high speed stability.

if u want u cam install rear upper bar which hold the rear absorber mount together.
since yr perdana already has rear anti roll bar then u cam feel the rear left and right connected to each other.

all these bar will makes the oe suspension a tad firmer.

Front upper bar is front strut bar. It actually makes for more understeer. The front lower bars also have the same impact, not eliminating understeer. The stiffer the front, the more understeer it should be, not vice versa. The stiffer the rear, then you reduce understeer/induce oversteer. So depends on how is the current behavior of the car, more towards understeer or oversteer and how is the driver's preference. Only then decide which area to stiffen up.

Also all this stiffening chassis bars actually more usefull if you really push the cars like racing on track or rallying where you abuse the car to excessive cornering forces or even jumping, which causes chasis flexing and slow you down by a few tenths of a second. But for normal street cars not really much impact. Anti-roll bar however give more effect to the handling, so like I mentioned before try good tires and the anti-roll bar first coz they will give more noticeable difference.

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:32 PM ----------

I'm a long time user of several sport springs with dampers and I still think it's a good choice for low budget guys like me to improve handling. I don't experience much issue with them as I don't choose springs which are too stiff or too low anyway.