Is 64K for a DC2 type R convert worth it? Pls help

try 2 dyno d car n c how healthy it is....habis citer.....wanna go tarik2 on d street way langgar,habis ler,right?...dyno is a good alternative...look @ how d graph forms...any competent mechanic or any1 familiar w dyno runs can tell d health state of d car...cheers

You sure Stage 3 cams are better than Stage 1? Hhhmmm....think again my friend. And Satge 3 idle's will be lumpy as hell too...sure can drive on a daily basis? You did say the body's got some rust eh? That's a major NO - NO...

akuma said:
try 2 dyno d car n c how healthy it is....habis citer.....wanna go tarik2 on d street way langgar,habis ler,right?...dyno is a good alternative...look @ how d graph forms...any competent mechanic or any1 familiar w dyno runs can tell d health state of d car...cheers

aha! good suggestion indeed...

ace79 said:
You sure Stage 3 cams are better than Stage 1? Hhhmmm....think again my friend. And Satge 3 idle's will be lumpy as hell too...sure can drive on a daily basis? You did say the body's got some rust eh? That's a major NO - NO...

Didn't read the specs.. good one there.. if really stage three/high performance cams.. the idling will be rough, and driving it in traffic is no fun...

More like for weekend car for playing around/track.

Bro serious speaking the price is ridicilous... trust me u will regret later on... no offence..

integramania,
dats y ler i suggest a dyno session....assuming d owner is honest n all d mentioned parts IS indeed in d engine,a dyno shud yield a certain power level,right?...can agak2 lar.....BUT let's day if d power is way way lower thn wats expected,either we haf a cheat or d engine damn sick....so,its 1 good way 2 find out...

Akuma....yeah i was reading your reply....but i think ah ppl will not allow you to dyno the car before you buy lor...unless its someone you know...

yeah dynoing will be the best way to tell ....but if you really wanna buy coz u dun trust that the stuff in the car will yield the power....

i think more important is the car itself....if already a bit messed up in the body and the engine dept....if you yield a nice hp also no use lor

sounds good. i think a dyno run should cost around RM1XX right? if the buyer dont mind, then its worth to fork out the dyno money and run it. since a stock type-r is 160whp..i give a 170whp, give and take with the mods as said.

akuma said:
integramania,
dats y ler i suggest a dyno session....assuming d owner is honest n all d mentioned parts IS indeed in d engine,a dyno shud yield a certain power level,right?...can agak2 lar.....BUT let's day if d power is way way lower thn wats expected,either we haf a cheat or d engine damn sick....so,its 1 good way 2 find out...

bone stock is around 16Xish. i wouldnt say more, unless its a super year 00 healthy or some super rebuild or sort.

integramania said:
eh type r....160hp at the wheel? not ard 170hp at least?

well I took a look at the car over the weekend with the owner. everything should be ok (I hope). Stage 3 cams are original. However, why is it not good to drive it everyday? As I will need to use it on a daily basis, should I change the cams? I wont be driving like a speed demon anyway, my office has too many speed traps.

the engine idling is smooth with those cams?

Usually the aggressive cams have a very poor idling which means driving it will be quite stressful

integramania said:
the engine idling is smooth with those cams?

Usually the aggressive cams have a very poor idling which means driving it will be quite stressful

Stressful? More like extreme left leg workout! ROFL!

Since you obviously didn't notice the rough idle.. you sure those are stage 3 cams ah? (O_o)

when the engine was idle, it sounded ok. It used to be a bit rough a month ago, but the owner polish the ports and it sound ok right now. the only time it was a bit rough was when u first start the engine.

but I do get what Integramania is saying, going at 100 at 5th gear is a little straining (from the sound of it).

J101,
whc sicko Type R u toking abt?160whp?B16B yes lar..dis 1 v toking B18CR ler...oit...kureng2 oso 170whp wat?i wud say if everythg IS in order,it shud pump out approximately 185whp....

integramania,
v r toking abt a desperate buyer here....well,if d seller is reluctant 2 dyno his car i think i wudn't gif it a 2nd thought ler...w his asking price,i can get others lar.....n come on ler....a dyno run won spoil d car ler..its just a run,not dyno tune whr u might hafta spend hours on d dyno....

anyway,it has E-Manage,....who's d tuner?if its sum1 d forumers here know off,mayb can ask ask 4 u ler.....

I think it would be wise to shop around a bit. If I'm not wrong, there's a few DC2's advertised in the current Motor Trader. RM 64k is a bit expensive for a modded DC2, well, unless it has too many gizmos in the engine bay ( forged pistons + rods ke? ) But since you intend to drive it on a daily basis, get a slightly modded DC2 enuff oledi.

If the said DC2 does have a Stage 3 cams ( you have to pump the throttle & clutch a couple of time sjust to get the car moving you know...if it does have a Stage 3 cams ), and you're fixed head - on to buy this DC2, then I suggest you buy a Stage 1 or Stage 2 cams and sell those Stage 3 cams off. You'll find the car to be a lot more fun to drive.

Have done some reseach on my side on DC2s and I have to say the ones in Motor Trader the past few weeks are ok. Have not seen any ORI DC2R though, doubt anyone wants to sell it.
The owner did do a Dyno, end of last year after doing the overhaul. Need to go back and check the file cos am at work currently. If i'm not mistaken, the max i saw was about 180hp.
But where would someone like me go to get some ORI parts for a DC2 without being ripped off. Cos I think I might need to replace the Cams, (anyone heard of Aerospeed)