Journey of my conversion

Not sure if the guy put in new ones or still the standard. But from the engine bay to the pump, there are 2 steel lines. One to the engine and one return line.

Originally posted by wideawake@Feb 14 2005, 15:31
Not sure if the guy put in new ones or still the standard. But from the engine bay to the pump, there are 2 steel lines. One to the engine and one return line.
sometimes to make things easy....they use the std rails which is the same size as the brake lines, which make fuel pump sounds noisy.

hey bro! wassup? wow..you're very detailed huh...cool. i'm also working on my car but never did post it..hehee anyway...what about buying copper lines from hardware and running it under the car urself...but u'd have to weld it at a shop unless you have copper welding :)

Copper lines not recommended, it tends to get hot. Try power steering steel line, it can be bend to suit.

Holy ****!!! :o Looks damn awesome wei. I love these Nissan sleepers. Props to you man for starting this project. B)

This morning, a few hundred meters from home, my tank was leaking. Damn, the rear was flowing with fuel. Lucky I didn't reinstall the rear seats yet. So, I quickly turned back home and hosed the fuel out.

It turned out to be the rubber stopper that I used to seal one of the tank outlets. It was torn. I guess due to rubber contact with fuel and the pressure. The stopper is the kind that u use at the metal chair legs.

Any idea on what can be used to replace it? The diameter of the outlet is around 8mm.

I also think I need some control mechanism to slow down the new pump. Soundslike it is blowing it's shit out at traffic jams.

hahahah..wideawake...now i know who ur r...if u remember, u teach me ADM100 @ Menara T&T...hahahaha...nice job man....very nice job on ur Laurel....damn drool man...u shud sell ur satria n put all money on ur Laurel... make it Jap VIP style...hahaha..keep in touch..

hahaha...wideawake..i know u....if u remember...u teach me ADM 100 @ Menara T&T...hahhaha

nice job man on ur Laurel...now i know what is a Laurel....shud sell ur satria and invest it on the Laurel and make it Jap VIP style...hahahha...

Yeah.. the guy with the honda corpse... heheh... How's your project lah... You know where to go if you need to sub-con some of the tasks aa.. heheh

The Laurel still stinks with fuel fumes since the last incident. I'm keeping the windows open and battery disconnected at all times. haven't found anything to close the tank hole yet.
I think I need to wire some switches to turn the pumps on or off. It should be easy to do. Wah... like racing car like that... put in some missile launcher style switches... Too bad that type not easy to find in Jalan Pasar.

hehe..where can sub-con u maa..how to pay u...twice my salary maa..then i got no pay....hehehe

keep the jurnal man...very nice job indeed...now i know what is Laurel...hehe...
when nak start drifting? shud post the pics here when ur at it...

Nice work. YUP old cars with new hearts ROCK!!! Accept some parts are hard to find. and if u do, bloodie expencive.... got latest pix of ur car?

cool man...when u free send me some of ur car pics...VIP looks on a laurel...sure is cool..and makes me sweet...i dun have such money so cannot own one loh...no project car for me also...

Bad news again lah today.

On my way to work, I got another leak. This time, it is not from the rear. But it is from the front of the car. The return fuel pipe after the rail has burst. Damn dangerouslah... Luckily there was not a spark if not the car would go ballistic. Had to tow it to my normal workshop as I didn't dare to drive it in that condition.

What type of fuel lines do you guys normally use? Is the normal types found in the spare parts shop sufficient, because that is the one that I used in the rear. Steel braided ones must cost a fortune right.

well..my friend is using a surge tank that uses copper line. i'm gonna change mine to copper as well. it disburses heat well so that by the time it reaches the tank it'll be cooler...i'm just following the japanese mags i have that uses copper hoses for 800hp cars...but at the end of the day...it's ur car and up to you bro.. :)

hope this helps :D

You can only use copper for long lines aka the ones that go through the undercarriage.

For the ones in the engine bay, you still need rubber hoses. The question is, what kind of rubber hoses are the best.

the best is still steel braided...but as you said it'll cost a BOMB. so i opt for the ones they sell at the hardware...ermm it has some white serial number on the hoses. can't recall what was stated but when i went there i just told them i wanted to use it for petrol lines.... :)

bro...the petrol hose i'm using.. "SHIEH CHI KINGFLEX GASOLINE HOSE" :blink:

The petrol hose I'm using is Unigawa Petrol Hose.

Attached is a pic of my surge tank.