ke70 as 2nd car, need help...

dolly

theres this ke70 outside my gf house, thinking of getting it (cannot tell gf tho har har)

what parts would i need to fit a 20V motor in it? something easy to obtain hopefully

plan to use the car for daily driving around / track days

I actually have the plan of getting a cheap KE70 to play around with, a friend of mine have one mint condition, and rust free if not mistaken unit at her house, willing to part for RM3k

But was wondering whether it's hard to get the stuff mentioned, planning to use the blacktop engine. :D

maybe not hard, the word should be 'expensive' :D so far i only got a crossmember, bought from TauhuTauhu. mod KE70 really expensive ar... all sifoo also tell me play KE70 really bully ppl one. this need money that need money. when you finished everything you could at least afford a second hand kancil with the money you spend, if not more than that.

Yeah... i was thinking that i'll only end up spending quite a bit to get the KE70 up to specs :confused:

Getting the car is cheap, not no doubt it'll gonna cost quite a bit to get it to AE86 specs :eek: Maybe just skip toyota and get CA18DET :p :D

whatever it is engine u put in, the total amount is still gonna get to u....

i've spent about rm13k now, and it's not including paintwork yet.....mebbe i spent abit too much, but the way i see it, it's still gonna cost around that amount, whichever engine u put in...

since mentioned u can get a ke70 with minimum rust, then u may spend around rm12k....depending on what ur requirements....;)

juz my 2yen...:D

the hardest part is when you're going for body restoration, especially with bad rust on it. u'll never know when the rusty are going to come out again.

but, it's not impossible to get a rusty-free restoration right? :D

Hm... i think i'll stick to reading Joeker's build on his TE71 first, get a rough idea of how it's gonna cost first, damn no money now, even the KE70 also not enuf money to buy yet :p

GRexer said:
Yeah... i was thinking that i'll only end up spending quite a bit to get the KE70 up to specs :confused:

Getting the car is cheap, not no doubt it'll gonna cost quite a bit to get it to AE86 specs :eek: Maybe just skip toyota and get CA18DET :p :D
its not really about the engine, its about the other things too. really depend on yourself, for me i dun wanna even make any changes to my car's outlook, so dealing with an i/c will be a pain if i gone turbo :D

good suspension and good brakes will set you back a few K already. no 20k i dun really dare to do anything. best option for me is to do things one by one lor.. easier and cheaper(actually more expensive lar, like installment, you pay abit everytime, but add up you will see that buy parts seperately cost more).

advice is to do things up slowly and left the engine to the last.

Hm... well... i'm not exactly new to the modding world, just new to the Toyota world :D

I tend to do up my handling and braking department first before putting effort into the engine, well, which explains why i still have the stock engine in my Wira and disappoint everyone else everytime i pop the engine bay :p The outlook and handling department is sufficient up to the limits of dropping in the 2000cc turbo for now.

Guess... just buy the corolla when i've got the money and slowly only do it up ;) Since my friend ain't in a hurry to sell hers.

well, one thing for sure is when you show ppl your 4K engine, they sure say "walau... your engine bay so empty one... how come engine so small you sure its 1.3liter ar?" :D 4K engine using pushrod OHV, sure smaller lar..

haiz... toyota's new 1KR-FE 1 liter engine has the same amount of power as the 4K, if not more. :( now i still run on this super underpower engine :( city driving RM40 petrol ru n 220-240km, highway running averaged 90km/h doing 320km for rm40

I wouldn't have to worry, it'll only be a weekend ride :D I've got a very fuel efficient ride for normal usage ;)

huwaa..damn expensivela the f/c..i'm using ohv engine oso..in datsun..1.2..4speed only..can run in hiway around 110kmh..full tank around rm45 can run about 300km only..but same if i'm run in city or long journey drive..

my f/c higher most probably i use smaller wheel at the rear copare to stock :D old one is 175/70/13, now 215/50/13. need spin more time to move the same amount of road. haiz..still remember the good old days of leaded fuel that do 200km/rm20

rollakid said:
my f/c higher most probably i use smaller wheel at the rear copare to stock :D old one is 175/70/13, now 215/50/13. need spin more time to move the same amount of road. haiz..still remember the good old days of leaded fuel that do 200km/rm20

rolla, how much didya pay for the 215/50/13 tyres?

e39a said:
rolla, how much didya pay for the 215/50/13 tyres?
yokohama radial 352. rm330 each. history model :D belive it or not its used on the prototype of toyota celica back in the 70's. thats all the info i can get from the net.

the tire shop owner also said he got only those two, no more. he was saving for a good car but never get around to get an old school car, so he sold it to me instead. :D

honestly i still worry what tire i'll need to use after i finish that one. but with the power of the 4K engine, its going to take me another 2-3 years before it become botak.

when first purchase the tire, actually my dad pays for it lar cuz that time i'm not the driver of the car yet, the tauke said that if driven normally on this car, the tire will last 5 years :D

it's not ke70 spend a lot money to do up .. any car you mod also if don't have 10k-15k it won't be complete ... for eg

rim + tyre 2-3k
suspension 2-3k
halfcut + installation 5k
seat (bucket/semi bucket/levin) 500-1000
strut bar/anti roll bar .. whatever bar 500-1500
exhaust + extractor 1000-1500

just to get the full power and handling from your upgraded engine .... if want to do transplant engine just to go pasar then less than 10k kowtim laaa .. if wanna play confirm 15k at least ... hahahahahah

So just cause it's ke70 doesn't mean it takes more to mod ... but it will most likely end up the same no matter ke70 or ae92 or ae101 .... only old car gotta pay more attention to rust and need to do more reinforcement la that's all

hmmm but i dont expect to pay one shot to get the car up, probably do it slowly bit by bit lor. Just need a car that can drive around without having fear of it being stolen/scratch/banged/kena bird dropping is what i want most :lol:

grexer mind telling me where that car is :lol:

wah liau spend a lot of money in that car already now have to sell of my another car to finance the car..