Journey of my conversion

3rd July 2004 - Late evening

What a busy day today.

I confirmed to take the rims that I borrowed earlier. It's does not have enough clearance with the 4-pots, but I think I can either shave off the Nissan wordings or get a 10mm spacer. I took it because it can support 4 & 5 holes.

It came with 215/45/17 tyres. If I want to change the rears to wider tyres, what measurements should I take? The rims are 17"x7". Thanks.

i want to take the chance to ask something...

the rb20 fan rite that driven by the felt..during idling,the fan spin very slowly..if the car overheat......is that the cause of the problem?

Originally posted by Malaysian@Jul 4 2004, 10:18 PM
i want to take the chance to ask something...

the rb20 fan rite that driven by the felt..during idling,the fan spin very slowly..if the car overheat......is that the cause of the problem?
You got me there. What was your question again?

i mean the rb engine the fan driven by the belt rite.....move very slow when idling..
if the car overheat ..will the slow fan be the problem?

Malaysian

if idling also can overheat, it's not that fan not working

something is very wrong with the engine

radiator blocked
thermostat kong (in the closed position!)
timing too high/advanced till it pings/knock

etc..etc..

Originally posted by wideawake@Jul 4 2004, 10:16 PM
3rd July 2004 - Late evening

What a busy day today.

I confirmed to take the rims that I borrowed earlier. It's does not have enough clearance with the 4-pots, but I think I can either shave off the Nissan wordings or get a 10mm spacer. I took it because it can support 4 & 5 holes.

It came with 215/45/17 tyres. If I want to change the rears to wider tyres, what measurements should I take? The rims are 17"x7". Thanks.
dude

u need offset rims. like 17x7 front and 17x8 rear. seriously, if can get VIP style rims... pergh... damn! nice! hehe

i think if wanna use staggered tyres then front should be 215/45/17 and back should be 235/40/17.

Originally posted by Malaysian@Jul 5 2004, 01:57 AM
i mean the rb engine the fan driven by the belt rite.....move very slow when idling..
if the car overheat ..will the slow fan be the problem?
RB radiator fan on beltings? :blink: :blink: The last time I checked on my engine bay it was still on couplings/clutch....you sure or not haaaa? :lol:

If the car overheat on idling then fan kaput liao.

i dunno what u call that lar i know FF car not like that...

i jz know when the idling ...the fan move very slow till i can see the fin of the fan....the thing spinning the fan also slow..but not yet overheat
is it normal?

i press oil it will turn faster?

Not sure whether that is the only coz for overheating, but definitely fan kaput liao. :)

1jz fan running on oil from the engine,RB's running clutch system,it will 'clutch' when it gets too hot.

Back to the original topic:

7 July 2004

I went to the workshop around 3pm. Now everything was in, and they started the engine for me. Aircond also fixed up and blowing cool air...

Yay!!! Looks like tomorrow I'll be taking the car home. Because, the car has no road tax, I think I'll be driving her back late at night... and take some uncommon routes. Hmm... or should I tow it.

I still have some issues here.... Suspension... how am I going to go out to buy some when I don't have it registered yet... Maybe I can take some photos and you guys can identify from which car the absorbers springs match...
And yes Stanley, you were at the top of my list. But budget does not permit me to go your way yet... heheh....

Another is the registration... Any of you can recommend me a good runner? And cheap...

Will update with photos when it's back at home... Later when all clear can join you guys for TT lah... heheh

wideawake
Nice conversion!

First thing first, play safe. It is much more better for you to go to JPJ and ask the JPJ officer personally on how the procedure rather than rely on runner yourself. You have spend thousand of RM on the conversion, it wont harm you for you to get the fact straight.Otherwise, later road block kena how la?

Just my 2 cents

8 July 2004 - 9.30pm

Took the car from the workshop tonight.... Drove there with my parents. On the way back, asked them to speed up front to check if there are brothers in blue on duty... So far so good... Safely arrived home.

First impressions... the car was a bit wobbly at low speed... one factor is the fuel was not so good. What do you expect from 2 year old petrol in the car? Heheh... So stopped at a petrol station to fill up... Also might be because the old suspensions...

The braking was not so good. I expected this because it was like that originally. That was the reason we seldom drive the car. Time to fit in those 4-pot calipers... The brake booster from the R32 is not a direct fit. So, have to figure that out also. Coldair suggested that I make a custom braket. If not, get a Toyota Land Cruiser brake booster.

While cruising, the power was definitely there... I was so tempted to floor the pedal, but have to control myself lah.. heheh...

What I don't understand is, how come the blow-off blows like everytime I depress the pedal... Even when cruising, if I lift-off the pedal, it will blow.... The sound is like someone blowing off their nose. It got quite irritating for a while.... Is it always gonna be like that???

Also, the engine was kinda hot... Even after 30mins I switched off.. hmm.. not enough cooling maybe?

I took pictures of the car just now, but night pictures were not so good. I will post pictures when I have better one... Stay tuned.. heheh

hehehehehh first time owning a turbo car ... the blow off will blow everytime u lift off ... to release excess pressure in the piping ... more for safetyler .... well get used to it ... i thought people put in turbo engine because they wanna get the pssh pssh sound hehehehee.... some actually told me this .. heheheheheheheh

I knew that turbo got that sound... but didn't expect it to be so often... heheh...

Hey, what kind of engine oil do you use for your RB engines? My mech only put cheap MOS oil inside lar... mineral oil summore.. I think I'll get it changed in a few weeks...

Those arethe plumbed back BOV and the spring rate is much softer to allow excess to be siphoned back to the closed loop. It normal.

It sounds like mild farting :lol:

wideawake
welcome to the TURBO world.whenever u press a little bit hard and lift it back, the sweeeeettt sound of BOV will please u :P

it aint irritating la... it is SWEEETTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT! ;)

Didn't have a chance to test the car today. Even the new wheels are not on yet.

I noticed there was oil on the floor of my porch. I traced it back to the gearbox. Damn... must be something wrong there. It looks like its coming from the end of the gearbox, and right before the propeller shaft. Could it be an oil seal or something? Hopefully it is something minor and can be done in the nearby shop. I hate to have to bring the car all the way back to the workshop....

bov sound is sweet ????

knn...
i heard also fecking fed up/
from SQV theb Blitz then back to SQV..
SQV already is softest sound also feel irritatting..
might use back OEM .. knn..

CMng : you rich mah we all not rich leh.. can spare me one BOV ah??

hehehe

wideawake : congrats on ur conversion, let's drift! hehehehe